We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Presidente Hotel Puerto Montt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Presidente Hotel Puerto Montt to your Saves list
Presidente Hotel Puerto Montt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Diego Portales 664 | Costanera - Centro, Puerto Montt, Chile (Formerly Hotel & Apart Club Presidente Puerto Montt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Puerto Montt
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Centrally located convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is located on the edge of the Bay, but still in the city centre. There is a shopping mall nearby and the main restaurant and shopping area is an easy stroll away. You can park your car in an underground parking lot opposite the hotel.
The hotel is well-maintained even though it is not that new anymore. The swimming pool is not very large but it has a nice view over the bay area.
My room was spacious and bathroom had everything it needed to have in this category, though it started to show its age, but without it being a problem.
Breakfast was fine, with a good choice of items, and served in a large dining area.
Service was good. The receptionist could get me a private taxi to the airport with only 15 minutes notice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    70
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
38
51
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Right on the waterfront, within easy walking distance of the main bus terminal-great location, great room and even better shower. The restaurant has a great outlook over the bay and serves reasonably priced hearty meals-nice to just sit there, look at the view and sip another great Chilean wine. Highly recommended

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile



This place is right on the waterfront about 300m from the bus terminal. Puerto Montt is a bit grotty frankly, and we were pleased to retreat to this haven. We walked to the bus station to get an 8am bus toSantiago. The hotel picks up on a nautical theme. The foyer is wood lined, aka a wooden yacht in fact we spied a lamp using a ships pulley block as its base. Rooms are less boat like, and the one we had was plush and luxurious. We loved the room and the comfort factor was sky high. Breakfast cannot be had before 7am but we snuck that in before our bus. It was tasty with all the usual fare. We had a nice pisco sour welcome drink the night before in the lounge area. Frankly, unless you go right up market then this is a very good option in Puerto Montt. If you go down market in Puerto Montt, then caveat emptor - buyer beware! 
 

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Club Presidente has enough of the little important details that sums up to a not recommended. There's no air conitioning in our room, we had to open the windows and turn on the kitchen stove exhaust fan to get enough air circulation to attempt to cool our now humid room with moisture from the air outside now coming in. We didn't get a comfortable night sleep due to the noise and disco/rap music coming in from the outside; car honking and someone yelling. It wasn't until the early morning hours that the room cool down enough for us. The bidet didn't work, there were no bath towels in our room and didn't notice till my partner asked for a towel and didn't find any. Just as I was about to walk out to a maid's cart in the hallway, our room bell was ranged and the maid was at the door with our missing towels. Apparently, she realized that our room was missing the towels. We were given a couple of complimentary drink coupons for use in their restaurant which we did use before the restaurant bar closed for the night. The woman server has an attitude and informed us of the restrictions of what we could get, a pisco sour, or juice, no wine, no beer. There was a television on in the restaurant and we were the only ones within eyesight of the one eye monster, so I turned it off. The swimming pool was overly heated, so my partner didn't enjoy his swim. The included breakfast the next morning was staffed by more friendly people and the breakfast was decent. On a prior visit, we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and wished we had stayed there again instead.

Room Tip: Holiday Inn Express is recommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel is in front of the sea, close to the center of the city.
I was surprised by the big, clean and spacious room. Decoration was not particularly interesting, but great bed (nice sleep), big closets and bathrooms (see pictures) and good wi fi.
But the best is the restaurant and the extremely nice service. You can have a great salmon dish and nice "homy" desserts, while enjoying a beautiful view to the sea. Also I loved the breakfast and the warm and helpful staff (they are very "service oriented" and accidentaly I was able to notice their concern about keeping the hotel clean).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Puerto Montt is a dump. Sorry, it is. It has no charm whatsoever. This hotel was a haven in the jungle of shops selling junk, rainy weather, and absolutely nothing to do.
When we arrived they didn't have an additional bed for my daughter. No problem sir. Free upgrade to a suite. Every time we went to the pool, a call resulted in freshly laundered towels for us. The service was great.
Breakfast in the morning is fantastic, again great service. Fresh eggs, bread, ham, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, I could go on.
If you find yourself destined to go to Puerto Montt, it is kind of like Crewe in that way - all roads go through it, then stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in June 2011. Our room was clean and tidy and very spacious. Our bathroom was also very spacious and included a jacuzzi and 2 sinks with a separate door to the jacuzzi and loo. After our previous stay in a small room, this was like a mansion to us!

The service was very good, the staff helpful. Near the reception is a room with 3 computer terminals which are pretty fast, also managed to get free wi fi connection in the room.

On the top floor is a small swimming pool and some loungers with clean towels laid out on them. From the pool room there's great view out to the sea. We were the only ones up there.

Breakfast was lovely, plenty of everything, hot and cold. Again, great views from the restaurant overlooking the city and the sea.

If you're thinking of having laundry done here, I would say that our laundry bill came to the cost of the room for the night - so maybe find somewhere cheaper outside!

I would definitely go back here though!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidente Hotel Puerto Montt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente Hotel Puerto Montt

Address: Av Diego Portales 664 | Costanera - Centro, Puerto Montt, Chile (Formerly Hotel & Apart Club Presidente Puerto Montt)
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Montt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Puerto Montt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Presidente Hotel Puerto Montt 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the center of the city, facing the sea, Hotel & Apart Club Presidente Puerto Montt lodges guests in its 51 spacious, exclusive suites. From our temperature controlled swimming pool with a privileged view of the sea, to the warm, cozy atmosphere and excellent cuisine of our restaurant – pleasure and enjoyment is what you will perceive.For the business traveller we offer meeting rooms, other facilities and services, all of which are destined to make your trip to Puerto Montt and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Presidente Hotel Puerto Montt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apart Hotel Puerto Montt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidente Hotel Puerto Montt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.