We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont miss the papa diabla!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Marca

La Marca
Santa Rosa 539, Puerto Varas 55400, Chile
65-232026
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 76 Restaurants in Puerto Varas
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dont miss the papa diabla!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Meat was great I ordered a bife chorizo and it was soft as butter; however what I enjoyed the most were the devil potatoes (papa diabla). They are a little bit spicy but the taste was awesome!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    128
    28
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best steaks of South America ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was really one of the best steaks which I ever had in South America. Perfectly prepared on the asado. I had the lomo vetado.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We entered the restaurant without knowing its reputation because it was close to our hotel therefore an easy choice for us and we were lucky to get the last table available. It was destiny. The best meat I have ever eaten, really! Unforgettable! Everything we tried was superb. I’ve been there in 2010 and now four years later I still miss it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best steak (ever?)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

La Marca is located in central Puerto Varas, next door to a butcher's which provided a good first impression for a restaurant apparently renowned for good meat. This is a cosy "parilla" (grill) style restaurant with open kitchen/grill area. I usually always choose a fillet steak but was recommended the local "paleta" (shoulder) cut which is definitely one of the most tender, tasty, perfectly cooked steaks I've ever had - which is saying something given I have travelled extensively in Argentina! The side dish of dauphinoise potatoes with merken (local spice) was also out of this world and I LOVE dauphinoise. Despite being full we managed to share a pudding which we couldn't resist - churros with manjar (doughnuts with caramel sauce!) - and which didn't disappoint.

This is the best meat we've eaten in Chile so far and possibly one of the best steak restaurants we've ever been to.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Had an awesome meal here on our last day in Puerto Varas. My husband had the steak with chorizo recommended by our server. I had trout stuffed with King Crab. So fresh and delicious. Tres Leches cake for dessert topped it off. Staff was very friendly, made great recommendations, and spoke English well enough for us Americano's to understand and appreciate!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marca also viewed

Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
Puerto Varas, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to La Marca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.