We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Imperial 0561, Puerto Varas, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Puerto Varas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent 5 nights here, and loved it. We had a very large light airy room, the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the town, and there´s a glorious view over the lake. The gym was good, and the staff very friendly.

Two things to note: amazing breakfast but dinner was average. There´s also quite a busy road which runs in front of the hotel, which is not visible in the photos.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    80
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
115
242
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Service is very good. People is nice and can solve any problem quickly.
How ever. The pool is too small.
Do not disturb in the door is not useful really.
From 1 to 5 cleaning is just 4. The room was always clean, but in my door all the week there was and spider net.
When i arrive to the hotel with a previous reservation anyway i must be waiting in the lobby for almost 45 minutes until my rooms were ready to be used.
In general is a very good hotel, if i'll be back to puerto varas sure i will try to stay in this hotel again. The detaills are not big problems can be solved without big effort.
The hotel is very near to the center of the city, only 5 minutes by walk.wifi works well and for free, there is a lotof space to parking. Breakfast is buffet (american style). You can try a massage they are very good and there are different styles , etc.

Room Tip: Standard room have a tub, telephone shower, the beds are really confortables, rooms have conditionat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantiagoBaylis, Manager at Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Alexis R,
Thank you very much for your comments, I appreciate your time.
I have reviewed your observations and will ensure the details are ironed out immediately.
Kind regards,

Santiago Baylis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel and were impressed with most aspects of this hotel. The welcome and service on arrival met expectations and the room quality, decor, facilities and restaurant also were excellent. We made good use of the indoor pool on the top floor. Views out across the lakes were wonderful. We found the standard of meal at the restaurant as just fine, as was the breakfast the next morning. The location of the hotel was just a short stroll from the tourist centre of town, just along the lake shore. All other things equal we'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel 2 weeks ago ( last week of Dec 2013 ). I went on Tripadvisor to check reviews. It projected a great hotel. Was looking forward to this great hotel. It was listed as a 5 Star Hotel. When I got there I got a 3 star service. This hotel is expensive & I expected a 5 Star experience for the 5 Star price. The management of staff was poor. This is a great hotel at a great location, overlooking a lake in a natual scenic setting. What spoilt the experience for me was the Breakfast. The selection of the buffet was poor. It was of a 3 star standard. Not much of a choice. We were struggling to find things to eat. It was mostly pastry. I was scrapping the bottom of the pot for the few remaining sausage pieces that were in there. They dont have someone who checks if it needs refilling & this was supposed to be a 5 Star hotel !! Also they have very few staff serving breakfast. Staff come in at 08h30. So if you there early, there is only 1 or 2 people serving breakfast for the whole hotel. You have to just wait for your turn. I ordered Tomato & Mayonnaire sauce with my eggs. Never got any of it. This went on for days. Nobody speaks english who are serving breakfast. You think this would be standard for 5 star hotels ? We also received vouchers for welcome drinks which were wine. The check in person said he will swop it for cool drinks as we dont drink alcohol. We kept the vouchers safely to be used on the last day when we check out while we wait for our pickup from our tour operator. When we cashed it in, the staff said it was only for wine. I spoke to the the supervisor who heard my complaint. I told him the check in person told me he will swop for cool drinks. My 9 year old daughter definately does not drink wine (which has alcohol in it). He heard the complaint & did nothing about it. Guess this is what you call 5 star service at this hotel. Wont recommend this hotel for english speaking tourists.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colinturner, Manager at Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Mr. Soojay D,

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the problems encountered during your recent stay. I have personally reviewed the aspects of your stay which have inspired your comments because we have always been committed to exceed our guest’s expectations and we, unfortunately, were unsuccessful in your case.
Our buffet breakfast considers over 50 different food items which should be permanently replenished; this is where we should have reacted faster.
I acknowledge the fact that all our service staff do not speak English, however, an English speaking restaurant supervisor is always on duty. The poor service received is unacceptable and we will review our procedures to ensure it does not happen again.

I honestly hope you accept our apologies and look forward to the opportunity to demonstrate that we are able to provide outstanding 5 star service.

Kind regards,

Santiago Baylis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent location and view of the lake and the volcano! The hotel is a little bit farther from the city center but everything is in a 5-10 min walking distance. It's located uphill, so even if you get a lower floor the view is still spectacular!

The staff: very helpful, very friendly and speaks very well English and Portuguese. Ms. Angela Soto from reservations is very helpful and cleared all my doubts, even those that weren't about the hotel and its facilities! Carlos from front desk was also very courteous.

The breakfast: excellent!!! A lot of options and good view to the volcano. Would just recommend the hotel to put some curtains to block the sunlight during the early hours!

The hotel: brand new, stunning views, XL bed, super comfortable mattress and nice bathrooms. Overall, it's clean, looks and feels new and it's very quiet.

Would definitely go back to this hotel and definitely recommend this hotel! If you're planning to go to Puerto Varas, this is the hotel!!!!!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with view to the lake and volcano in the higher floors! Spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I didn't want to leave this fabulous hotel! We stayed 2 tonights. From checkin to checkout I experienced superior service. The bellman helped us find the lower car park and our bags were immediately whisked to our rooms. We received vouchers for a welcoming drink in the bar. The views here are unsurpassed. As others have written, the hotel has the perfect location. Our room had a balcony. The breakfast buffet was large and plentiful. And only 5 minutes walk into town. I would never stay anywhere else in Puerto Varas.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Superb view of the lake and the Osorno volcano. Superb food and restaurant staff attentive. The communal areas are comfortable with huge windows overlooking the lake. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk into Puerto Varas. A wonderful hotel to be highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had room 516 which was excellent overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas

Address: Av. Imperial 0561, Puerto Varas, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a concept hotel aiming to blend the highest level of service in the region with the warmth and comfort of home, nestled in the natural beauty of Puerto Varas, in the heart of southern Chile.We invite you to be moved by the amazing views from our world class rooms, while you experience our unique style of service, designed to complement the awe-inspiring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.