We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Malalhue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Malalhue to your Saves list
Hotel Malalhue
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino Internacional 1615, Pucon, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Pucon
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Malalhue is a nice hotel, clean, cosy and with nice people. It is about 30 minutes walk from town centre. Rooms are nice, but noisy. Breakfast and diner are very good, with splendid wines.
Wi-fi was free but accessible only in the lounge area. There are also 3 free to use computers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
23
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

I recently stayed in room 202 - do not rent this room. It is on the second floor under the low hanging roof. The noise from the highway is so bad at night you cannot have your window open and try to sleep. This is the main highway from Argentina to Chile in this area. The room was so small there was not even a chair in it [no place to put one]. No desk and no place to put your luggage, I had to put the luggage in the bathroom to be able to walk around the bed. The small TV got one Spanish channel in black-and-white. The bathtub was approximately 3 feet long and a foot and half wide with sloping sides, no place to stand with your feet flat due to the sloping sides. The toilet leaked water on the floor for the entire three day stay. The location says it's close to the city center, but I don't know what they're talking about. At a brisk pace it took 32 min. to walk to the center of town. 85° was the coolest the room ever got, no a/c . There was a nice swimming pool area and kids were using it, but it was a shade of green found mostly in Koi ponds. On the plus side, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Virginian
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

The only letdown hotel of the trip. It was nice enough, though far from the town center but we had a room on the ground floor and it was noisy. The parking lot was right outside our windows but more noisy was that we could hear everything in the dining room--from late night diners to early buffet-breakfast eaters. The place was nice, friendly, and clean, though.

The distance to town is a bit of a drawback. Even though we had a car it is hard to park in Pucon so it was a hassle to drive into town.

Their heated pool is nice. Wi-fi was free but accessible only in the lounge area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We enjoyed staying just outside the city center in this quiet and peaceful chalet-style hotel. They offer a reasonably priced prix fixe menu each night, which we sampled and enjoyed as well.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We only stayed one night at the Hotel Malalhue, but it was a very pleasant stay. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. We had to leave early in the morning for the volcano climb, and they had a full breakfast spread ready for us a couple hour before the normal time for their breakfast serving. They also allowed us to store our luggage with them for the entire day.

The room was very big and comfortable, and nicely decorated. The restaurant at the hotel was convenient and very reasonably priced for hotel dining. We ate there after a full day of exploring the town, and enjoying the hot springs. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the downtown area, but in a good location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

We stayed at this hotel as a part of a tour group through Patagonia so I can't comment on the cost. The hotel was very good though. The hotel staff was very helpful and spoke some English. The lobby had 3 computers for internet use. The room was very nice and comfortable and had HBO in English as well. The food was good, not unbelieveable, but good. The breakfast had quite a good variety and was more than just a typical continental breakfast of bread, cereal, and cold cuts. The location is on the outside of town so it is about a 15-20 minute walk into the main part of town (or an inexpensive cab ride). Overall, I was very pleased with the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs UK
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

Alpine style hotel some 15 mins walk from the town centre on a busy road. We had a rather nice room at the rear of the hotel with a lovely view of the smoking Villarrica volcano, beds were comfortable, no chair, light coloured curtains - bring your flight eyeshades, if you like a dark room. Breakfast was fine & the staff were very friendly, but when asked about a bus into the centre - they did not suggest either a shared taxi or a "collectico" which were available.

There were 2 problems with the hotel -

Noise from the main road and also from an unmade road running down the side of the hotel (which also created dust) and lack of sound insulation between bedrooms - you really don't want to hear your next door neighbour visit the bathroom during the night.

Lack of seating; in the lounge, there were a few chairs but also 3 free internet connections - usually being used by 2 children (from the hotel?). It would have ben nice if there had been some comfortable seats on the grassed area behind the hotel with suitable shading for guests to use.

The walk into town was reasonbly well lit in the evening - but you may wish to bring a torch.

We hired a bike from a firm recommended by the hotel and that proved enjoyable - there is a good bycycle lane on the opposite side of the road to the hotel.

For meals, we had 2 fish dinners at La Grilla, which is considered "the" best fish restaurant, despite it's name. We also went to the poplar Urugaryan parrillado - just past La Grilla also on Fresia street for our steak meal, I can highly recommed both.

Whether I would choose this hotel again - would be dependant on the alternatives. We were late booking and Pucon was heaving with people and nearly grid locked with traffic in the evening, may be out of high season things would be quieter.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Malalhue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malalhue

Address: Camino Internacional 1615, Pucon, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Malalhue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Malalhue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Malalhue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.