We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayaker country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pucon Kayak Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pucon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pucon Kayak Hostel
Save
You added Pucon Kayak Hostel to your Saves list
KM 10 Camino a Caburgua, Pucon 00000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Kayaker country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a cool little property and is great for kayakers as it is right on the Trancura river. Kayak selection is pretty good, but one or two of the boats we reserved were rented out to others. The shared dining/social Quincho is a very cool outdoor space to get together.
We had trouble sleeping on the thin foam 'matresses' in the wagons (on plywood) and in the dorms (on wood slats). We were unable to get a good nights sleep and it hurt the body (which kinda sucked after a hard days kayak) The showers went from scalding to freezing, back and forth. The ladies working there were very helpful and did a great job of cooking and cleaning etc. (there is no swimming pool, but the fitness centre is a selection of great rivers!) The area felt safe but some food and beer went missing from the fridges.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnieKayaker, Owner at Pucon Kayak Hostel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for the review. The Gypsy Wagons are small. Imagine a horse drawn "Gypsy Wagon" like a wooden cart Gypsy Wagon. If you come from a tent then it's a nice upgrade to sleep in a rain safe place with thin mattress and lamp. Although, if you come from a hotel setting the G Wagons are not OK for you. Pucon Kayak Hostel gets both tenters and hotel users. Some younger travelers prefer the G Wagons. While more mature travelers prefer to pay a bit extra for better beds.
Since your departure we have built three outdoor showers that are a favorite of most guests. The gas powered califonts (showers) in Chile are a challenge. Rick's construction team fixed some showers with a simple adjustment of the gas to water output setting. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. It was a pleasure to host you and see your group enjoying themselves around the quincho fire.
Keep Kayaking.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I had an excellent experience at Pucon Kayak Hostel as a beginning kayaker wanting to take a few days to enjoy the area and take some lessons. The property is casual and well kept with easy camping that includes showers and a unique quincho built by a local wood worker for cooking and relaxing.

I was a bit intimidated at first by the talented kayakers staying at the hostel enjoying the Pucon advanced white water, but the beginning lessons were an excellent introduction to kayaking basics including paddle techniques, and kayak rolls all on beautiful lake Caburgua. The instructor even followed up after my stay with some information on kayaking in my home town. The whole experience was an excellent value at a better than fair price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnieKayaker, Owner at Pucon Kayak Hostel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Tim,
It is always a pleasure to introduce first time kayakers to kayaking. It's such a fun and accessible activity for everyone. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and so glad you enjoyed the ambiance of Pucon Kayak Hostel.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was my first trip to Chile and I had a great time. The hostel has a great set up on the Rio trancurra. The room I stayed in was clean and comfy. I was able to meet kayakers from 7 different countries staying at the hostel. The center piece of the property was the Quincho. Great place to hang out and created a very casual atmosphere. I would recommend the meal plan as well because I always had a delicious, hearty meal when I came back from the Rio.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnieKayaker, Owner at Pucon Kayak Hostel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Tom,
It was great to have another kayaker from Colorado join us. Thanks for mentioning the meals in the quincho. We're super proud of Lorena's fresh bread and hot meals after the daily adventures.
Hope to see you back in the near future.
Keep Kayaking.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucon, Chile
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Having never kayaked before, we chose this hostel based on it's trip advisor reviews and we are so pleased we did. Pucon Kayak Hostel is in a stunning location in shady forest next to the river. Camping spots are secluded yet close to the very clean amenities and the unusual and beautifully designed communal areas set this hostel apart from others we have stayed in. The excellent value meal plan meant we had two very filling, delicious hot meals every day for only $5000 each.

David goes out of his way to organise non-kayaking trips and has all the useful contacts you could need. The waterfall walk off the tourist trail was simply breathtaking.

When we did decide to try kayaking, David and his team welcomed us into an existing group and ensured we felt comfortable in a very unfamiliar environment, even taking us to hot springs to practise rolling on a cold and wet day!

On our last night, we stayed in one of the spacious domes and loved looking up at the stars from the big, clean double bed.

Thanks for an amazing stay...we hope to return once we have perfected our roll!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnieKayaker, Owner at Pucon Kayak Hostel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Sam and Alexandra,
Thank you for sharing your experience and even recommending a friend to the hostel later. It was super fun to kayak and Standup Paddle Board with you on the Lago Tinquilco and Rio Tolten. Glad you enjoyed trying the whitewater kayak roll.
We are grateful for your recommendation and hope to see you return.
Keep Kayaking.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Spent the holidays at the PKH and it was a trip of a lifetime. The accommodations and staff were outstanding. Situated on The Trancura river and an easy bus ride to town. All your dining is done on site in the quincho where you cook yourself or have your meals provided by the staff for a very modest price. It is the social center of the hostel where the days adventures are shared, games are played, and new friendships are formed. I went there chasing after my kayaking daughter. I saw some spectacular waterfalls and rivers. It was a great bonding experience for us. But me, I am a fly fisherman. With very little knowledge of the area, I experienced some of the finest fishing ever. The trout are ripe and healthy. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnieKayaker, Owner at Pucon Kayak Hostel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Richard,
It was great to have a fisherman at the hostel. I especially liked seeing how excited you were when you came up to the hostel with a line of trout. Then cooked them for dinner.
Keep Fishing.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed there for 10 days in Dec 2012. Facilities are nice and clean. Food was good. Great location for kayaking the rivers around Pucon and nearby. Staff was friendly. Short bus ride to town, and it stops right out front. Boat rentals were in great shape. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnieKayaker, Owner at Pucon Kayak Hostel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you Trevor for the review. Of course, we value your word of mouth and hope to host you again. David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at PKH for a week in February 2012 --- and it was an awesome experience! The location was ideal for me and my group, for many reasons, but uppermost is its close proximity to so many world class whitewater rivers, and its just a few short miles to Pucon, a fantastic little town with tons of restaurants, shops, and amazing views of Villarica volcano and lake. The PKH accommodations were ideal for our group of 7; however, it has multiple offerings for individuals, couples, and both small and large groups. Every evening we ate, drank, and hung out in the quincho (spelling?), the beautifully designed main area housing the kitchen, dining, and fireplace. The proprietor, David Hughes, will work with you and your group to ensure that your needs are met (cooking, transportation, etc.). Everyone in our group was TOTALLY pleased with PKH, its setup, and its laid back atmosphere....and we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnieKayaker, Owner at Pucon Kayak Hostel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks Bobby for the testimony. It was great to have your group for the Advanced creek tour of Pucon rivers. Always a pleasure to lead groups down waterfalls and to the favorite spots.
Hope to see you and friends in the quincho again.
Keep Kayaking.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pucon Kayak Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pucon Kayak Hostel

Address: KM 10 Camino a Caburgua, Pucon 00000, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Never Kayaked? That's OKay as there are plenty of great adventures in the area. We can guide you locally and recommend you to reputable companies. And you'll be relaxing next to the Rio Trancura. PKH gives guests the options of saving money by cooking their own meals or being a part of an economical meal plan. Like no other place the Quincho brings guests together at the centerpiece fire. You'll eat and share your adventure stories around the fire. You are invited to the warm hospitality of Pucon Kayak Hostel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pucon Kayak Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.