We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, beautiful gardens, great food and very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antumalal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Antumalal to your Saves list
Hotel Antumalal
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km2 Camino Pucon-Villarrica, Pucon, Chile   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Pucon
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great views, beautiful gardens, great food and very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had been in Chile a week when we found this hidden gem. Being an architect and interior designer, we loved this beautifully designed hotel that took advantage of the stunning views. All of the rooms face the lake (west), which can make the rooms hot unless you keep the drapes closed. But after the hottest part of the day, you can open the window for a great breeze that makes the rooms very comfortable. (Most places we stayed did not have AC, faced west for water views and had table-top fans, like this hotel.)

We stayed two nights, and spent the day at the (nice but rocky) beach where we went for a swim off the pier, walked thru the beautiful gardens where we found their organic vegetable garden, and a secluded bench with a great view of the lake. The only negatives were that they could use 2 more chases in the pool area and when we asked for a towel, they were all in the laundry and we had to get some from our room.

For dinner, we shared an appetizer that was very good, and my husband had a steak that was to die for, and I think I had Congrio eel that was good. However, we should have stopped after the huge appetizer, because we were stuffed after finishing half of our entrees.

The buffet breakfast was better than usual with yogurt, bread, 2 kinds of very good pound cake, 2 kinds of cheese and sliced meat, juice, coffee, tea and maybe cereal. If you wanted something else, you could order it for an extra charge.

At check-out, we could not get our trunk to lock, which one of their employees was able to fix. We returned a short time later after the gas line fell off (do NOT rent from Alamo/National because they have a terrible reputation in Chile), and two good Samaritans in that town were able to re-attach it. The staff bent over backwards to help us with not only contacting Alamo, but called around to find a place for us to stay since they were booked.

We would not hesitate to stay there again! It is all about service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Director of Sales at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel, it really is a architectural gem. Thanks to your comments, we have already purchased more towels for the Spa so that the same issue does not happen again, and we have listed installing air conditioning into our second floor rooms in June this year. We agree that the food in our restaurant is great, the portions abundant and the flovours divine! We look forward to welcoming you back here again on your next trip to Chile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    32
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
119
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lodging
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last month based on the trip advisor reviews. We were extremely disappointed. The hotel is not upgraded, there were cracks in between the walls and the fireplace which did not work. We arrived and found two blueberries in the corner of the very old and outdated bathroom, three days later, the same blueberries were still there. Lots of spiders and bugs in and out the room. The swimming pools were very cold. We could not use them. The food menu was very limited and overpriced as well, for the quality offered.. Workers are very nice, this is typical of the South of Chile. This hotel is not worth over 300 dollars to us, maybe 100?.Our next door neighbors started yelling and fighting at 11 PM, we could not rest. The bed was not comfy. The rest of the days we stayed in a different hotel. which was breathtaking and we paid one hundred dollars less per night.. We do not consider Antumalal a world class hotel, but maybe it was once. Advice: Research some more before paying the price. We will not go back..

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Director Comercial at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our hotel. As you can see from our Trip Advisor reviews, ratings and status, almost none of our clients share your opinion. The hotel is constantly being upgraded while striving to avoid alterning the original design. The cracks you mention are the product of a tectonic movement in late November and will be eliminated very soon. In regard to your comment about the fireplace, if you had mentioned this during your stay we would have recitified the problem immediately. We have not been made aware of any malfunctioning fireplace over the last few months. In addition, they are all subject to periodic revision. As for the blueberries in the bathroom, we agree this is unacceptable and as a result of your comment, our housekeeping staff have received some additional training focussing on attention to detail. Also, we have periodic fumigations throughout the hotel which eliminate any bugs and have not received any complaints about this recently either. I have checked the register of the swimming pool temperatures for the whole of the month of December and the interior pool never dropped below 26 degrees, apart from one day when the water was topped up and the temperature that day was 24 degrees.

We would like to invite you to return to the Antumalal as we are sure you will leave after a second visit with a totally different impression of the hotel. We are sure most readers of our Trip Advisor comments will agree that the majority of comments that are left here are excellent reflecting our consistent efforts to offer optimum personalised service in our unique setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Macero
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I completely loved our stay at Antumalal. We were only there 2 days but wished that it had been longer. After 24 hour traveling from California, arriving at Antumalal was the perfect antidote. Beautiful views, quaint and rustic surroundings in a truly "boutique" hotel (only 10-12 rooms). The price is also very reasonable. I would not stay anywhere else in Pucon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Director Comercial at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We agree that 2 days is not quite enough to fully immerse yourself in the beauty of the Antumalal, but it is certainly better than nothing!! Thank you for your lovely comment, and for mentioning that we are a true "boutique" hotel - we feel that our services and surroundings merit such a category title too. If you return to Pucón we know you will visit us again. Hopefully it won't be too far away in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We celebrated our wedding 10 years ago in Antumalal. This year, our 10th anniversary went with friends to celebrate again in the Antumalal.

Enchanted place. Great Spa, with warm pool, by a fireplace! The staff is extreamly friendly and the food is delicious. Having great pisco sours by the lake was the best. And every evening a nice surprise of chocolates in the room

We will always return.

Room Tip: First floor are my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Director Comercial at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure to have you here to celebrate your anniversary. We agree that our Spa is simply magnificent and those magical touches like the huge fireplace just add to the charm of our hotel. You used the word "enchanted" - thank you! It is certainly a perfect adjective to describe the Antumalal. We look forward to welcoming you back for another celebration in future years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skawina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Beautiful place with brilliant architecture, fantastic area around (lake, vulcano, views), great oportunities for trekking excursions. Wonderful food in restaurant and friendly staff. I would love to come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Director Comercial at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus lindas palabras! Ya saben donde estamos cuando quieran volver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had our doubts when we first entered this quaint 1950's style building, however after a few days, we were hooked. Beautifully landscaped and overlooking the lake, we had a room with a view. Interesting use of wood, and stone, angled windows and lots of wood burning fireplaces. Rooms are a bit tired looking, and bathroom small. Food was fresh and nicely presented. A bit of a hike to town but manageable. Definitely a unique experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank your for your comments. We agree that our views are spectacular and being just 2 km from Pucón is a benefit as we are still within walking distance but a long way from the hussle and bustle. The size of the bathrooms is unfortunately not something we can easily change as the building was erected 62 years ago, however, the rooms are constantly updated with new linens, lamps, TV screens. If you could let us know what you thought was tired about the room then please do let us know as it would help us to rectify and improve. Thanks in advance, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Antumalal is in a beautiful setting. Our room overlooked the lake and we could watch the sunrise and sunset each day. It is a little ways outside of Pucon but is a very easy walk to and from town. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully kept and we enjoyed hiking around the area each day. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with homemade granola every morning. The one night we ate at the hotel, the food was excellent. We had trout with quinwa and bass with rice and veggies. We hope to return again next year to enjoy the hotel and surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! Our gardeners do a really great job of keeping the gardens in such great shape, it's a full time job! It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Antumalal next year. Just let us know you have been before and we will leave a special treat in your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Antumalal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antumalal

Address: Km2 Camino Pucon-Villarrica, Pucon, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pucon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pucon
#4 Family Hotel in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Antumalal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a place to sleep, the Antumalal offers an unforgettable experience. Building began in 1945 fusing vanguard architectural forms with functionality and complete integration with the surroundings. To this day the unique character has been preserved, and all areas offer the amenities of a luxurious boutique hotel. Each of the 22 rooms is paneled with local wood and stone and all materials and furnishings are locally made. The panoramic windows look out over the private park and lake instigating a feeling of calm and total rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, T4B, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Antumalal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antumalal Hotel Pucon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antumalal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.