We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arrebol Patagonia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Varas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arrebol Patagonia Hotel
Save
You added Arrebol Patagonia Hotel to your Saves list
Km 1.2 Camino Ensenada RUTA 225, Puerto Varas 287, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Our 3-day stay at the Arrebol Patagonia was easily one of the highlights of our trip to southern Chile.

The building itself is a work of world-class modern architecture with distinctive regionalism that makes it both unique and a pleasure to experience. The hotel is furnished throughout with one-of-a-kind creations of local artists, including in every guest room; we loved the chairs in our room, made from hand carved local logs with sheepskin cushions.

All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. In particular the 2 owners, Harold and Michael Opitz, went well beyond what we are accustomed to. For example, when our camera broke in Puerto Varas, Harold immediately loaned us his personal camera to use. Michael helped us to plan a very comprehensive visit to Chiloe Island, marking up a map with all the hidden spots he thought we would enjoy (and he was right).

When we had a craving for Asian food, the chef prepared a very good Chinese meal (obviously not on the menu) using local produce, and even brought us chop sticks! Their flexibility in dealing with an odd special request was very appreciated, and certainly made our visit memorable.

In short, we felt like we were staying at a friend’s beautiful home, and we would love to have the opportunity to visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
30
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I've read some of the reviews and it's difficult to imagine that we four seasoned travellers were staying at the same hotel. Only one member of staff spoke English which made communication difficult when he was absent. The Hotel was designed for guests who prefer to haul their suitcases up two flights of open wooden stairs. Only hanging space in the rooms, no wardrobes. The breakfasts were awful, no wonder we were the only four guests for the majority of the time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

What a great place! We arrived mid week and were greeted by name by the owner, architect Harold Opitz. We were given an upgraded room to the master suite. The day we arrived a film crew was filming the hotel while they were cooking the traditional Chiloe style of food. We were invited to share in the event. We felt very welcome. We also had the best pisco sours of our entire trip here.

This hotel has the feel (and is) a family run with the class and quality of a 4-5 star large hotel. The design is unlike any other. Arrebol is an experience! It is worth going to this region for the hotel alone!


Only down side... no pool or spa, but they say it is in the works.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, Ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Arrebol hotel is a visual treat, with wonderful views to the lake from the bedrooms and terrace. We had our best pisco sours in all of Chile, made by Javier at the hotel bar. Michael and his staff were so incredibly helpful and friendly. We asked them for ideas for the rest of our trip in Chile, and they booked us into the next two hotels, booked a rental car for us (which was delivered right to the hotel), and a trip to see the penguins on Chiloe, with full directions for how to drive there. The hotels that they booked us into were fabulous and real treats to stay at. The one thing that detracted from our stay is that the hotel focuses on form over function. While the rooms and public spaces were beautiful and modern, the chairs were uncomfortable, the beautiful terrace had no where to lounge, especially on a hot sunny day. I would have loved somewhere comfortable to relax inside and out. The bed, however, was very comfortable. While the location is beautiful and quiet, please note that it is located about two KM out of town. Walkable, but it takes time.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Beautiful hotel set on a quiet hill near Puerto Varas. Unlike anything else in town, and an incredible restaurant on-site. Staff extremely friendly and English-speaking. Pro and con is that the hotel is a bit outside of the main drag of Puerto Varas. During high-season, the town is crazy full of tourists and day-trippers, so this is a good thing. But it also means you'll need to be prepared to walk (which is nice), drive, or beg a ride from the very obliging owner, Michael. Michael was also very flexible and understanding with us when we had to reschedule our reservations a few times, which I appreciated. Don't miss dinner at Aleli, the restaurant. We ate there twice, both times excellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We spent 2 nights here, and , as the other reviewers say, it is an amazing modern building, beautifully situated overlooking the lake. Perhaps we are too old to appreciate it, but we found the bedroom a bit stark- plain white walls, concrete floors, and no furniture apart from the bed and a small bedside table. To store clothes were a few reclaimed planks as shelves. and a tiny hanging rail, with nowhere to put suitcases etc. The bed was comfortable and we did sleep well- when we had worked out how to turn the heating off
The owner was lovely, and extremely helpful, letting us print our boarding passes, and giving us excellent directions and advice for day trips. He also got up to get our( superb) breakfast at 6, as we had an early flight from Puerto Montt. We ate in the restaurant both evenings , and the food was good- not much choice though , and the menu didn't change at all , so we were a bit restricted on the second night. WIne cellar was well stocked,
All in all we enjoyed our stay- we just wanted a wardrobe!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed here for only 1 night (unfortunately as we were transiting to somewhere else). As others have said the architecture is very modern - just as shown on the web site. We had a suite (bedroom and separate sitting room) - all rooms have sweeping views over the lake. The staff (/ owners who seem to have a very hands on role in running the hotel) were so helpful and friendly - really going out of their way to help us including picking us up at a bus stop in the town even though we did not know the exact time or location of our arrival.

We had an excellent dinner (and breakfast) in their restaurant - with some excellent Chilean wine which the manager/owner helped us select.

Next time we would definitely stay longer and explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arrebol Patagonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrebol Patagonia Hotel

Address: Km 1.2 Camino Ensenada RUTA 225, Puerto Varas 287, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Puerto Varas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrebol Patagonia Hotel and Alelí Restaurant is the place where nature, design, finest art and gourmet cuisine are combined in one incredible place. Enjoy silence,good service, the beauty of its view to the lake and Puerto Varas town. Join the owners in this magical place. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrebol Patagonia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.