We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place and great coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe El Barista

Caffe El Barista
Walker Martinez 211, Puerto Varas 5550527, Chile
56-065-233130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 86 Restaurants in Puerto Varas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Come and meet us at the center of Puerto Varas, steps from the lake, we invite you to try the most exquisitecoffee, here at the end of the world, the richest pastries, our famous paninis, our tea varieties. We invite youto lunch and enjoy the richest menus, our homemade dishes accompanied by the famous Chilean wine, deliciousand all pockets alcanse.And in the evening come and enjoy our rich snacks, accompanied by Beers craft.we are the best coffee in town!, for this is that you have come to know us, we are waiting for you¡
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cool place and great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

They prepare good espresso an lattes, they also have great sandwiches and good music. I ordered a Serrano sandwich and my wife got the Cesar salad and both were very good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    130
    33
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great value for money for the menu du jour at 5000 $ pesos. The atmosphere is casual and buzzing with locals. The only issue for us was that smoking is permitted inside which was a little bit off putting for us , knowing that is quite commmon in Chile.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Atmosphere, Great Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

El Barista is a must-see in Puerto Varas, the atmosphere is so laidback and cozy, and it's great for a mid-day coffee or even a late night glass of wine. I had some really great nights sipping wine with friends here, meeting people from all over the world, and the staff ends up feeling like family! Also a great selection of music to accompany whatever meal or drink you're having there; overall great place to relax after sightseeing around the area!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The best coffee in Puerto Varas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

If you want a great coffee and an excelent breakfast while you visit Puerto Varas, El Barista is a must. For lunch they have a daily special which is diffrent every day and the food is very tasty. Dinner can be served as well.
The staff is plesant and accomodating.
The natural juices made from fresh fruits are to die for.
Ok, is a place for smokers but the ventilation is good and the smoke dosen't become a bother.
Music is a little bit loud sometimes but not to the point when it becomes annoying.
And the wi-fi connection is good and free so between bites of delicios food and appealing deserts you can catch up with an e-mail or a chat with the friends back home.
Many thanks to the staff and congratulation to the owner for this great place where we spent relaxing moments.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Really enjoyed going to this cafe for breakfast during my stay in Puerto Varas. Excellent food, bacon, eggs, fresh baked bread and some of the best coffee in town.
Only negative I would say is that everyone in the restaurant seems to be smoking. However this is more a general problem experienced throughout Chile.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe El Barista also viewed

Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to Caffe El Barista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe El Barista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.