We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, beautiful scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antumalal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Antumalal to your Saves list
Hotel Antumalal
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km2 Camino Pucon-Villarrica, Pucon, Chile   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Pucon
Tucson AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Hotel Antumalal in May. It's an architecturally interesting building with simple, charming rooms and lovely open spaces. There are huge fireplaces in almost every common room and smaller versions in the guest rooms as well. The service was attentive but not doting; professional, kind and courteous staff made us feel comfortable and welcome. As vegetarian diners we found a number of delicious, well prepared options in the restaurant. The view is truly spectacular: Lake Villarica with mountains behind, fronted by beautiful gardens, even in the fall. We enjoyed the hot tub which is set against a stone wall with plants growing on it and we had massage twice in the spa. Both were very good. We walked into Pucón several days; about 20 -25 minutes on side paths next to the highway. Because we were at Hotel Antumalal in the off-season there were few guests and it was very quiet....perfect for rest and relaxation. We purchased a package which included massage, wine and a meal. I highly recommend this hotel as a relaxing and beautiful spot to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thanks for your review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, the massages, the views and our food. Please stay tuned to our website as we always have some great offer available for you at all time of the year. Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back here someday in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    32
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
119
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were here in early March for five days with our son and his Chilean wife. The hotel is lovely - so much wood that shines with the evening light on it. The views are spectacular and reminiscent of the English Lakes – but much bigger and with much better weather. We were upgraded to a suite so we had two fires for my husband to play with – he was in his element. The whole hotel was very comfortable and relaxing, with lovely staff. The town of Pucon is within walking distance although we only did this during the day. Two nights we ate in the restaurant and the food was fantastic , with another great view of the lake. The gardens are beautifully kept. This hotel is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Don't think you need to go out of your way to select a room because they will all have wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your great comments about our lovely hotel! of course we are biased, but we agree that setting and maintaining the individual fireplaces in our rooms is half the fun and definitely part of the Antumalal experience! Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back again one day, maybe in a different season so you can enjoy the views and flowers with a different colour backdrop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a great hotel in Pucon. Beautifully landscaped grounds, set away from the road and other properties make the Antumalal a secluded location ideal for hanging out and a great location central to the areas attractions. Over the three nights spent here everything was up to expectations. Louis Armstrong playing in the dinning room for breakfast at just the right volume to be noticed but not overpowering or distracting, a wonderful view of the lake are but a few of the memories I have from the Antumalal.

Room Tip: The suites offer more room but unless you plan on staying in the room during your stay the extra roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your words! I will pass them onto the gardeners who work tirelessly to landscape our park. We are so fortunate with our location. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, hopefully we will be able to welcome you back here again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was my first trip to Chile, but I have traveled to various places in North America, Europe, Asia and South America. The Antumalal is one-of-a-kind. The quintessential Bauhaus style blends the hotel into the mountainside and surrounds you with huge windows to take in the beautiful foliage, lake and volcanic mountain. The araucania wood surrounds you and gives a great natural setting. Beautiful fireplaces in the common spaces and rooms. I enjoyed breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is a wonderfully unhurried, peaceful feeling throughout the property. It is small enough to feel boutique-like and the service is very personalized, right down to the handwritten names on the hotel doors. It felt like stepping back into the 1950s - loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for you lovely words! That peaceful feeling is pretty unique. Just a short walk from Pucon but a million miles away in terms of space and time. We hope we can welcome you again here at the hotel again sometime, meanwhile, thanks for taking the time to share your experience here for others to read.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel is amazing. Expensive but if you can afford a get away here, do it. Easily the most beautiful place I've ever stayed. Be aware: it's about a mile from town, but it's easily walkable or just as easy to find an inexpensive taxi back and forth. And that distance gives it the wonderful peaceful feel that I so enjoyed about the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thanks for your comments! That peaceful feeling is often quoted by our guests, we work hard to keep it that way! Of course, our stunning location helps us an awful lot with that too! We hope to welcome you back here one day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Antumalal, its incredible location overlooking Lake Villarica close to Pucon and the character and beauty of the setting and hotel architecture, are truly fantastic. The hotel was built in mid-century modern style in 1950 and is a true gem - akin to similar style hotels in Palm Springs but with a view that is unparalleled. The rooms have authentic often original furnishings, fireplaces, great wood accents and the most beautiful views of the lake and Pucon. Waking up to that view is worth every dollar of the room cost.

The hotel isn't inexpensive - especially given the low value of the US Dollar in Chile right now and the higher room rates charged in Pucon's prime summer season, however I still think it's worth the extra money. Frankly, some of the room and hotel amenities could be improved and brought up to 2012 standards, especially for a hotel of this price and standing (new bigger TV, updated beds and bathrooms would be nice), but nonetheless, I cannot recommend this hotel any more highly.

The area, especially in summer, is a treasure. Some of the most beautiful scenery I've seen anywhere in the world, great outdoor activities (we went hiking, white water rafting and horseback riding) and Pucon is a charming town, with great restaurants, plenty of life and fun people. Add to that the fact that the Villarica Volcano looms over the town - truly awe inspiring - and you cannot beat it.

We'll definitely plan on staying at the Antumalal again. There is no place like it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty much the same with huge glass windows overlooking the lake so you cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! You are right, we are so lucky with the views here. I don't think we have even one window through which you cannot see the lake. We asked around among guests before we bought the TVs that are currently in the rooms, and the general consensus was that that size was ideal to not take away from the panoramic view through the window. In our next refurbishment we will discuss your comment further.

Thanks again for taking the time to write the review and I sincerely hope that one day you do return to stay with us again. The volcano summit peeping through the clouds, the mist hanging over the forests, the changing colours of the trees and our roaring fireplaces inside make it the best winter destination in town too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

El Antumalal exceeded all our already high expectations. I traveled there for my honeymoon and from the pick up at the Temuco airport until our drop off there, we enjoyed some of the best days of our lives.
The hotel is in a class of its own: peace and quiet, with great decor, amazing views and flawless service. The restaurant is excelent - by far the best in the region - and the staff couldn't be more thoghtful and forthcoming. We rented the hotel car to travel around and relied on them for tips on what to see and where to go.
We loved it and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antumaco, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Antumalal, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Wonderful! Thank you! A lovely accolade for our hotel. We are happy to have provided the perfect service for your honeymoon. It is much appreciated when we hear back from our guests and they tell us that we have managed to offer exactly what we say we will! We hope to welcome you back one day, maybe with family in tow.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Antumalal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antumalal

Address: Km2 Camino Pucon-Villarrica, Pucon, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pucon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pucon
#4 Family Hotel in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Antumalal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a place to sleep, the Antumalal offers an unforgettable experience. Building began in 1945 fusing vanguard architectural forms with functionality and complete integration with the surroundings. To this day the unique character has been preserved, and all areas offer the amenities of a luxurious boutique hotel. Each of the 22 rooms is paneled with local wood and stone and all materials and furnishings are locally made. The panoramic windows look out over the private park and lake instigating a feeling of calm and total rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Antumalal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antumalal Hotel Pucon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antumalal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.