We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Costanera s/n, Puerto Montt 0000, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Puerto Montt
Southampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The hotel is certainly the best in Puerto Montt, the staff at reception were very helpful especially as we had alot of changes to make - they were also great in booking taxis and recommending restaurants (my spanish isnt great). The rooms are all large with big twin beds which are VERY comfortable. Its on top of a large mall which is great for stocking up on anything you need - parking can get busy but normally can find a space. Would recommend for anyone needing a central base in Puerto Montt, free internet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    130
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
94
12
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

a good breakfast (included in the price), all round enjoyable, free parking directly underneath accessed by lift, very helpful reception staff. On checking out I commented that I’d liked the breakfast, the receptionist said other guests complained there was no bacon offered with the sausages and scrambled egg – I suggested he advise them to appreciate and enjoy the fresh strawberry juice instead. The breakfast included three cereals, plenty of fresh fruit, 4 juices (I don’t believe any were out of a packet), fresh rolls and a choice of cold meats / cheese – a rather Austrian breakfast. Hot drinkable coffee with hot milk; in my view more than sufficient to keep almost all guests happy. The bedroom had a superb view over the bay and had ample space, adequately furnished; the bathroom was small and a small tub size bath; only adequate. Free Wi-Fi in the room but not a fast connection - I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I was delighted with my room on the 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is not a reflection on the Holiday Inn, Puerto Montt is not the most beautiful place in the world. Close by is Puerto Varas, about 10k. Puerto Varas is beautiful. So if your hoping for patagonian beauty. Montt won't offer it.
Now onto the Holiday Inn. The checkin is on the 11th floor. The ground level connectes to a shopping centre, so if thats your thing. You can go shopping or eat in McDonalds/KFC etc.
Check in was fast and the rooms are large and clean. Remember, its a Holiday Inn "EXPRESS". This is a hotel with reduced features. There is a cafe at reception level, which sells hot and cold food, drinks are also available. Breakfast is served here, its a complimentry buffet style. WiFi is free in the cafe and there are 3 PC's available if you don't have a computer.
The gym is rubbish. I'm not sure you should even bother. The machines are like a million years old and hardly working.
If you want to eat out, there is a restaurant shaped like a boat and built on a pier to the left of the hotel. Its nice in there and they also open for lunch.
I had to stay here for three nights. Its was ok, but I will never come back. There is nothing in Puerto Montt to see. Puerto Varas has beauty, a huge lake and plenty of steak restaurants.
The worst thing about your stay in Puerto Montt won't be the hotel. Its clean, quiet and cheap.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

On our way to the south (puerto Guadal) or coming back, this hotel is always a place where we stay. It is located on the shores of the bay and all rooms give you an astonishing view over the bay and the city. When you are lucky you have cruisers coming in and off loading passengers is always interesting.
The staff is always friendly and very helpfull. Rooms are spacious and the free Wifi keeps you in touch with the world and your next destination.
If you do have time, there is a fish restaurant nearby at the pier.

Room Tip: No need to ask for a room with view. They all have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

If you are just passing through Puerto Montt this is an excellent hotel. The reception is on 11 Floor and the rooms are on floors 7 - 10 so the rooms are well above the noisy street level. There are lovely views across the sea and we caught a glimpse of dolphins feeding in the evening.
There is no hotel restaurant but there is a small cafeteria where snack food can be purchased and plated food can be microwaved and sandwiches toasted.
The hotel is located in the same building as a shopping mall which is very handy for doing shopping of every kind. There are a number of food outlets in the shopping mall and they will deliver meals to your room, however they tended to be of the “chips with everything” variety.
There are laundry facilities where you can do your own washing and there are irons and ironing boards in the room – essential when passing through and needing to do your laundry before moving on.
The reception staff were incredibly helpful and we would like to compliment them on the service they gave us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

If all you need is a good sized room with a wonderful view of the bay, then this is the place for you. But if you also want good service, you'll need to look elsewhere. We arrived an hour ahead of the hotel's 3:00 p.m. check in and were told that our room wouldn't be ready until then. After watching five more groups of guests arrive and get immediate access to their rooms, we decided to stand by the desk until a room become available; sure enough, the clerk found one. We tried to check out the night before our early morning departure but were told by the clerk (a new one this time) that she was a trainee, the only one on duty, and didn't know how to check us out; she asked if we could come back in the morning. We did, and no one was around. Finally, after a quick breakfast, we found a clerk. We then called the desk from our room and asked them to order a taxi. The clerk said he would and that he would call us back in 2 minutes with the arrival time. After 10 minutes and no call, we called the desk again. With no apology, he said that he had gotten busy and would try to call one in a few minutes. With a connection to make, we had no choice but to go to the ground floor lobby (reception is on the 11th floor) and hail a cab on our own. Please also be aware that, while the rooms are spacious, the "railroad car" bathroom consists of two interconnected areas that are poorly ventilated.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnaeropuerto, Director Comercial at Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thnak you very much for the time to write the comments. Our objetive is to give all our passenger the best service and comments like these help us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Very nice hotel. Every room has a tremendous view of the bay. Watched porpoise´s from our room every day as well a ships, ferries and fishing boats. The rooms are clean. pleasantly furnished and the sound insulation between rooms is excellent. We could hear our neighbor´s voice and TV in the hallway but once in our room all was quiet. There is a little street noise but only during the day when a taxi or bus honked a horn. At 9 stories up, noise was really not a problem. There is wi-fi access in your room and plenty of pc´s for your use in the large reception area. The continental breakfast is very generous. The reception staff speak English. All the staff were very welcoming and efficient. Step out the door and walk the seawall all the way to the fish market and crafts stores at Angelmo. Puerto Mont is an industrial city-do not stay more than 2 nights. You can see everything in a day.

Room Tip: Do not get a room right next to the elevator on the east ? side of the building. As you exit the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt

Address: Avenida Costanera s/n, Puerto Montt 0000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Montt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Puerto Montt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Puerto Montt hotel's visitors have southern Chile laid out before them. Nestled between the azure waters of the Pacific and four verdant hills, dramatic and breathtaking views are the norm, not the exception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt Hotel Puerto Montt
Holiday Inn Puerto Montt
Puerto Montt Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Puerto Montt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.