We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality chicken rice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chatterbox

Chatterbox
333 orchard road, Singapore 238867, Singapore (Orchard Road)
683 16291
Improve this listing
Ranked #497 of 7,410 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Noodle, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good quality chicken rice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Read many positive reviews about this place, so my objective is to try their famous chicken rice. Is it worth almost $30?? The answer is yes....because the chicken they used taste different, you can taste they use a high quality chicken. Also, the dining atmosphere is better than most chicken rice restaurant. The 3 sauces they served are brilliant, fresh and full of flavour.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    118
    55
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just the best !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We loved this restaurant so much we went back again ! It is an institution in Singapore and the chicken rice is what they are known for and it is delicious. If we lived in Singapore we would be very frequent visitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“excellent chicken rice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

very good Hainan chicken rice meal. very nice, the rice is very fragrant. chicken is tender. the location is very close to major shopping center.

only concern is the portion...quite small for the price charged. I have to order two..lol.

overall satisfying.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Philippines
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“overpriced for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

quality of food is quite good. but pricing is on the high side. lobster laksa is good. as well as it's chicken curry. spiciness just right. pricing is triple to quadruple that of hawker stalls, had no choice really as it was a late dinner and most restos were closing...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We dined here one night because a tropical thunderstorm prevented us from leaving the hotel. My husband had the Haianese Chicken Rice which was definitely the best we'd ever had even after several trips to Singapore. I had an Indonesian Fried Chicken dish which was also delicious. However the bill was a bit of a shock at over $100 for these two dishes, one plate of spring rolls and two beers. The (local) beers were S$14 per glass! The atmosphere and service were nothing special.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatterbox also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Chatterbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatterbox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.