We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Luxury Collection” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villarrica Park Lake, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, Villarrica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villarrica Park Lake, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, Villarrica to your Saves list
Villarrica Park Lake, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, Villarrica
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Villarica Pucon Km 13 | Villarrica, Pucon, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Getaways
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Pucon
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not a Luxury Collection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Being a SPG gold member for several years, and having stayed in others Luxury Collections around the world, I went to Villarica Park Lake with high expectations of getting the same service level and confort, and with the illusion of being spoiled during my stay. The hotel is indeed very nice, with amazing surroundings and a breathtaking lake view. Nevertheless it is far far away of being a Luxury Collection. The room has a good size and it is very well decorated. Space is not an issue, bathroom is large with separated bathtub and shower. So is the balcony, overviewing the lake, providing an amazing relax sensation. It is also very clean too.
But when it comes to the service, it was a disappointment. First at arrival no one came to help us with the bags, and I had to seek and guess who was the bell captain. We stayed for 6 nights and the minibar was never refilled, althougt we have asked several times. The air condioning is not controlled by the guest, but is centralized, so either you like or not, you'll have to live with the temperature somebody picked for you, sometimes hot, sometimes cold, always a surprise.
At the restaurant they were short of staff, even though we went during high season, and the few that was there, were stressed and overworked, and clearly coudn't have the job done for so many people either in dinner or at the breakfast. Short memory, long waiting, and a lot of self service was the result.
This was valid for all three restaurants, including the lobby bar (only one server !!) and the pool restaurant. Chile is a wine country and the climate and surroundings of Pucon deserves the perfect combination of food and wine. For my surprise, the wine list was changing (remember we went in the middle of the high season), and was a hard job to choose a wine from the wine list that they actually have available.
The Spa area is amazing, lots of room, steam and sauna are awesome, but the indoor pool temperature, was another issue, not warm enough to make it a pleasent experience. The massages were overpriced in relation to other spas in similar hotels, so I did not even try it.
The gym was a joke, small, outdate and not even with a treadmill available. Not what I was expecting, specially if you are talking about a Luxury.

For those going with children, it is an ok place to go, with some staff and facilities for small kids. They also have some kids menu and plenty of willingness to acomodate our especial needs for a small child.
To me is just a regular and standard Sheraton, never a Luxury Collection, therefore a little overpriced. I will be back for next long weekend, but definitivelly with different expectations.

Room Tip: Hotel lobby is in the sixth floor and restaurants are in the fifth, so in the 4th floor rooms you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    63
    25
    17
    4
See reviews for
59
96
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We usually like staying in town but this hotel was worth the distance. it was actually hard to leave, we even stayed for dinner and it was great. it was fun going into to town and walking around the crowds but very nice to get back and enjoy the amazing lake and mountain views. Maria at the reception was extremely helpful with a problem we had and was the only one that had a good understanding of english and helped solve our issue with our rent a car.

Room Tip: we were on the 7th floor facing lake. unbelievable view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This February marked the third time my husband and I have stayed at this beautiful hotel. We were very excited that the Park Lake is now a member of the Sheraton family, which enabled us to use our Starpoints.

There are only 70 rooms in this 5-star, European style hotel, all of which have a spectacular view of the beautiful Lago Villarrica. All rooms are spacious and elegant. This trip, my husband and I were upgraded to a one-bedroom suite (Jr. Suite), that consisted of a comfortable living room/dining room (the couch makes into a bed); large bathroom with soaking tub, separate shower, and WC; a large bedroom with over-sized king size bed, and a balcony off of the living room/dining area. Since the suites are at the ends of the hotel, there are opening windows on three sides of the suite.

The staff are very accommodating and helpful. Most speak English for those who do not speak Spanish. An excellent breakfast is included in the dining room. It consists of fresh fruit in season, a selection of cheeses, cold cuts, cold cereals, yogurt, breads, pastries, and cooked-to-order eggs. Serving begins at 7:30 a.m. and ends at 11:00 a.m. As noted in a previous review, if a guest has an early tour scheduled, other arrangements need to be made. Since it is daylight until well past 9:00 p.m. during the summer, my recommendation is to enjoy a relaxing morning and schedule a tour for a later time in the day.

My only criticisms of the hotel are that the bedding for the king size bed consists of two separate down duvets, which isn't conducive to night-time cuddling. However, it does solve the problem if your spouse is a cover hog. And, if you enjoy cooler sleeping temperatures, don't even try to turn the AC down at night. Turn it off and open the windows. According to the management, Chileans are used to sleeping in warmer rooms, so they only pump hot water through the system at night.

Room Tip: If you have Starpoints, use them to upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

For more than 30 years I had dreamed of visiting Chile. After a long flight with several changes including a bumpy van ride for the final hour or so, we arrived at the first stop on our abbreviated Chilean holiday. The countryside had changed shortly before we reached Villarica but other than an occasional glimpse of water (it was the Lake Region, after all) we arrived at a driveway that pierced a hedge. We saw nothing in particular until turning a curve there was a lovely building constructed into the side of a steep hill, overlooking a volcanic lake with the majestic Andes as a backdrop: this was the first glimpse of our residence for the next four nights. We arrived on Christmas Day of 2010 (I delayed in writing this review, but the memories are vivid as can be), and the hotel was empty except for one other family. By the time we departed 5 days later, there was not an empty room. The level of service - exemplary, friendly, efficient - did not change notwithstanding the increase in the number of guests. I said to my wife that with destination weddings being the latest craze in the US, it was surprising that no one had as yet discovered Chile, and most particularly the Park Lake Hotel. But the next day, the staff began to set up the lawn at the lake shore for a weddiing ceremony, for Chileans, as it turned out. If you've been to the South Island of New Zealand, you can imagine the topography and vegetation of this region. It is far away from everything, but has this high-end but small resort in its midst. We treated ourselves to spa treatments, reasonable in price, to help us recover from the long trip. The masseuses were professional and lovely, but you must be ready for very few people in Chile able to speak English. Nevertheless, there were excellent polyglot managers and assistants at the hotel, just beginning its transformation into a Starwood Luxury Group property as a result of a recent change in ownership. I imagine that Starwood's professional management could only have improved the already superior reception we had at the Park Lake. The rooms are lovely but not 5-star, but then again, neither was the price. As one soon learns in Chile, you don't go there for the food, but the dining experience at the hotel was quite correct as they cater to the closest that Chile can find to an international crowd outside of Santiago. The activities desk will arrange excursions out of Pucon, a nearby town that reminds me more of Park City, Utah than anything else. There is everything from zip lining, volcano climbing and white water rafting to forest walks, and the guides tend to speak a variety of languages. People were very tolerant of my high school Spanish (40 years later) and we got around with no difficulty. My then 20 and 16-year-old sons who had deigned to travel with us fell in love with Chile and especially the Lake Region and the Park Lake. By the time we had to go to our next destination, the entire staff, it seemed, knew our boys' names and vice versa. Parting was sweet sorrow, as they say. Would all four of us go back? In a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The hotel is built into the side of a hill. The lobby is on the fourth floor. Pick rooms with a te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Pros: large rooms. Free Internet (wired -- not wireless). Everything else was disappointing. For example:

- Note that the hotel doesn't actually have a view of the volcano. This isn't at all clear from the photos on the Web site.

- We did a Volcano Trek (highly recommended!) that required us to leave the hotel at 6:45am. This is normal -- these treks all leave very early. But breakfast in the hotel doesn't begin until 7 or 7:30, something like that. So the day before our trek, we asked the woman at the front desk if she could arrange an early breakfast for us. She said yes, that we should go to the restaurant at 6:15 and they would have something for us. But the next morning, at 6:15 -- no luck. Nobody was around to help us at all. So we had to start our long day of hiking without breakfast. When we returned, we told someone (a different woman at the front desk) what had happened, and she seemed genuinely surprised and apologetic, promising to investigate what had happened -- who made a mistake -- and let us know. We stayed there for another two days and never heard anything more about it. No followup at all.

- The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I've had in any Starwoods property (except, I think, the Sheraton in Jiuzhaigou, China). And they had taken two twin beds and pushed them together to make it look like a king bed (with two separate sets of sheets on each of the individual twin beds)

- The liquid soap in the shower was empty and didn't get refilled during our three days there. Not a big deal, because there was a bar of soap, just sloppy. Also the pipe to the shower head had a hole in it, so water sprayed out the side when the shower was on. Again -- just sloppy.

- I had a massage at the spa. Massage was okay, but not worth the money. It's not like it feels bad to have someone give you a massage, even if they aren't very good at it, but... this was not a very good massage.

- Fitness center isn't very good -- very few (if any) free weights. Pool is mediocre, and they make you wear head caps.

Location was fine for us, because we had a rental car, but would have been inconvenient otherwise. It's a 10-minute drive both from Villarrica and from Pucon, so you can't really walk around anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

It was January 2011 and I went to Pucón with all my family for summer vacations. Charming small city, Pucón has lots of hotels, but we decided for Villarrica Park Lake despite of its location a little bit far from Pucón. It was definetely a good choice!

In front of Villarrica Lake, with a spectacular view, this hotel is really a five stars resort. Very good Spa, indoor and outdoor pools, offer of nautic sports in summer, beautiful gardens, very relaxing landscape, excellent bar with many options and very good service, a gourmet restaurant (best food in Pucón!), perfect and very complete breakfast. Roons are confortable, clean and spacious with a very interesting bathroom and a nice balcony with lovely views across the lake. The staff is helpfull and polite.

We had a taxi driver to introduce us to the surroundings: Pucón, the volcano Villarrica, the indian village Mapuche, and others...

This hotel should be listed among the Pucón hotels. And everyone going to Pucón should consider stay there!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We spent two nights at the Villarrica Park Lake Hotel in a junior suite. It was very comfortable and had tons of space. In most hotels, a room this size would be a full 1BR suite. The views over the lake were stunning and the room (like all rooms in this hotel) had a large balcony overlooking the lake. Everything in the room was in good condition and quite comfortable. Our only critique would be that the decor is a little bland; with this kind of setting, there's a lot they could do to make it more interesting. All the same, the room was well appointed and comfortable, with the usual niceties in this level of hotel like robes, slippers, plush towels, good toiletries, etc. Service in general at the hotel was very good; the staff we interacted with spoke good English, but as with elsewhere in Chile, were happy to let us practice Spanish with them as well.

Our package included two massages, which we enjoyed. The spa area is quite nice, and very clean. The indoor pool is well-heated and large. In the summer, you can swim in the outdoor pool, and probably the lake as well. Breakfast was also included with the room and is taken in the restaurant. Good service and a nice selection of hot and cold items, including made-to-order eggs. We didn't leave the hotel for any of our meals since we didn't have a rental car and taxis are quite expensive, so we ended up ordering from room service for our meals. The prices for room service were very reasonable; lunch usually ran about US $20 and dinner about US $30 (not including drinks). Delivery was prompt and the quality of the food was good; in particular, we really enjoyed the grilled salmon.

You can walk along the beach next to the hotel, which we did and really enjoyed. The entire area is very quiet and peaceful, and the lake views are nice. This would be a great setting for someone on a special trip, or even, like us, just a place to relax for a couple of days in between other travels in the region.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villarrica Park Lake, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, Villarrica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villarrica Park Lake, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, Villarrica

Address: Camino Villarica Pucon Km 13 | Villarrica, Pucon, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villarrica Park Lake, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, Villarrica 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Villarrica and Pucon, surrounded by the captivating beauty of Southern Chile, we offer understated opulence and outdoor adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villarrica Park Lake, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, Villarrica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villarrica Park Lake, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, Villarrica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.