We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place despite aged photos on website” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Perla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Perla to your Saves list
Casa Perla
Trigal 312, Puerto Montt, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place despite aged photos on website”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place was wonderful. We booked at last minute and did not expect much from the pictures available. We had a pleasant surprise when greeted by Perla, a lovely Chilena lady with exceptional English. Her family home is warm, clean and inviting after a long bus trip. The directions she gave us were great. A standard breakfast was provided. Wifi good. A couple of bathrooms which although small had good water flow and temperature. The dorm room had beds which was a lovely change from bunks. Perla also had great recommendations on eating venues so listen to her advice. There is no pool or fitness centre sorry. I accidentally selected the options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Arrived into Puerto Montt after dark (from Argentina) - map was NOT clear at all and we literally were wondering around (up hills) in a relatively ´dodgy´ place. To be fair, locals were extremely helpful and we did find our way in the end!

Very cute homestead, lovely big twin room. Walls are a little thin - you can hear a pin drop at night giving an intimate experience to say the least.
Our host was lovely, though unwell at the time Perla still made an effort to come say hi.
All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Casa Perla is an uphill walk from the bus terminal. A veeeeerry long walk uphill. Not very ideal when you are carrying a backpack. It's also a good 20 minute walk to the centre of town and to the harbour where all the good (fresh) seafood is. There are almost not a lot of amenities around Casa Perla.

Add all this in with the (pretty) dark streets of Puerto Montt, it is easy to feel A BIT uncomfortable trying to find food/groceries after sunset.

Having said that, i think it is one of the better options for staying in Puerto Montt. The pickings are slim and there don't seem to be much accommodations around (believe me, I've checked)

The room itself is pretty cosy. But the thing to note is that Casa Perla is in a relatively old cabin building. The interior of the house is a bit dark and there are a lot of pretty weird souvenirs hanging all over the house. The floor boards squeak a fair bit when you are walking around. We were not very comfortable with that.

Pictures and a longer write up of Casa Perla can be seen here:
twandjo.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/of-houses-and-possibly-witches-puerto-montt/

There are also no locks on the door, and although I have to say that the whole place feels "safe", you never really know what kinda people the other guests are.

The owners themselves are LOVELY. They speak excellent English and (from what I understand) German and would go out of their way to tell you of the places to go around Puerto Montt.

Breakfast is pretty decent too

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for just one night before getting the navimag ferry. Our double room was really nice and very clean. There's a nice sitting room to relax in and there's free wifi. There's a sign saying you can use the kitchen up until 8pm but it's not strictly enforced and Pearla was happy to let people make tea after this time. Pearla was very helpful was friendly and gave us a good breakfast before we left. I really enjoyed our stay here, the only bad things were there were no locks on the doors and it's a bit of a walk to the town center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We pulled into puerto montt in the evening and had a fine time driving in circles and getting completely turned around trying to find perlas place. It seems they don't believe in street signs in most of southern chile. Once we found the house Perla welcomed us like part of her extended family. The house is nice and warm and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was pretty standard affair. We were accompanied at night by two kitties (we let them in through the garden window) and Perla was nice enough to let us store some snowboard gear with her while we continued touring further south. I would recommend this guesthouse to travelers who enjoy being part of the family :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Casa Perla is located a short distance from the downtown area but still within easy walking distance to the center, harbor and bus terminal. This is a smallish house that somehow is able to easily accommodate the owner’s, a couple, and a bunch of travelers. You basically join this family for the duration of your stay here as you will share the kitchen, living room and the bathrooms with the owners. During my stay it was very busy, probably at full capacity yet it was very cozy, fairly quiet and I had no problem to relax and to get some rest after a long journey. Though, some people had to wait for bathroom in the morning. This hostel attracts mature travelers, so it is no party house.
Decent Wi-Fi and nice breakfast was included in the room rate. The premises were older but very clean. The bathroom on the main floor was spacious and clean. There was gas water heater and initially I had a problem getting hot water, but it got resolved … Beds were comfortable with decent linen. Each room had a heater and plenty of extra blankets, but during my stay it wasn’t cold anyway.
The owners were very nice and hospitable.
I can recommend Casa Perla.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights. This is not a hostel or bed&breakfast like others. It is very small and they share their own kitchen with you. We enjoyed this atmosphere very much and preferred it over an industrial hostal. However, it might not be everybody's cup of tea.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Perla

Address: Trigal 312, Puerto Montt, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Montt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Montt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.