We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B to your Saves list
Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Calle Pedro de Valdivia 36, Pucon 4920561, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 46 Pucon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“super place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Frontera Pucon. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The view of the volcano from my room was spectacular! The best part of my stay was the friendly, inviting atmosphere among the owners and guests. I had a super time there! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
77
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at Frontera Pucon for 2nights in mid May. I found the previous reviews to be very helpful. The Hostel was very clean, comfortable, and cozy. Isabela and Leo were great hosts. Even though I spoke Spanish, Isabela was still able to accommodate my english when there was a breakdown in my Spanish. When I booked the room, it stated that it had a view of the volcano...I didnt expect that to be the case when I arrived...however I was more than pleasantly surprised...I had an amazing view of the volcano right out the sliding glass doors of my bedroom! The only minor issues I had with my stay was one of the drawers in the closet didnt work, and the windows would steam up from the shower...but again minor issues. The location was also great, only about 2 or 3 blocks from downtown area and the beach. I thought the price was great...the room was very spacious. Overall the stay was awesome and I wish I had booked more time in Pucon overall. If I go back to Pucon I would only want to stay at Frontera Pucon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Luís, Maranhao, Brazil
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My stay at Frontera Pucón Hostel was wonderful. A new concept of hosting, where you have the 5-star service in a family atmosphere, friendly and comfortable. The view of the volcano Vilarrica is fabulous. The couple Isabela and Leo are very friendly and make us very comfortable.

Room Tip: I recommend both: the bedroom overlooking the garden or the view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FronteraPucon, Proprietário at Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi, Claudio!
It was very good to have you all here, the good talk and the experiences we shared.
It would be a pleasure to receive you again!
Say hi to the girls! Isa & Leo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Frontera Pucon surely is the best Hostel I've ever stayed.
The hostel is very well equipped with great rooms and impeccable structure. Certainly the cleanest Hostel I've ever stayed.
The location is excellent, very close to the lake and the city's main avenue.

The most important is the attention od owners (Isa and Leo) have with the guests, from planning the trip to the tips always valuable.
We are planning a return and I hope that next time happen the famous barbecue

recommended

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking the Volcano..The best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FronteraPucon, Proprietário at Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi, Murillo.
Thanks for all the good things you said about us! We are waiting for you, and for sure the barbecue will have good food, good drink... And the good music will be up to you!
Best wishes, Isa & Leo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Hostel is conveniently located near the main streets and the beach. However, this also means that at night you hear a lot of the noise of the people partying. In addition, the walls are quite thin so you also hear your neighbors showering. Better not plan to sleep early.

Room was basic and clean with a wonderful view on the volcano.

Breakfast is basic and only from 9am which might be convenient if you just come back from a night partying, but less so if you want to head for the national parks and want to avoid the midday heat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FronteraPucon, Owner at Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

There are some things that we would like to explain to you:
We are located in the most reserved and quiet part of the city , but the time you chose to visit the city was precisely high season and we can’t limit the noise that people might do on the street, outside our area of activity.

About the walls, here in Chile there are strict rules of construction that must be followed, so the walls are made of a specific material in case of earthquakes, and also for fire. Unfortunately, this material is thin, which allows the sound, when strong, to pass from one room to another. In this case, we depend on the understanding of the people to be more quiet at night or early in the morning, but unfortunately we can’t control this type of behavior.

Our breakfast is served at 9AM and that is standard in the cities of the south of Chile, as nothing is open early around here. All the establishments work that way, including the 5 star hotels. If the guests want, they can use our kitchen to make their own breakfast.

We can not forget that the customs here are different from Europe and maybe you should consider staying in a hotel, since a hostel, no matter how good it is, will always have a very different character and services than a hotel.

Regards, Leo and Isa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This nice B&B was chosen due to the extremely expensive options around Pucon area. This does not mean that it is an affordable option, it is just not absurdly expensive as hotels in town. The B&B is nicely run by a Brazilian couple and most of the guests are Brazilian as well.
There is a nice kitchen that you can use and also a backyard if you get good weather. The possibility of cooking helps ease the cost of your trip as Chile is clearly the most expensive destination in South America nowadays. It beats all its neighbors being two to three times more expensive than Brazil or Argentina.
A few tips for getting around and choosing what to do. Most of the attractions near Pucon request that you travel in dirt roads, so if you can, rent a 4 wheel drive. If it is snowing, dont even think about not doing so. Another tip is how long you should stay: 3 days is enough. You will be able to visit the volcano, the thermal baths, waterfalls and the city.
Also, you will find good dining options and you can do everything on foot from the B&B. The owners will give you a really good map once you arrive.
If you dont mind stairs, stay in the second floor where the standard rooms are. The luxury first floor room is quite nice, with a hot tub and lots of space, but you will hear everything other guests are doing. I repeat: everything!
Lastly, there is a nice laundry just two blocks away, B&B is just one block away from the local beach and the lake.
One not to be missed attraction: swim in the "Playa Blanca". It is a must.
One thing to regret: the lake near the border to Argentina is infested by horse flies. It is a nightmare. You will find horse flies everywhere, so be aware. If you have a problem with that, you might consider going somewhere else... Apart from that, this is a great traveling option in Chile.

Room Tip: The first floor room is not as silent as one could expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FronteraPucon, Owner at Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks for your review Antônio, but I have to disagree on some issues.

1 - Chile is not even remotely two or three times more expensive than Brazil or Argentina. It really is much more expensive than Peru and Bolivia for example, but the cost of living in Brazil is much more expensive than here. The only item that is more expensive in Chile, is food. Besides that, everything is cheaper than Brazil.
2 - You don't need a 4x4 to drive on local roads, even in the winter you don't need it, because in snowy roads you can drive passenger cars with use of “cadenas”, tire chains.
3 - Three days may just be enough for someone who, like you, only stayed three days.However, if you had stayed longer, you would know that there are many more places to see and things to do. In three days, is just enough to scratch the surface.
4 - About the flies on the border (small beetles), it is 70 km away from here. But even so, I go to this place at least once a week, and only on very hot days will you ever find this insect there.

So, while I respect your opinion, I also understand your viewpoint is quite limited because it is based on personal experience and does not reflect reality, which can induce error when other travelers are planning their trips.

About your comment on the noise you hear in the room; it is the only bedroom downstairs, and it is close to the living room; because of that, we are always concerned about keeping noise to a minimum. We keep the double doors at the entrance closed so the sound does not bother people at night, and also early in the morning. But because we are a hostel, some noise of people passing through during waking hours is completely normal.

Regards, Leo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hosts are really interesting, cordial and friendly people. They are great hosts. The rooms are clean and nice. Breakfast is well thought out and enjoyable. WiFi is accessible and there is a computer to use in the common area as well. There is a large kitchen were you can prepare meals and store your own food as well. Frontera is very close to the lakefront for walks and is just a few blocks from the downtown area in Pucon. For animal lovers, there are a couple of house cats that are around if you need some cat company (or miss your own cats).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FronteraPucon, Owner at Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi, thank you for your review and kind words, we are very glad you enjoyed staying with us! Next time you have to spend more time and get to know the city better and its surroundings. The cats are sending hugs ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B

Address: Calle Pedro de Valdivia 36, Pucon 4920561, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Brazilian couple who, after going through many partsof South America (many of them on a motorcycle), chose Pucónto live. And as travelers, we know that the better of staying ina hostel is the integration of all people, the freedom, the relaxed atmosphere.But we should not give up the comfort because of that! With thisin mind, we create a place that combines the qualities of a hotel with the best environment that a hostel can offer.We are waiting for you with the best tips about the city! In Pucón, come to Frontera Pucón Hostel B&B and feel like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frontera Pucon Hostel B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.