We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners threatened to call the police....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Donde German Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Donde German Hostel to your Saves list
Donde German Hostel
Las Rosas 590, Pucon, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Owners threatened to call the police....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We decided to undertake a trek of the nearby Villarricia volcano and booked it through the hostel. The price they charged was 45,000 pesos and while we could have got it for 30,000 / 35,000 in the town we decided to go through the hostel as we thought the higher price would mean better service. Boy were we wrong!

There was no information given on the hike, there was a brochure in the hostel with a few photos given but we were told nothing of the conditions or how difficult the climb would be. I also asked specific questions about whether I would be able for it or not physically as I had just recovered from a bout of the flu. I was told that it would be no problem, it was not a difficult climb. There was no briefing as to anyone´s fitness or health.

We were told the ascent would take about 6 hours. From about 45 minutes into the climb, it was necessary to put on our crampons (earlier than we expected). Walking and then climbing on ice is very different to walking on snow, it is much more difficult and dangerous. The ice was very hard and it was getting increasingly difficult to climb. We continued, then about 2000 metres in to the climb, the volcano is 2800 metres in height, the wind really picked up. No felt in the group felt safe. A couple of seconds later my partner slipped and begain sliding down the mountain, it was terryifing, a couple of seconds after that a dutch girl in the party slipped and also began sliding down the mountain. All the while the rest of the group had to cling onto the ice with our pickaxes as the wind continued to blow stronger.

Thankfully my partner stopped about 200 metres from where he had fallen, however the other girl had continued to slide down the mountain, perhaps another 500 metres. Neither of them were serious injured, a few bruises and a sore ankle, the guide however twisted his knee and broke a couple of fingers, this happened as he dived on top of the dutch girl as she was falling in an effort to protect her.

All in all, it was a very frightening experience. Maybe we were unlucky, but this was winter time and i think it is more dangerous than any other time of the year. Everyone thought it was too dangerous especially when no one had prior experience. When it came to paying, the owners threatened to call the police if we did not pay full price. They got really aggressive. We all thought that a discount would be fair as people could have been seriously injured. In addition, we spent only a half day on the mountain. The owners didnt care, were unsympathetic and just wanted our money.

Firstly, do not do the trek during the winter months. Secondly, do not do it with this hostel. We have since found out from Hostel Casa Roja, Santiago, that a lot of accidents happen on that volcano.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    49
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We arrived at Donde German via our rent a car. I had emailed the hostel before arriving and they were awaiting our arrival with free secured parking. The hostel is brand new, and are building another closer to the centre of town. The lodge is huge, and has a great communal kitchen and common area. The hostel is super well organized, obviously designed from the bottom up to cater the hostel clientele.

We stayed in a double room in a building just next door. Also brand new, they were kind of like chalets, the mattress was super comfortable with fluffy towels and bedding. There was a new TV in the room and wifi access (could be bumped up a little as the connection wasn't great).

We went on the Volcano tour with the company that is owned by Donde German's owner. It's great because you get all your equipment fitted out the night before and all you have to do is wake up and hop in the mini van. On the return they have beers and snack waiting for the celebration.

The hostel is a little walk from town, 10 minutes or so. But the view from our cabin window was the Volcano, without any other obstructions in the way. Amazing! Pucon is great because everything is open late, and the attitude of everyone in town is great. We had a great time and will definately be back!

Only downside were the walls were a little thin, so we got to hear some phone conversations next door... but just a small complaint for such a wonderful property. This is almost not a hostel, I would recommend this place for anyone looking for a bed in Pucon, not just backpackers.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

Donde German is a great hostel, bordering on hotel type service and cleanliness. Our twin room was spacious, comfortable beds,ensuite had all you needed.The room was cleaned each day,towels changed and our beds dressed.The main hostel area had an average sized kitchen,which was always clean.The tv room was more like something you would find in your own house, really nice,very well decorated also. The owners are very nice, always friendly[and they speak english] as are the cleaners. The garden is very well kept,beautiful views and plenty of garden furniture, plus they have two of the cutest puppys who wander about all day. The only thing I would change is the fact that food and drinks are out of bounds in the tv area which I can understand why but not all travellers/backpackers are messy. Other than that we had a great time, we did the hike to the volcano through the hostel and that was great but really tough. Also I dont understand why some people rate the location as bad,it states on the hostel site that its between 8-10mins walk to the centre,its actually less, but in fairness whats a 10 minute walk in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

I love this hostel, even though we were there during Pucon winter. The weather was not as pleasant, cold with rain and wind. Yet, the room is really comfortable: carpeted, with heater, beds are clean and soft. We like cooking in the kitchen too, clean and tidy.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — cleaniness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Donde German Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donde German Hostel

Address: Las Rosas 590, Pucon, Chile
Location: Chile > Araucania Region > Pucon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Pucon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Donde German Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donde German Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.