We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huerquehue National Park

Huerquehue National Park
S-975, Pucon, Chile
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Attractions in Pucon
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

W had fun hiking. It's a beautiful park. We made the mistake if going the too late in the day to get in the full lakes hike, but that apparently is the most beautiful. We really I enjoyed the waterfalls and hiking in the mountains. A striking view of the volcan Villarica.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    74
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a very nice NP for either a multi day hike or just a day hike. The trail is well marked and well maintained. Scenery is diverse, with beautiful forest, look outs, waterfalls and lakes to look at.We went for a day hike (Los Lagos trail) and then had dinner at the Refugio Tinqcuilo (good as well) which is located just before you exit the NP again. This made for a really nice day. Tip: don't stay at the Conaf campsite at the entrance, which is not that nice. There is a private run campsite a couple minutes before the park entrance, down a steep drive way. Beautiful grassy sites right on the lake, one of the most peaceful places we have seen.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirmington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This walk in Huerquehue national park was pretty strenuous!! It was mostly uphill but worth the views at the top!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“4 day return hike to Camping Ecological”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We did this as our final hike in South America so we wanted something straight forward. This walk was beautiful and the termas at Camping Ecological were awesome.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uruguay
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Los Lagos Trail at Huerquehue National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had gone to Pucon with the objective of hiking at Huerquehue, but prior to that I climbed the Villarrica Volcano, so I must say I had little or no energy left to climb anything else, even the hostel stairs. Nevertheless, I set off to hike some of Huerquehue 4 days after beginning to recover from the volcano experience. It was a very nice choice. I was staying downtown Pucon, only 3 blocks away from the bus stations (there are many, all more or less a few meters or blocks from one another) and some days earlier I had found out which of the bus companies would take me to the entrance of the National Park. These are medium size buses, not very large, so if the bus departed at 8.30, (every morning), one has to be at the station around 8 am to secure a seat. The ride is about 45 mins to an hour long, and you buy the ticket from the driver right on the bus. You can buy one way or round trip, which is advisable. The ride is nice, and scenic. If you sit on the right side of the bus facing the driver, then you will have very nice views of the Villarrica Volcano for photo taking. But then again, if you sit on the left side of the bus, once you start climbing up the winding road that'll take you to the park entrance, you also have majestic views of the volcano and surrounding landscape. The bus climbs up this dirt road for a while, winding road. You get to the park gate and the rangers require you register and pay an entry fee, which if I remember correctly was not more than 10 USD. Foreigners pay a little more than locals. Once registered, they give you a series of rules to abide by, and a map. So off you go on your walk. You choose which trail to take. At first, right after the gate, there are some camping grounds which are not part of the park, and after a while the climbing starts. And you climb and climb on very well marked trail (avoid rainy days or days right after rain as it can be very muddy and not fun to go up or come down!). The Lagos (lakes) trail is about 7.7 kms and you feel every bit of it. Or maybe because my legs and body was aching from the volcano adventure. It was very enjoyable and once you re enter the park (this time it is the official grounds), the ranger up there checks your ticket and origin country and off you go into the rest of the trail. It is quite a stretch to get to the first ranger control post (and entrance to the park). There are bathrooms up there too. Soon before arriving to the first of the lakes, there is a 400 meter deviation to some waterfalls, very nice. this is all downhill up to the waterfalls, but then you have to take the road back to join the main trail again to continue on to the lakes. Vegetation is abundant and it is absolutely lovely. When the first rays of sun start reaching the woods, the salamanders (tiny ones) come out to warm up their bodies, so you see a lot of them on fallen tree trunks and the trail itself. If you go in February, peak season, like I did, you will find a lot of people in the trails, some even on their cell phones and some noisy children or adults yapping the entire way up the trail. I stayed back for a while to let them get ahead, cause why would I climb all that to see that beauty and have to hear someone on a cell phone? ay ay, ay... Anyway, the lakes are lovely and the woods and vegetation too....once you get to the first lake, the trail to the other two next to it is not bad at all. If you pay attention you will see lots of extremely fast hummingbirds and a wood peckers as well. On the trail there are two viewing points, breathtaking ones for sure, of the surrounding green mountains, a blue lake and the volcano in the background. I only visited 3 of the lakes in that trail, and started heading back. The bus picks up people at 2.10, 5.10 and 7.10 pm. I had missed the 2.10 stop, so I was headed for the 5.10 one and arrived to the main gate in good time to catch that bus. However, beware. The order of arrival is not respected, and regardless of when people reach the gate, they all want to get on the bus first. And remember it is a medium sized bus, with not that many seats. And the ride is a bit long and winding roads, to have to cling on to the bar and travel standing up..... One tip: because that is the end of the road for the bus, it will approach the gate area and turn around and start reversing back into place where it'll stop for you to board it. Some people think that when it stops the first time, to start reversing, that is when they can go onboard, only to find out that the bus won't open its doors until it is reversed back fully into position.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huerquehue National Park also viewed

Pucon, Araucania Region
Pucon, Araucania Region
 
Pucon, Araucania Region
Pucon, Araucania Region
 

Been to Huerquehue National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huerquehue National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.