We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to start any trip in Patagonia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Costanera s/n, Puerto Montt 0000, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Puerto Montt
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location to start any trip in Patagonia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I don't usually choose chain hotels while on holiday but the Holiday Inn Puerto Montt is an exception due to its location, right on the coast of the Reloncavi fiord, rooms have fantastic views of the fiord and Tenglo island right across, some rooms have balcony as well, a good spot to watch sunset.

The reception is at the 11 th floor, at the same place as the restaurant which offer superb views.
The hotel is also located inside the Mall Paseo Costanero shopping centre and has direct secure access into it, which is great in case of rainy weather.

Walk along the costanera for 2km and you'll find Angelmo's craft market and the small boats to cross to Tenglo island.
From the hotel it's about 800m to the local bus terminal where you can catch the frequent minibusses towards Puerto Varas on the shores of lago Llanquihue.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    130
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
94
12
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keewatin, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Good, North American style hotel. Great beds, bathroom that worked (not always the case in Chile), great breakfast room, great Wi-fi and TV with some English channels. All in all, my first choice in Puerto Montt (we stayed in another place that was very weird). But the highlight was the view. Floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Pacific. Sea otters al over the place. Windows opened allowing fresh air and the ocean smells to come in. Reception is on the 7th floor which is kind of different but no problem getting there. Doorman was great. Parking was good (in the basement below the mall; the hotel is actually built above the mall) but not totally secure (hotel takes no responsibility for property). Good value, good beds, really quiet, close to downtown restaurants (walking distance).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Holiday Inn standard - same good food, nice-sized and clean rooms and nice and professional staff.
The big addition to the hotel is the mall connected to it: you can have your meals in one of the restaurants in it with easy access through a secret hotel door on the gym floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A safe haven base from home with the familiar branding, friendly English speaking staff and astounding views over the bay from 11th floor reception and rooms. Of course you probably don't come to southern Chile for a home from home but its a place to start. On the ground floor in a supermarket for supplies.
Breakfast is free and good

Room Tip: Upgrade for a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Its not common to see a holiday inn at the number 1 spot but this is well deserved. Hotel is modern, rooms are large and clean and the service is effecient and polite. conveniently located across the road from the ocean (so views are great) and attached to a large shopping mall for convenience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I had booked 2 rooms for one night and was not happy with the service or amenities. Admittedly I had been travelling for nearly 24 hours before arriving, and may have been over-tired, BUT...the hotel had only 1 room booked for me with no apology for the mistake. There was no bottled water in the room and no refrigerator, a coffee-maker was provided but coffee and milk had to be purchased from the breakfast bar on the 11th floor, SAP is not provided on the satellite TV service (maybe it's all still analogue in southern Chile?), the hotel does not have room service and the air-conditioning in my room did not work. I made 3 visits to the reception desk to ask questions as they did not answer the phone. My room looked tired, with a worn and stained carpet, scuffed door frames and skirting boards and dirty windows. On the positive side, the bed was fabulous and the rooms have stunning views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Deborah M,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Modern Holiday Inn built alongside a shopping centre so it only has rooms with a view over the bay. The best rooms are in the corner and have a balcony as well. Unusual layout with reception etc. on the top floor to take advantage of the location.
Comfortable, breakfast is typical HI Express so a little bit basic but plenty of food.
Stunning views - sat this morning at breakfast watching dolphins swinmming in the bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt

Address: Avenida Costanera s/n, Puerto Montt 0000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Montt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Puerto Montt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Puerto Montt hotel's visitors have southern Chile laid out before them. Nestled between the azure waters of the Pacific and four verdant hills, dramatic and breathtaking views are the norm, not the exception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt Hotel Puerto Montt
Holiday Inn Puerto Montt
Puerto Montt Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.