We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ecole!

ecole!
General Basilio Urrutia, Pucon, Chile
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 69 restaurants in Pucon
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
New Orleans
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was a one of the best restaurants we ate at in Chile. Granted Chile is NOT known for its good food. This place was wonderful. No hotdogs anywhere! Vegetarian Lasagna and crusty bread. YUM! Plus a very reasonably priced wine menu. I wish there was a similar restaurant in every town in Chile.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    59
    40
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ugh! Don't go for breakfast!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

First of all...toast was rock hard!(more on rocks later..) Jam was decent, no butter, but almost broke a tooth on the whole wheat toast. Eggs undercooked, after we asked for them to be cooked more. Prices were comparable to other higher end restaurants, but food was not up to par. Breakfast with eggs and beans (had a rock in it! almost chipped another tooth). Juice was overpriced for the size ($2000 peso). However, cake was good. We left tip, but felt like we shouldn't have....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast as well as vegetarian dishes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

All their food is fresh, flavorful and healthy! I had a wonderful vegetable omelet with onions and peppers which was accompanied by a huge serving of delicious pan fried potatoes, toasted pan integral (whole grain bread), and jam. Sprinkle the omelet and potatoes with merken if you want to add a little zip. On another visit I had the vegetable soup -- a huge bowl filled with all kinds of vegetables in a light savory broth and accompanied by the same wonderful bread.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS vegetarian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very filling, affordable. I had the black bean burito dish...mmmm Lovely staff at the hostel, very cute dining room that you can lose hours in.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Came here at the recommendation of 2 American boys who were backpacking around Chile. They said the food was delicious and they were right. It started with homemade bread, salsa and some sort of yogurt spread which was very tasty. Thereafter, we had gnocchi in tomato sauce, a burrito with stir fry vegetables, black beans and avocado, and, a large serving of quinoa. Everything was so fresh and prepared just right. None of the vegetables were overcooked. The portions were ample but not too much so that we could not finish them. The ambiance was warm and welcoming. This is a great restaurant at a great price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ecole! also viewed

Pucon, Araucania Region
Pucon, Araucania Region
 

Been to ecole!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ecole!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.