We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so high tea buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aquamarine @ Marina Mandarin

Aquamarine @ Marina Mandarin
6 Raffles Boulevard, Singapore 039594, Singapore (Marina Bay)
+65 6845 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #653 of 7,262 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: International, Asian, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marina Bay
Description: AquaMarine is a unique concept restaurant complemented by an alfresco dining area that beckon with an air of welcoming grace and relaxed charm. Indulge in a resplendent buffet spread of Asian and International cuisines, or an enticing a la carte menu in the restaurant. For a splendid taste of Asia, as well as delectable International cuisine, look forward to a sumptuous spread featuring perennial favourites such as Singapore Chilli Crab, Lamb Rogan Josh, Seafood Au Gratin, a mouth-watering array of desserts, on top of many others. Choose from a wide selection of a la carte dishes including our local signatures like AquaMarine Jumbo Laksa and Hainanese Chicken Rice. The restaurant has received Halal certification for all its food stations, including the central kitchen, from the Majlis Ugama Islam Singapura (MUIS), Singapore's Islamic council, in August 2011
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So so high tea buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I bought deal vouchers online for 20 pax for their HIGH TEA BUFFET. Even after a discounted price of $38/pax, it is considered quite a sum for what they served us. I was expecting sashimi, cold crab but they only have sushi. No fried chicken wings, but chopped chicken when you request for it from the station and we have to wait in Q while the server chop the chicken. The rest was normal local buffet spread, fried noodles, fried rice, braised duck etc, nothing special. The only dish I went for a second helping is the 'roti prata' more like a deep fried puff and I topped it with the Indian curry vegetable, and it was only because I took a small portion on the first round and nothing else entice me for a second helping. For desert, the durian cake disappeared soon after it appeared as it was not a huge one, and I waited for some time before they bring out another piece. Because I'm a durian lover, I enjoyed the durian puree but it's only a personal liking. I could not think of anything else worth mentioning, just the normal stuff. I'm disappointed as I was expecting a better spread and variety for the original price of $49.95 with GST.
But what was worth mentioning is the service. I give them a thumb's up. They are there so often to change your plates and clear the used ones, to top up your drinks and even fold your napkins while you are away from the table. For service, I wold give them an excellent rating.
Would I return? It's a NO. Not for that price even after discount.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    37
    23
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“king crab!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

eat to your heart's content with the king crab buffet spread. fresh and yummy. the staff were very attentive and seeing we have a plate full of king crab, immediately brought the special crab scissors so that we could enjoy the king crab meat easily. there is also a sashimi corner, literally because we almost missed it. currently there is a thai food special so you get to taste thai dishes. very nice! this is over and above the other cooked food available. for dessert, make room for that special durian puree or mousse. it is very rich and delicious. wonderful ice cream flavours too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Sashimi & Dessert - the strong points”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had buffet lunch and the hot food selection was a Thai-theme. The sashimi was chef-served but quite generous portions of salmon, tuna and sea bream. Salmon was good but the tuna and sea bream was satisfactory. The variety of dessert and ice cream spread was excellent. The durian puree was the bitter-sweet variety, which I love. Did not take any of the Thai food - poor appetite that day. Seafood selection was cold variety and the cold Flower Crab was sweet but you have to use your hands to break the shell. Service was above average. Overall, I felt the price was high especially if you didn't eat much sashimi and sushi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Sumptuous Buffet Spread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great and friendly customer service. There was a Thai food promotion where they invited chefs from Bangkok. The normal spread was delicious and fresh enough. The Thai food promotion definitely makes dining experience there more special. There were a few dishes which we never tasted before like the Red Curry with Roast Duck, and Yellow Curry Crab - that tasted super good. There are several credit cards that offer promotion with this restaurant, so remember to ask before making payment. DBS currently offers 25% discount. With the lovely presented colourful dessert spread (there were a spread of Malay, Chinese, Western and Thai desserts), you will be spoiled for choices. The restaurant is quite big in terms of layout, so if you like seating not too far away from the dishes table, do make a special request when doing booking. A round table for 10-12 pax is available if you are planning to dine with a large group.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Very good spread. Very well displayed. There was a Thai food promotion when we had lunch. Was generally good except for the Pad Thai. That was too dry. Generous portions of sashimi which were very fresh. Service was excellent. A very good experience overall.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquamarine @ Marina Mandarin also viewed

 

Been to Aquamarine @ Marina Mandarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquamarine @ Marina Mandarin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.