We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is for those living in Singapore” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jones the Grocer

Jones the Grocer
Block 9 #01-12 Dempsey Road, Singapore 64761512, Singapore
+65 64761512
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,667 of 7,254 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This place is for those living in Singapore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place serves a good selection of foods as long as you have an open mind to just get up and choose ... just sitting and using the menu isn't the way to go. Its a relaxed place away from the crowds though as Singapores population continues to increase then so does the 'body traffic' at these places.

When this place first opened it was usually busy with the expat wives killing their days. As time has gone on the crowd has grown wider with locals and all nationalities using for a 'casual' food spot. Don't come here expecting a restaurant. Also don't come here expecting cheap like you can read down through the comments - if you want cheap then don't come to Singapore and seriously don't go to an 'import' food seller/cafe/outlet if you are cheap. This place is reasonably priced if you live in Singapore and use similar types of eateries in other cities around this region - compared to Tokyo / Seoul this place is cheap for the produce.

Service can be hit and miss but breakfasts there have always been fine.

Its a good spot if you don't want a full restaurant and instead, again if you are asia based, want to enjoy a good selection of cheese and meat cuts with a reasonable wine. Their cheese walk-in cold room has a great selection of cheese and should satisfy many

Only downsides i've had are service. Though figure its a casual place and enjoy the outdoors and it works out a good deal

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    48
    37
    18
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good place to hang out and have a good coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Good place to hangout and have a good coffee. Free parking, free wifi and really a good decent coffee with enough seatings.

Good place to meet up friends and chill and have some breaky- it's more expensive than macdonalds but we all deserve a treat here and there!

:-) get a large coffee for a dollar more!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Uninformed service staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Went there with the wife for a quick lunch Saturday before Christmas. We just felt like eating a quick, but decent sandwich as we were busy shopping for Christmas food items.

So, here is disappointment # 1: too many partial menues. You'd have to be a regular to know when you are allowed to order what. So, on a Saturday, apparently only breakfast menu and weekend menu apply, which means, sandwich- wise, you can only order a BLT or a Club sandwich.

Which we did, and I grumbled a lot because, at 2PM, I got disappointment # 2: When ordering a coke zero, standard across the world, I was told "sorry, we don't serve soft drinks". At 2PM, I surely did not feel like ordering a wine with my sandwich so stayed with the water (although I must have grumbled a lot, so my wife ordered a beer for me, probably to keep my mouth busy in a more pleasant manner).

Well, what do you know? When we paid the bill at the cashier's desk, there was a huge signboard: "Try our soft drinks and cordials"! Not that the cashier knew what or where they were, she had to ask the head waitress...

Seriously, I guess my wife forked out about S$ 40 for the two sandwiches (about 13$ each) and the beer, surely paying extra for service. And, even thought he sandwiches were excellent, this absolutely merits the Overpriced, Overrated tag others have given. And now that I am looking at the website here, I see that service has been an issue before.

So, lastly, why did I give 2 stars? Because the sandwiches were really good, and that should be recognized. But as for the quality of the service staff- no, cannot make it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Where the customer is always wrong”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We've visited Jones in the Mandarin Gallery 3 or 4 times, and it's certainly not because of the excellent service or the expansive menu (of which it has neither).

No, the best thing about Jones is the meat/cheese sharing platters of your own design. Too many times we have ordered eggs benedict and had the same argument about replacing the salmon with ham

'No cannot.'
'Yes you can'
'Have to ask chef ah'
'No, there really is no need, it was ok the last 3 times...'

Then of course it turns up stone cold and has to be sent back. The place has great potential with its ingredients, but needs some serious fine tuning of its staff, and the menu definitely needs a revamp. In addition, the 3 different brunch/lunch/dinner menus restrict things further - and you really don't need to give a singaporean establishment another reason to say 'cannot'.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Over Priced and Over Rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This place promises the casual breakfast offered by many restaurants in Australia but fails to deliver on all counts. Slow arrogant service, so so food and a big tab. For me I would rather McDonalds, at least they offer an authentic meal and a genuine smile.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jones the Grocer also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Jones the Grocer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jones the Grocer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.