We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You probably won't go wrong here....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel O Gudenschwager

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel O Gudenschwager to your Saves list
Hotel O Gudenschwager
Pedro de Valdivia 12, Pucon, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Pucon
Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“You probably won't go wrong here....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

This is an old hotel that has a charm about it. The rooms and bathrooms are what they are and I had no problem with them. The location is fantastic to both town and the beach. The view is great (if not cloudy). Good off street parking and a quiet area but still only blocks from activity. Nice photos throughout the hotel. Anyway, I would stay here again just as quickly as I would try another location in town. I think it is the staff that makes me feel that way. They were not rude or unhelpful. But they did not go out of their way to make one feel welcomed either. I almost felt bothersome at times. Not that they did anything you could put your finger on just the feeling I got. You will not go wrong staying here. The breakfast was fine, the rooms are fine, it is in a great location, and the price is fair. This hotel could be much more than ‘fine’ with just a little effort on the part of the staff.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

Location was beautiful and the room was a good size for our family but the staff were really not helpful at all. We wanted to rent a car and we got no help at all from the hotel.
The bathrooms are too small and the floors are really creak and the walls are so thing that you ever hear the sneezing from the next room!
All in all the friendly staffs in a hotel makes a huge difference. It is a good place for couples but not really suitable for young families.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The squeaky floor and walls!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

We arrived in Pucon and did not know where we wanted to stay, found this place and were very pleasantly surprised.

The review by Jack stating this place is terrible could not be further from the truth. We had excellent service, the staff very helpful with arranging tours and activities, advising on great restaurants and we had a great room with a view of the lake and the volcano and warm and comfy.

We definitely recommend this place as a great place with a great location within Pucon!

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

If you dislike comfortable beds, good thick pillows, clean linen, warm ida downs, good bathrooms (with 24hr hot water and good pressure), becoming friends with the owner’s family, a view of Mt. Villarrica, and the tranquillity of being 50 metres from the lakes edge; then I suggest you stay someplace else.

Yes there are more expensive hotels around the corner, with all the mod cons. Yes there are cheaper, funkier hostels in town, with thin walls and all night sessions. And there are cheap bungalows out of town, with your own kitchen.

I am a flashpacker who has travelled extensively, and few places in Pucon can match the charm, position, friendliness, and value of the Gudenschwager. Particularly if you are a couple, tried of the usual crappy hostel doubles, filled with drunken, horny teenagers.

  • Liked — Location and laudable owners.
  • Disliked — Soundproofing in older buildings is not the best.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zeland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

Everything was very good, cozy rooms, great breakfast, excellent location, that for sure. Very helpful as far as how to get around town and places to visit and agencies to go with for the volcano climbing, national park hiking and horse back riding.
I'll say this place is the best Lodge/hostel in Pucon.

  • Liked — Breakfast was the best !!!
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

We stayed at the Gudenschwager Hotel (it is actually Gutenschwager but no worries) this past week while visiting Pucon. The hotel is a rundown place with creaky floors, old bedding and crummy bathrooms. They did not honor our original reservation for a room with a "lake view" but showed us to a room the size of a closet when we arrived. Service was ok, some of the women who work there are very sweet but management sucks. Anyway, my main point is that the place does NOT cost $13. We paid $80 a night for a bad room and then saw beautiful little hostels in town (like Donde German or Ecole) for a fraction of the price. Don't give your money to this place. If you are on a budget, stay in a hostel, if not, well, believe me, you will be disappointed.

  • Liked — Proximity to the lake
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

I didn’t know where to stay after I got off the bus, took a taxi cab and asked the driver to take me to a nice everything, (that incl. price) he did!!!

I stayed here at the Gudenschwager 7 days, was great, nice cozy rooms, warm really warm, quiet, if you are looking for a spa and a pool with a bar nope this is not the place.
Now, if you are looking for inexpensive bed, breakfast and nice people whiling to help you how to get around town. I’ll say stay here.

Pablo the guy that works there is the one that knows were to go and what to do. Besides I have to thanks him for going all the way up the volcano with his truck and getting us out of there on a snow storm…forever THANKS dude…

Hopefully this will help you on you next trip to Pucon. Fare well.

  • Liked — Cozy Room, great breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel O Gudenschwager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel O Gudenschwager

Address: Pedro de Valdivia 12, Pucon, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pucon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the northeast shore of the Villarrica Lake; with a front lake and volcano view. Two block from the main central park and three blocks from Pucon downtown. The Gudenschwager has been open since 1923, it was built by the German naval engineer Otto Gudenschwager, has been remodel completely, it has 20 rooms each one of them with private bathrooms. Our Lodge has central heating, private parking lot, and a tea and deli restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel O Gudenschwager reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gudenschwager Hotel Pucon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel O Gudenschwager, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.