We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time a charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travesia Azul Restaurante

Travesia Azul Restaurante
Este Restaurant Esta Cerrado! | Este Restaurant Esta Cerrado!, Puerto Varas ¡ESTE RESTAURANT ESTA CERRADO!, Chile
0982667537
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 71 restaurants in Puerto Varas
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: We mention that the restaurant is only open in the evenings from 18:30 hrs. You could make the reservations to cel. phone that you can find in the page.In addition, open from Monday to Saturday. Sundays will be CLOSED.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“2nd time a charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hours after writing my initial "poor" review, I was contacted by the restaurant owner, who was in the hospital recovering from a surgery. In somewhat of a comedy of errors, the head waiter, head chef, and owner were all absent the same night of our dining experience. She was profusely apologetic to me, admitting to a "black evening", and insisted we try her restaurant again. Second try; salmon starter was fantastic, fish mains for both me and my wife again fantastic, and the service was also fantastic. Now I see how this restaurant got so many great reviews. I highly recommend visitors to Puerto Varas to visit Travesia Azul and enjoy a very pleasant and delicious dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravesiAzul, Owner at Travesia Azul Restaurante, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Good afternoon.

I thank your comments on TripAdvisor.

Thank you very much! To us it is very important. Besides knowing you have enjoyed our food.

We are new to them, I mean everything from a restaurant. And little by little we will improve in everything we needed.

If they return to Puerto Varas, feel free to visit us.

Best regards,
Judith Chaperon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    49
    15
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Delicious, Feel Like Home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The food in the restaurant is delicious. My family and I went for dinner and we returned to our hotel feeling like we were in Mexico (we are from Mexico). We ate the best seafood in Chile. Highly recomended. The decoration is so fun and it feels like home.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This smallish restaurant has original decoration and unpretentiously furnished. The reception is very cordial. The fish I had was prepared to perfection. If there were such a restaurant near where I live, I'd go regularly. That is to say: recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Feels like home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The best place in Puerto Varas for seafood. Cozy place and great service. MUST GO if you're nearby. Churros con chocolate blanco is the best dessert ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointment. Poor value for money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

After reading the great reviews we decided to splurge on one nice meal while in Puerto Varas. We were really disappointed. Things started out okay, a relatively quiet restaurant meant that we had good service and our drinks and then starters were served promptly. The salmon mango tartar as well as the shrimp scallop soup were both excellent, and went well with our pisco sours. However our mains were both a big disappointment. I had the king crab casserole which was a big bowl of mush, might as well have been baby food. I also had to send it back when it arrived since the inside was cold. My wife had the salmon filet with crab sauce which was edible but overcooked. The service also severely deteriorated as the restaurant filled up and we sat with no drinks for about 20 minutes. When I told the waitress I did not like my food she said sorry but no attempt was made to correct, ask if I wanted something else, or give any discount. Overall this was a big disappointment considering the very high price point of this restaurant. How sad since the other reviews really had us looking forward to this place. I should have been more firm about expressing my disappointment but the language barrier is hard to work with sometimes. I hope that my experience is an isolated incident but I would not recommend this restaurant to a friend. It does have a good location right in the town center and is a very cozy setting with only room to seat about 20 people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Travesia Azul Restaurante also viewed

Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to Travesia Azul Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travesia Azul Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.