We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sin

Original Sin
43 Jl Merah Saga | Holland Village, Singapore, Singapore
6475 5605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #640 of 7,399 Restaurants in Singapore
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Shanghai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a surprise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Visiting the restaurant , suggested by a good Singaporean friend, on 03MAR with little or no expectation. We, 3 of us, were seated open air as the climate was quite pleasant. The restaurant offers Mediterranean/Italian vegetarian food. We ordered 3 starters {Bruschetta, a mesclun and arugula salad with avocado (the avocado is a substitute of cheese) and 2 main courses (a veggie moussaka and a pasta with pesto sauce). The avocado is a good sub of cheese and I personally prefer it to cheese, very refreshing and make the whole dish lighter. I am sceptical of a moussaka without meat but it turned out to be very good and tasty, just love it. The pasta with pesto sauce is very good too and again light and not too heavy. The portion is very good and they have no issue for us sharing the dishes.

I would recommend the restaurant to the anyone including the carnivores. Try out the tasty foods of this veggie restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    37
    21
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good option for veg mediterranean restuarant but bit expensive...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

we got an opportunity to try food at original sin. Its good location very close to holland village MRT station. Food taste is good love the Bruschettas and Beetroot salad some thing very unique.
Margarita taste good not too sweet compare to other restuarants its on high end price wise..

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Marvellous mains & delightful desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, we ordered was outstanding. We had the mezze platter to start, followed by the spanakopita, the moussaka, the vegetable tandoori, the strozza preti, and the supremo pizza. To finish, we ordered all five desserts on offer as there were five of us. Chocolate brownie - yum! apple crumble - yum! Cheesecake - yum! Tiramisu - yum! Hazelnut chocolate cake - yum! The wine was lovely too. Best Valpolicella I've ever had.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

This is one of my family's favorite restaurants. Kids menu provides a few good options, the daily specials are very good and the service is always prompt and friendly. We have tried many dishes and Original Sin always delivers!

Parking can be a bit of a challenge but there is plenty available on the side streets. Recommend reservations for holidays and weekends.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“The Vegetarian Haven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you are a vegetarian and if you are tired of seeing just 2-3 options of vegetarian food against the multiple meat options on a menu, this is the place for you!!
They are a fine Italian restaurant located in a wonderful vicinity. You can book your table online before you go, to ensure you get seating! It is usually full..
Their food is brilliant. You can start with some bruschetta and olives. Then you can dig into their pasta (with a flavor of vodka) or their amazingly well made lasagna. They have a good selection of pizzas too, which will be heart filling!
Then their desserts - it sure is SIN! :-) Dig into their Tiramisu, you will never be sorry.
They serve a wide range of wine, very detailed collection.

A perfect place to take your partner on a date or your friends and family for a treat!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Sin also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Original Sin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.