We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping on the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas to your Saves list
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Imperial 0561, Puerto Varas, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sleeping on the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you love to open your room door and say "Aaaah!", this is the place where to stay in Puerto Varas. The lovely rooms have outstanding views. The restaurant serves very good fish. The bar is cozy. The little shop has an excellent choice of gifts and the spa is as good as all the rest. The only problem is one day you will have to pack and leave! However, enjoy while it lasts.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    99
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
138
300
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My third time as a guest at this hotel. The view over Lake Llanquihue towards Calbuco and Osorno volcanoes is so impressive, the visit is worth it just for that! But fortunately the staff at Hotel Cumbres do not rest on their laurels. They offer a clean and uncomplicated hotel (in a good way) with spacious rooms and relaxing communal areas. I also tested the concierge service this time to arrange some fly-fishing with a friend - needless to say, I was not disappointed! I hope to return!

Room Tip: You have to have the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We booked this hotel for a 200-people-4-day-international-conference in December, 2012. Although event coordination took place in Santiago, our executive Daniela reassured us we needed not worry, because the hotel would take care of every detail. And it was a success, thanks to the wonderful hotel staff that worked hard, was flexible, and always willing to go the extra mile. I cannot find a single thing to complain about, considering that big events can be quite challenging for all those involved.

The hotel worked with us as an extension of our team to make the event the success we wanted it to be. And with Daniela overseeing every detail, making sure the right people in the hotel understood their tasks, having this event in Hotel Cumbres was truly a breeze. Apart from that, the hotel itself is wonderful, with some spectacular views of the lake, and only a few minutes’ walk from town centre.

I would certainly recommend it for similar events, and would especially recommend Daniela Terc who proved to a very reliable, committed and professional executive.

Hanifa

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Everything about this place was just right. Beautiful, comfortable and unpretentious, with lovely service and very nice food.

We arrived jetlagged and bedraggled in the evening of December 24th. The woman who checked us in kindly offered to put us on the list for the sold-out, prix fixe Christmas Eve dinner, and realizing that our odds for finding anything in town were slim, I accepted. Given the captive-audience situation, I was expecting something mediocre, but it was downright delightful. Elegant food and nice wine graciously served in a pretty setting--all for $50 a person. They even prepared a special dish for my son, who couldn't eat the entree due to a nut allergy. We were quite pleased with the food on other days as well. The fish is exceptionally well prepared.

The room was lovely, with a spectacular view of the Lago Llanquihue and the Osorno volcano (when it came out from behind the clouds). Service was reliable and kind. The only thing I would fault was the Internet connectivity, which could be exasperating at times. I finally called the front desk about it, and the next day it was much improved.

I would happily return tomorrow, if only it weren't so many thousands of miles away...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake and the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were here for three days over New Years. They had a very nice New years dinner complete with hats and noisemakers. But too many children over the holiday. And no Americans at all ( you could not book the new years package on the Internet).
We had a deluxe ,room with windows on two walls and all rooms have exceptional rooms of the volcano (if the weather is clear).
I did not the equipment in the gym and never used the pool as there were too many kids.
We drove to Chiloe and saw penguins- I recommend that.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have two walls of windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Two adults, 1 child - room was spacious, very nice view of lake, volcano (when not raining), very clean, nice touches such as chocolates delivered each night but only 2 delivered when we were 3 in the room. Similarly with towels, we had to keep requesting a 3rd towel. Reception staff spoke English well, were always polite, and handled anything we asked for very nicely. Similarly, wait staff in restaurant were efficient, polite, etc. Breakfast in the restaurant was pretty good, lots of nice fruit especially. Happy hour was good - strong drinks, 2 for 1 but must be for same person - ie so a couple must get 2 drinks each. Our one big complaint for those with children - and when there is lots of rain thus limiting activities - the very small pool comes with a lot of constraints. We were repeatedly told that this is a relaxation pool and children must be quiet. And by quiet they mean silent and sit still. Unfortunately, the designers of this hotel put a massage room over the pool. With no other outlets for children for indoor release during bad weather - which there is A LOT of in Puerto Varas - you may want to consider another option if traveling with children. Overall a good experience for us; nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at Cumbres Patagonicas this past November for 3 nights. The hotel has a most beautiful location. Situated on a cliff overlooking the lake.The view is just mezmorizing. Our room faced the lake from several angels and in the morning it was lovely to sit on the balcony. I had the opportunity t see other rooms and all are well appointed and all the rooms have a lake view,something you do not find at many hotels.Brekafast is buffet and a wide veriety of fodds. The dinning room at night serves a wonderful meal and a good wine selection.
It is important to note that the staff at the hotel could not be more helpful. Always polite, attentive and trying to please. The hotel was aable to arrange a car rental for us and advised us wisely on siteseeing options.Our pick up and drop of from and to the airport was also arranged by the hotel at no higher cost than taking a taxi on our own.The staff at the front desk is fluent in English and in the restaurant you can easily get by in English as well. Over all, we could not ask for more and I will comfortly and confidently reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If view is most important to you, book a corner room, it is a bit larger and has a view of the lakes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas

Address: Av. Imperial 0561, Puerto Varas, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a concept hotel aiming to blend the highest level of service in the region with the warmth and comfort of home, nestled in the natural beauty of Puerto Varas, in the heart of southern Chile.We invite you to be moved by the amazing views from our world class rooms, while you experience our unique style of service, designed to complement the awe-inspiring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.