We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“different from what you find in the books” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Varas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Azul
Save
You added Casa Azul to your Saves list
Manzanal 66 | esq. Rosario, Puerto Varas, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Budapest
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“different from what you find in the books”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Maybe the time of the year was not favorable for drying clothes but the towels and sheets were stinking. But what do you want if you notice that people are sleeping under the roof where those textiles are supposed to dry. Impossible to have a rest because people from the top "economy" roof top are talking till the night and always somebody comes down to the common sanitary. A small house filled tll the top with people. The nice garden what is spoken about is garded by a "friendly" dog but is not more than 80 m2. It is in the middle of one of the poorest areas of Puerto Varas! Not speaking about the small dog of the neighbour what makes the noice of 10 big dogs.A few hundred meter further from the center you find better value

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaazulhostel, Propietario at Casa Azul, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
It´verry sad to read a opinion like this, after all the work we do in our hostel, and I think we work hard to give our guest a great time in Casa Azul.
But here comes the answer:
Our sheets are not stinking, … the roof it’s not an economic top, there just life 2 Students who are working with us. And they stay in rooms that are separate from the part where we dry textiles. So I don’t know what I have to read there.

And by the way our garden is a little bit bigger than 80 m2 . Sorry but I don´t know how much garden space needs a person, but Casa Azul is a Hostel in town not an farmhouse on the country side.

And if somebody is telling that we are located in the poorest area of Puerto Varas, … Whow! I did not know that! I thought we are located in a very good area because we have many “rich” houses around in our neighborhood, but I don’t know what means poor for some people, …

Dogs are barking in al over Chile, that’s a common problem in Chile, but our neighbor don’t has a dog. And of curse some hundred meter you can find something “better” and bigger, … this is called a Hotel, …

Generally I would say: Please travel whit a open mind, … whit out rush and haste, take you time for enjoy holidays and try to understand another cultures. To stay in a Hostel is not the same as to stay in a Hotel.
To stay in a Hostel means mostly to share and live together with the Hostel owner in his house and share until certain point his live stile. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    44
    17
    17
    7
See reviews for
14
92
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We've been traveling through Latin America for about six months, and Casa Azul is one of the better hostels we've stayed at. The bathrooms are clean, the kitchen is large and well-supplied, and Andreas, the owner, has been incredibly helpful with booking transportation and trips.

This is not a party hostel--we're a professional couple in our mid-twenties, and we go to bed early, so it's right up our alley. And yes, there are a few rules: you're not allowed to cook fish in the kitchen (for understandable smell-related reasons), and you can't cook before noon (since the staff is cooking breakfast). A note on breakfast: it's no Waffle House, but by Latin American standards it's top-notch. My wife and I have tried to find a better breakfast in town, but everything has been more expensive with less food.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The hostel is lovely! Great garden, very clean, nice rooms and well maintained. The location is nice - away from the centre, but only by a 5 minute walk. However, it lacks comfortable indoor / lounging areas. There are a number of tables & chairs and one small sitting area, but the furniture is 'form over function'; good to look at, but seriously uncomfortable. This forces guests to sit in their rooms or find a coffee shop during the rain & cold. There are a lot of "private" areas for the hostel staff only... and, though the rates are among the highest for hostels in the area, you can't use the BBQ, the stove (only burners), and the kitchen is off limits until noon as they prefer to sell you their own breakfast (which is not included with your room). There are a lot of strange rules: guys are requested to pee sitting down and 'please don't remove the shower head or use the bath tub for a bath'.
After 8 months, we still prefer more warmth and interaction with travelers and owners, which is why we choose hostels over hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaazulhostel, Propietario at Casa Azul, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
I think this is maybe the right moment to answer some things:

Our common area is very big, … and very comfortable, … full of furnitures made of native wood. This is mostly the first area when I introduce to our guests the hostel. And this is mostly the moment when I can hear: Wow how beautiful !!

Nobody has to sit in his room, our big common area is central heated and very comfortable like all our rooms.
Sorry but it is not true what you are writing!

There is also a big garden area witch is open for all Guests, there is nothing about private area around except office and our private small house in the back of the hostel. So something you understood wrong, I’m sorry about this, but next time you should ask the hostel owner!

Right! Breakfast we charge extra, … we could include the breakfast, but than the room price would be higher. But some guests don’t want breakfast so on this way we give the option to them to stay more economic. Please see it from this side

The old BBQ I have is private right, but this is because the whole house is made of wood.

And once again, we have some signs around, but this are just and to hold the hostel in a good shape and to help our guests (like : please ask for transfer ore “please ask for car parking” ore please ask for book exchange).
I think normally nobody can have problems with signs like: “please put the shower curtain in the inside ore please don’t make music after midnight, … because other guests want to sleep, We are no a party hostel, and we never had this in mind. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

At first Casa Azul is a pleasent place: clean, Wifi, nice common area, garden and cosy rooms, although they are quite small.

But after a day or two you start to notice small things that are not as pleasent. There are a lot of very strict rules, you don't get a lot of information of any kind of activities, the breakfast is as poor as overpriced and although the owner keeps smiling, you don't feel welcome.

To end the story there are signs that you are only allowed to pay in Chilenean Pesos, what we did, although the receipt was in US Dollars. Very fishy, and I wonder if this has something to do with the 19% tax you wouldn't have payed in case you pay in Euro, US Dollar, etc. Can't proof it, but be alert.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaazulhostel, Propietario at Casa Azul, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
I’m really sorry that you did not felt comfortable in Casa Azul, and of curse I’m smiling because I’m mostly happy, and of curse you are welcome 
But let me say that our Breakfast Buffet is absolutely not overpriced, this you can see simply after visiting a local supermarket and comparing prices 
If you think there is something wrong whit our count/bill so please ask, there is nothing wrong on it and we could explain you every question you have. But please don’t black mark us and say “be alert”. Thank you 
And also of curse you get information from us about activities, … that’s part of our our business, … Rules, … !!! Yes we have some rules, … like everywhere, … like please don´t play music after midnight (another guests want to sleep), … please put the shower curtain in the inside of the shower, … Please clean your dishes, … some problem with that? Don’t think so if you want to be part of a Hostel live  Normally our guests don’t have any problem with that. Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

During my 6 weeks of traveling in Argentina and Chile, there are only a few place I made reservation ahead of time because of the recommendations from other travelers or description of the uniqueness of the hostel, and this hostel is one of them. True to its description, the place has a very "zen" feeling, spotlessly clean, fantastic and helpful staff, excellent breakfast (though a bit pricey). It was a great way to end our trip in South America!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, UT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This was the nicest hostel we stayed in while in chile for a month. It has americanized bathrooms, clean beds and sheets. It has a great patio to relax and take in the views while sipping a local wine. We would stay here again in a heartbeat! Close to downtown restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Our family of five stayed here for two really great nights. The owner is very nice and has useful suggestions on various activities in the area. At his suggestion we went canyoneering and had an incredible adventure. It's a short walk to town so the location is ideal. We split our family into two rooms and that worked out just fine. The breakfast in the morning is a solid value. The kitchen is available to cook your own meals and one night we made a fabulous pasta dinner. There was a note in one of the reviews about the abundance of signage but I had no problems with the signs and felt they provided useful information. This a super hostel that is well run and quite charming.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Azul

Address: Manzanal 66 | esq. Rosario, Puerto Varas, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well, ... what shall we say about ourHostel in Puerto Varas?Travelers from all over the world have been coming for years to our Hostel! Here they stay, they love it and enjoy it, and most often, they stay longer than they plan, in our Hostel in Puerto Varas / Chile.Casa Azul Hostel is not a hotel, it is a home where you can definitely relax, ... Feel the magic of our garden, our big terrace,... the hammocks, Bonsai trees, the Japanese fishpond, ... lots of green, ... lots of peace! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.