We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chose poorly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Valdes

Casa Valdes
Santa Rosa 040 | Costanera-Debajo de Hotel Cabanas Del Lago, Puerto Varas, Chile
+56 9 9079 3938
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Puerto Varas
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Pacific Rim, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Chose poorly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014 NEW

Restaurant was very good. Great service and a spectacular view. Food was very good and reasonably priced. My only regret was not getting shellfish.

- The salmon tar tar was incredible. One of the best I've ever had.
- Scallops appetizer was very good. Tasted fresh. A little oil-y.
- Chilean Sea Bass filet was spectacular and cooked to perfection.
- Salmon fillet was average. The waiter suggested garlic sauce bit perhaps it would be better with a different sauce.

Overall, I would recommend it strongly and suggest getting some of the mussels or crab which we saw at other tables and it looked spectacular.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    64
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice, but poor service and not all they say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 NEW

The waiter that served us was impatient because we were the last clients for him. Treated us badly. The food was pricey and didn't correspond to the tripadvisor reviews. We liked the squid with ink and the rest was just regular. The ceviche disappointed, only salmon, lacked white fish, pepper and was way too acid for a ceviche. The onions were not cut into small pieces, id say it was a really poor plate for the price they charged. Don't intend to come back, especially because of the service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Lost in Translation?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

This restaurant is one of the best we experienced in the town, in a beautiful position overlooking the lake. The service was attentive with an almost Italian feel. On the two occasions we visited we experienced a small difference in what we ordered and what we got. For example, a cheaper glass of wine ordered was substituted for a more expensive one. The bottled water was also very expensive - drink tap water. Despite these small issues, the standard of the fish was excellent. We had ours grilled with a light sauce and fresh vegetables. The prawn starter in crispy batter, which we shared, was particularly good.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the no.1 title”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

I am fairly picky about restaurant, especially its the no.1 ranked one. But when I stepped into the front door, I was already drawn by the ambience and the style of the restaurant. We ordered shrimp, oyster, clam and squid as starters and King Crab as main course. Everything was finely prepared, tasty and nothing overly done. The pisco sour will also give you a nice kick. Try to pick the window seat so that you can enjoy the lake and volcano view while dining.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Quite possibly the best fish restaurant in town. Busy, so worth booking. Ask for a table by the window if you can.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pablo v, Propietario at Casa Valdes, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your good comments about your experience in Casavaldés.
Best regards,

Pablo Valdés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Valdes also viewed

Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to Casa Valdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Valdes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.