We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak; good atmos and lovely garden at the back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maga

La Maga
Geronimo de Alderete 276, Pucon 4920555, Chile
+56 (45) 244-4277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 92 Restaurants in Pucon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great steak; good atmos and lovely garden at the back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Really good venue - best food we had in town and fairly priced. Great meat, good wine list. We would recommend a table in the garden to the rear if you get the choice (or swing by in the afternoon and book one).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    126
    33
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The food here is amazing....huge portions and outstanding quality. If you loved grilled meat this place is the BEST. We were really amazed at how great the food here is---we all wished we could franchise this restaurant and bring it home with us! Great service, excellent food. Must eat here if you're in Pucon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best steaks in Pucon but at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have eaten in many of the places in Pucon that specialize in steaks (most include Argentina or Uruguay) in the name, but La Maga is still the best. We ordered "bifes chorizos" and they were perfectly cooked according to the taste of every one. Really really good but quite expensive. I would say a little too expensive. A dinner for 2 could go easily over us$100 and this is not a fancy restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Special Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been traveling around Chile for three weeks with another couple. Lastb night was our last together and we wanted it to be special. We ate at La Maga and it was. First, the place is very large - don't be fooled by the few tables out front - and very attractive. A great deal of varity as to seating. Our waiter was great - catered to our mess Spanish - and very responsive. And the food and wine was wonderful and fairly priced. My husband and I had steak (but of course) and our friends had salmon and a multitude of side dishes. All varied, creative and tasty. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Only wish - that we had not waited until our last night to enjoy this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Carne, great back garden, huge portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Every time we walked by this place, it was crowded, so we tried it on our final night in Pucon, after we climbed Volcan Villarica(tough climb...wear sunblock, SPF lipbalm and a hat!). We order the Carne for 2 people and it is enough food for 8 people. Don't order this unless you are a party of 8. Order individual entrees. The meat quality was fantastic and cooked perfectly. The sides were great. Eat inside on a cold day or in the back garden by the fire put on a warm evening.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maga also viewed

Pucon, Araucania Region
 
Pucon, Araucania Region
Pucon, Araucania Region
 

Been to La Maga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.