We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good location near the lake ; old and well kept” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel O Gudenschwager

Save Saved
You added Hotel O Gudenschwager to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel O Gudenschwager
Pedro de Valdivia 12, Pucon, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in Pucon
sud est France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“very good location near the lake ; old and well kept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I was in Pucon in march 2012, so off season ; from the bus station, I walked with my luggage in the streets and visited a lot of hostals and hotels and of course the ones which were selected in "Lonely planet" and "le guide du routard" were supposed to be some of the best value. These were overcrowded, full of young people, a bit noisy, especially those in the center near the bus station. And the rooms for the price, looked more or less sad.
The tourism office was very helpful ; the girls working there are very friendly.
Finally arriving to the lake, I found the last house was an old hotel, almost the first one in Pucon, around 1930 I think ; the location is very quiet near the peninsula and right on the lake. It was almost empty ; the owners, the mother around 80 and the daughters around 55 or 60 were very friendly ; the rooms were large, a bit old but very clean and well kept, with 2 single beds which were large enough to put 2 people and very very confortable! I like this kind of hotel which has a soul.
There is no TV in the rooms
WIFI worked very well and fast.
From some rooms you can see the lake, the others are facing the hill behind. If all the rooms are occupied you may hear a little bit the neighbours.
The bathrooms are a bit old but not run down at all, very clean.
The breakfast was simple but sufficient. I suppose that when the dining room, which is right on the lake, is full, there is a buffet.
I can understand that some people prefer a more modern hotel with all up to date amenities.
For instance I have visited the grand hotel Pucon (also an old hotel) and wouldn't like to stay there ; crowded and not really pleasant.

The only thing is that hotel Gudenschwager is for sale ; nobody knows what will happen with the new owners and when it will be sold.
The price of the room was correct : 25 000 CHPesos for single and 40 000 for 2 .

Choosing a hotel is hard and depends on the sensibility of each one ; you can like eating in a Mac Donald ; this is not my way of life.

otherwise, when I walked outside hotel Gudenschwager, I saw too late that next door was a guesthouse, the "Frontera Pucon hostel" which has a 9,6 vote on booking.com and is N°1 in "special lodging" on tripadvisor ! it seems to be always full !

Pucon is a small town ; you can reach the center in 5 mn... if you walk slowly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

You will only pay for a bed and a washroom! That´s it!
1. No TV (only one TV in a big room that you will have to share with the others)
2. I have been there for 9 days, and only had 2 nights successfully connected to the internet and the signal was very weak too! (The manager explained that was my laptop problem, not their problem!)
3. NO telephone! (The manager said the telephone is for business use, asked me to go outside to call my family!!)
4. Yes, they have parking, but It is very easy to get parking ticket! so...be careful and good luck to all drivers!!!
5. Outdoor activities and sports service...which means you have to find by yourself. Totally not included in their services!!!
6. Restaurant only provided breakfast...and the foods are as simple as you can cook by yourself!
If you want to stay in Pucon, no expectation about the hotel and have no money, you can consider this one! Don´t even think about this one if you have little expectation!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Basic rooms with million dollar lake and volcano views and plenty of charm in the exterior and a couple of common areas downstairs. We stayed for a week with a bunch of other friends renting other rooms, so it didn't matter that everyone could hear everyone else in the hotel - the walls really are paper-thin. The staff were pretty invisible but friendly when we wanted them. Breakfast service is great (for a Chilean breakfast, which takes some getting used to). Nothing to do for young kids at the hotel, but the lake is next door and the town playground is a short stroll away.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

This is an old hotel that has a charm about it. The rooms and bathrooms are what they are and I had no problem with them. The location is fantastic to both town and the beach. The view is great (if not cloudy). Good off street parking and a quiet area but still only blocks from activity. Nice photos throughout the hotel. Anyway, I would stay here again just as quickly as I would try another location in town. I think it is the staff that makes me feel that way. They were not rude or unhelpful. But they did not go out of their way to make one feel welcomed either. I almost felt bothersome at times. Not that they did anything you could put your finger on just the feeling I got. You will not go wrong staying here. The breakfast was fine, the rooms are fine, it is in a great location, and the price is fair. This hotel could be much more than ‘fine’ with just a little effort on the part of the staff.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

Location was beautiful and the room was a good size for our family but the staff were really not helpful at all. We wanted to rent a car and we got no help at all from the hotel.
The bathrooms are too small and the floors are really creak and the walls are so thing that you ever hear the sneezing from the next room!
All in all the friendly staffs in a hotel makes a huge difference. It is a good place for couples but not really suitable for young families.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The squeaky floor and walls!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

We arrived in Pucon and did not know where we wanted to stay, found this place and were very pleasantly surprised.

The review by Jack stating this place is terrible could not be further from the truth. We had excellent service, the staff very helpful with arranging tours and activities, advising on great restaurants and we had a great room with a view of the lake and the volcano and warm and comfy.

We definitely recommend this place as a great place with a great location within Pucon!

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

If you dislike comfortable beds, good thick pillows, clean linen, warm ida downs, good bathrooms (with 24hr hot water and good pressure), becoming friends with the owner’s family, a view of Mt. Villarrica, and the tranquillity of being 50 metres from the lakes edge; then I suggest you stay someplace else.

Yes there are more expensive hotels around the corner, with all the mod cons. Yes there are cheaper, funkier hostels in town, with thin walls and all night sessions. And there are cheap bungalows out of town, with your own kitchen.

I am a flashpacker who has travelled extensively, and few places in Pucon can match the charm, position, friendliness, and value of the Gudenschwager. Particularly if you are a couple, tried of the usual crappy hostel doubles, filled with drunken, horny teenagers.

  • Liked — Location and laudable owners.
  • Disliked — Soundproofing in older buildings is not the best.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel O Gudenschwager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel O Gudenschwager

Address: Pedro de Valdivia 12, Pucon, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the northeast shore of the Villarrica Lake; with a front lake and volcano view. Two block from the main central park and three blocks from Pucon downtown. The Gudenschwager has been open since 1923, it was built by the German naval engineer Otto Gudenschwager, has been remodel completely, it has 20 rooms each one of them with private bathrooms. Our Lodge has central heating, private parking lot, and a tea and deli restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel O Gudenschwager reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gudenschwager Hotel Pucon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel O Gudenschwager, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.