We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful. Simply beautiful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elun to your Saves list
Hotel Elun
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino a Punta Larga Km 0.2, Frutillar, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Frutillar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful. Simply beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We were traveling through the area, dropped into Frutillar Baja and fell in love. It's a beautiful little town next to a lake which is frequently compared to Lake Geneva for its beauty. IT was rainy and dreary when we were here but we quickly decided we wanted to stay the night here.

After finding a restaurant with WiFi, we hit TripAdvisor for some ideas on where to stay. This place was well-recommend. And well it should be!

The rooms were reasonably sized (we're Americans, so we're used to larger) and bright with light wood used throughout. The bathrooms were clean and sufficient. The bed was smaller than we would've preferred (double, not queen) but comfortable. Everything was clean, neat, quiet and relaxed.

It has comfortable little alcoves off the hallways with comfortable seats and interesting picture books.

I had no trouble using the WiFi, even in my room.

Everyone raves about the view of the lake and the volcano. We couldn't see the volcano because it was rainy, but the view of the lake and the grounds, visible from our room and the common areas, is quite impressive.

I spent part of the evening relaxing in the large living room area, reading. I couldn't ask for a more relaxing, enjoyable place to do that.

If we're ever in Frutillar, again, we will be staying here. Having been here, there's no reason to look anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
43
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I have to say the hotel location is magnificent, especially on clear days looking at the volcano. I was there on october so it wasn't busy at all. We got an awesome room, really warm and cozy. The size wasn't that big, but it was sufficient. It is not that far from frutillar, But I recomend a car to optimize your trip as there are many feats in the area within a 1-2 hour drive.

Room Tip: Try the lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Beautiful hotel ! Amazing suite! Awesome views of the lake & Osorno Volcano. There is an outdoor "huge" and very complete jacuzzi which you can reserve for an hour of private use, amidst flowers and pine trees, onlooking the lake and the mountains. Many cute details for St Valentine. We were "on the move", so we just stayed here for this special night, but we WILL surely be back for a longer stay in the future. Frutillar is charming, and so is Elun.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed two nights at Hotel Elun. The room was confortable, nice bed, clean and the best of all there was the magnificent view to Volcán Osorno. Breakfast was really wood (home made marmelade). Free wi-fi in the lobby, the lounge and the restaurant. Staff friendly. Good value for money. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO ONTARIO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

This is an excellent hotel with a beautiful lakeview setting. The views towards the lake and Osorno volcano are excellent from all the rooms.There is an attractive lobby and outdoor patio. The food is excellent with homemade breakfasts including freshly squeezed juices, homemade bread and jams,fresh fruit,cereals and cakes. The rooms are of a fair size with nice bathrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is a good choice for those visiting Chile's Lake District. This was my third visit and I will return.Frutillar has a large theatre and concert hall by the lake and this hotel is a short walk from there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We stayed here the week before Christmas 2009, having chosen it because of the great reviews on Tripadvisor. Our previous trip to Frutillar had been the week after Christmas 12 years before when the town was buzzing. As it turned out, the town and hotel were very quiet. We were the only people staying there for a couple of nights. The hotel is beautiful and very calm. It is the perfect place to curl up with a book, play some boardgames or just stare out of the window at the lake. The rooms are small and one was extremely hot and had to be changed, but the communal spaces are lovely. The hotel does have a restaurant that is supposed to be open 7 nights a week. When we were there they closed it two nights running without telling us in advance the first time. The first night they rustled up some sandwiches but the second night they gave us warning and we went into town. They did open it up for us on our final night. The staff were very friendly and helpful (apart from closing the restaurant without warning on the one night).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

My husband, my father, and I stayed at the Hotel Elun in February, toward the end of the summer season. The hotel is on the edge of town, but still plenty close enough to the center of town. The hotel itself is surrounded by some nice gardens. The place was pretty quiet during our stay as the summer season was winding down.

Inside, the place is well kept-up, clean, and bright. The staff is very friendly although I think the front desk staff may be the only ones that speak English well (I speak Spanish). The rooms were clean and bright. Pretty much identical. No complaints about the bed or bedding. My husband did note that the bathroom cleaner had left a bit of a strong scent behind; however, I didn't really notice it.

All the rooms have a great view of the lake, the volcano, and the garden behind the hotel. We stood at the window quite a while on arrival watching a band of swallows hunt over the garden.

We did have onces (afternoon tea) and breakfast at the hotel. The waiter was so very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was standard Chilean fare with coffee (brewed, not Nescafe), fresh juices, kuchen (a fruit pie), and bread and cheeses. While any American should feel pretty at home in this hotel, please don't go and complain that there wasn't a substantial "American" breakfast (a complaint I saw often about different hotels while researching this trip). There is plenty to eat, and you are being offered a solid breakfast by local standards.

Wifi was free or cheap but really only usable in the common area.

Hotel Elun was a great choice for us. Serene, comfortable, and well-kept. Good value as well. We stayed at some very high end hotels during this trip but this cozy little place is where my husband wishes we'd stayed a few more days.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elun

Address: Camino a Punta Larga Km 0.2, Frutillar, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Frutillar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Frutillar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elun 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elun is a new and exclusive boutique hotel located at the shores of Llanquihue Lake in the german-style town of Frutillar. Each of the 14 rooms has an amazing panoramic view of the lake and volcanoes. The hotel, surrounded by native vegetation and gardens, is located in the most beautiful and quite place at the center of the Llanquihue province, allowing easy and direct access to a variety the most interesting places in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Elun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elun Hotel Frutillar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.