We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crossed lakes en route to Bariloche” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lago Todos Los Santos

Lago Todos Los Santos
Ruta 225, km. 66, Petrohue, Puerto Varas, Chile
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$620*
and up
4-Day Chilean Lakes Region Tour: Puerto Montt...
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Puerto Varas
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sometimes called Lago Esmeralda because of its blue-green color, this strikingly beautiful glacial lake is bordered by steep cliffs.
NYC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“crossed lakes en route to Bariloche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

would recommend crossing the lake district in the Patagonias. We went from Chile to Bariloche, Argentina and the views were amazing

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    147
    21
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip, lousy weather.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The lake is incredible, running along canyons clearly dug by the glaciers of Tronador, towering above, in its younger more spectacular days. The walls of the valley reminded me of Yosemite, some sheer cliffs laced with waterfalls from the snow cover visible on the peaks above. We traveled across Lago Todos los Santos south beneath the Osorno volcano. Unfortunately the trip was taken in a driving mist affording only occasional glimpses of the peaks towering above us with their snowy caps from which cascaded ribbons of water falling down to the lake. It reminded us of our trip long ago up the Hardangerfjord from Bergen in Norway. Fortunately that trip took place in perfect June weather, under mountains studded with blooming apple trees. Here we saw an occasional house on one of the rare flat areas, perhaps fill from an avalanche. At one spot a very small town appeared, from which a small boat came out to meet us. Passengers--perhaps children of families heading to boarding school, or residents heading elsewhere, could transfer to our catamaran free of charge. Supplies were also brought to the isolated villages aboard our boat or its sisters in the fleet. After half an hour or so the lake opened up and the cliffs retreated into the fog. The color of the very clear water was remarkable, a turquoise green. The lake had the nickname Lago Emeralda owing to this color.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“it was really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It was really a very nice trip. I went in a one day tour from Puerto Varas and it was really nice the navegation on the lake

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panguipulli, Chile
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great drive to see Volcano Puntaguido”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

You will enjoy the drive to the Rio Petrohue to see the falls then head up from there and ytou will come to Lago Todo Los Santos
a lake that was divided when Osorno volcano erupted in 1906
and made 2 lakes Lago Llanquihue & Lago Todo los Santos that empties out into the Pacific ocean as Rio Petrohue and the fjords
of the Relocavi. This is simply one of the most spectacular places in the world.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It s easy to get to the lake with a bus. Trekking on Desolacion trail is long but amazing. Then we had a snack at the lodge, not cheap but ok

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lago Todos Los Santos also viewed

Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 
Puerto Montt, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to Lago Todos Los Santos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lago Todos Los Santos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.