We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hospedaje Vista Al Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hospedaje Vista Al Mar to your Saves list
Hospedaje Vista Al Mar
Francisco Vivar 1337, Puerto Montt, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Puerto Montt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“very friendly B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Location: ** (out of 5) located ca 0,5 km from the central bus station but the neighborhood is not very safe. Poor people lying on the street and a lot of strolling dogs.

Service: ***** (out of 5). Excellent breakfast (salad of fresh fruits). Eliane is very cute and supportive

Room, Hotel overall, infrastructure (internet): ***** (out of 5): Very good wi fi. Free internet in the lobby.

Overall rating: **** stars out of 5

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
52
32
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I arrived from Santiago to spend four nights in Eliana's bed and breakfast. At the same she had relatives visiting from Argentina, yet still found time to sit and chat with me and wait on me like a mother at breakfast. She tidied up the room and made the bed every day, something I didn't expect. Fresh towels appeared regularly and the bathrooms are kept very very clean. Home-made whole grain bread was at every breakfast. She is on the phone all the time making reservations of tours, calling taxis and checking bus schedules. A+ for Vista al Mar and Eliana!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I travelled for business, and was looking for a very quiet and confortable place to stay, where I could have some meetings. Eliana the owner was very aware of my needs, and all the time was looking for the details making my work and the logistics of my trip very easy. The room had a very nice view of all the bay. Thaks Eliana for your help!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Booked to stay here for one night before embarking on the Lakes crossing to Bariloche. Our flight into Puerto Montt was cancelled due to snow further south so we arrived a day late. Eliana happily changed our room booking, called the Lakes crossing company to make sure they would pick us up the following day, upgraded our room (free of charge) and made us tea and apple empanadas on arrival. Couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming, really, and would definitely stay here if in Puerto Montt again. Very nice clean room too!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALLINA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We booked with Eliana after reading reviews. We arrived on the Navimag ferry very early in the morning and were unsure where she lived and what a lovely surprise to see her with a sign welcoming us. A lovely clean homely place and her hospitality was fantastic; she even got our washing in before it rained!. Breakfast was a treat with homemade bread and jams etc. Close to public transport and there is a great little shop in the street behind which sells the best empanadas.
We went on day trips to Castro, Puerto Varas and Fruitilla de Lago very easy to get around and worth the trip.
Thanks Eliana we really felt we were at home.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on 20 December 2011 for one night on our way through to Castro, Chiloe. Eliana and her husband were delightful. The B&B is spotless, very comfortable, and located very conveniently (you can wak to most places). What did amaze us though was how our expectations of service were exceeded at every turn. My wife and I are coeliacs so we were just hoping there would be some coffee and maybe a yoghurt for breakfast. Eliana pushed the boat out and made us the most amazing gluten-free breakfast with eggs, ham, cheese, yogurt, fruit, coffee etc - what a treat! After breakfast it was raining, so without being asked, they insisted that they take us to the bus terminal in their car. We were happy to order a taxi, but they really wanted to help us The icing on the cake concerned my wife, who had lost her moreno top in a restaurant the previous day. Eliana contacted the owner to try to track it down. We didn't hear before we left so we assumed it had gone. Eliana asked for a contact number at our next address. Sure enough, a couple of days later there was a knock on ur door in Castro with a parcel! I think many 5 star hotels would be impressed at this level of service. We would definitely stay there again when next in Puerto Montt. Thank you Eliana!

Room Tip: The double with ensuite bathroom had a great view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

The house is very conveniently located with great view over Puerto Montt harbor. We were able to walk with our luggage to the Navimag ferry from there in the morning - less than 1 km away. The owner, Eliana, hardly speaks any English but we were able to communicate sufficiently with our limited Spanish. She is a sweet older lady going out of her way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. She even carried our luggage to the 2nd floor even after we said we'd take care of it. Breakfast was great, one of the best we had in Chile, with awesome homemade bread. Bed was very comfortable - an overall clean and cozy place.
The only negative was barking of neighborhood dogs pretty much through the night, but there is not much you can do about this in town. Dogs are everywhere in town - bring your ear plugs!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospedaje Vista Al Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Vista Al Mar

Address: Francisco Vivar 1337, Puerto Montt, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Montt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Montt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hospedaje Vista Al Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospedaje Vista Al Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.