We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genial” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meli

Meli
Patagonia Virgin Frutillar | Camino Punta Larga 1890, Frutillar 0001, Chile
+56 6522420766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Frutillar
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Café, Bistro, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Emporio & Restaurant PATAGONIA Chile
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Genial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great food and the attention was incredible. Ask for the salmon, it was awesome!!! The place is great, its a totally go!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frutillar, Manager at Meli, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Great to here your opinion, we hope to see you back soon.MELI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    8
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Varas, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best ceviche ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

After sometime under renovation yesterday the Meli restaurant opened its doors to the public again. I was looking forward to try the new menu and I chose this one dish. A wonderful ceviche with its flavors balanced to perfection and a beautiful presentation. I enjoyed it so much!

I am looking forward to go there again and try the other dishes in their menu. I noticed that at the adjoining emporio (a small grocery store in the same building) they sell a variety of fresh bread baked at the Meli every day.

There is also a vegetable garden set up by the restaurant where they will be getting their fresh ingredients for their meals (its spring now in Chile and gardens are just starting to show their vegetables).

All this with the beautiful setting by the Llanquihue lake makes it a must to visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frutillar, Manager at Meli, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Great to here your opinion, we hope to see you back soon.MELI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Varas, Chile
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

There are a few reasons why you should eat at Meli:
Nick is a great host
Sandwiches, coffee, salads, service are excellent
Located in a quiet area of the town on the lake shore
You can eat inside and outside. Outside area has a transparent plastic roof and is very cozy
You can buy nuts and dry fruit by weight at the entrance
It's clean, new and has interesting design.

Definitely recommended for foreign travelers.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frutillar, Owner at Meli, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión.
MELI esta abierto después de una larga remodelación de su cocina.
Lo esperamos.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Varas, Chile
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“a major upgrade to hanging out in Frutillar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

we had passed by several times and spotted a nice modernist-german style place by the lakefront, as you head out towards Punta Larga (south from Frutillar's main coastal drag).

curiosity got the better of us, and since we've been to Se Cocina and Lavanda, we drove to Meli.

first impressions:
great use of materials, proportions, and colors. There is a sense of style here that is hard to find in the south of Chile. a mix of simple wood, stone, and light, combine with a simple, attractive garden, a perfectly manicured lawn stretching all the way out to the waterfront, and a little jetty.

entering the small dining area, past the spices and goodies arranged in black-wood open faced cabinets, you sit down on a firm table made of recovered wood (it's a rare variety known as abedul, I have a cutting board made of the same!). a blackboard shows the days specials.

the man in charge is Nicolas, and we learned he was brought up in Boston and worked in Vancouver, in the hospitality industry. He knows his stuff! we tired different sandwiches and a delicious roast tomato-eggplant soup (so good that I looked up the recipe the next day and made some of my own).

all good. plus he placed a big complimentary basket of homemade potato chips,
better than the original Cape Cod potato chips of my youth! and that's saying something.

pisco sours were good, and the bill was very reasonable.

we were told that Meli will be open all year, and all day, so another positive point for a lovely town that can be a little slow in the off season.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frutillar, Owner at Meli, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión.
MELI esta abierto después de una larga remodelación de su cocina.
Lo esperamos.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meli also viewed

Frutillar, Los Lagos Region
Frutillar, Los Lagos Region
 
Frutillar, Los Lagos Region
Frutillar, Los Lagos Region
 

Been to Meli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.