We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good main dish, poor starters” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Food For Thought

Food For Thought
8 Queen Street, Singapore, Singapore
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #990 of 7,404 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good main dish, poor starters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Came here for brunch. Their Full Works is a must-try ... but make sure you are a big eater. The plate was piled with a small hill of food - scrambled eggs, brioche bread, sauteed mushrooms, sausages, salad, bacon, and hash browns. Very worth it for $18, and it was enough for 2 to share, actually.

But one of their starters - Zucchini with Almond and Cheese - was really terrible. The cheese was tasteless and clashed horribly with the almonds, so we ended up just digging out the zucchinis. Somehow, this starter seemed to be a case of synergy gone wrong - where 1 + 1 gives you less than 2.

Their fries with rosemary garlic sat were also not too good. It was very bland and we had to add more salt.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFThoughtSg, Corporate Communications Executive at Food For Thought, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi Goomba81,

Thank you for writing about us!

We are glad that you enjoyed your mains and we will let our Executive Chef know your thoughts about the starter dishes that you were disappointed by. Thank you once again for your feedback, we are always glad to hear back from our customers as it helps us to continually improve on all aspects of Food For Thought.

Food For Thought
Good Food For A Good Cause
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    44
    24
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Seek better food & ambiance in a hospital canteen ... it's that bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

FFT @ Botanic Gardens is truly awful. No ambiance, terrible food, staff who don't care. Find somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFThoughtSg, Corporate Communications Executive at Food For Thought, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi Sav1972,

Thank you for writing a review.

We would like to hear more regarding the unpleasant experience you seem to have had with as as feedback helps us to continually improve on all aspects of Food For Thought. Please do drop us an email: social@foodforthought.com.sg should you like to further elaborate.

Food For Thought
Good Food For A Good Cause
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“below expectations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The ambience was so-so, there were not many people. The staff were all standing around and it was mostly self serve. Spent about 15 bucks per person.

We had the Thai Chicken Burger - average, oily, buns can't decide whether they were supposed to be toasted or not. Half done either way and crumbly. The all-day breakfast set was scrambled eggs that were slightly runny, few pieces of fatty bacon, a portion of salad, some hash brown balls and again half toasted bread. The double cheese burger was no more than 2 slightly-bigger-than-oreos sized patties with 2 slabs of bread. Pathetic. The only saving grace was they were coated in mozarella, and they had fairly decent fries.

Don't get me started on the drinks. They didn't even have the decency to brew their so-called 'Local kopi', which cost 2 bucks by the way. And who mixes 'local kopi' with creamer. All it was was a bag with ground coffee mixed with water. Much like your tea bag in water - but coffee. These go at supermarkets for the cost price of less than 10 cents a bag, It was a diluted cup of crap please do not ever buy it.

All in all while not expensive, you could probably get better food elsewhere at a fraction of the price. Definitely not worth its price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFThoughtSg, Corporate Communications Executive at Food For Thought, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi yada_yada2,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about us, we definitely take all feedback into consideration.

Our burger buns and bread are all baked at the restaurant and they are toasted before they are served. We will forward your comments regarding our food to our Executive Chef.

As for the naming of the 'Local Kopi,' it was an oversight on our part and we have gotten other feedback regarding it. We will be rectifying the menu in a couple of weeks and the 'Local Kopi' will be more accurately renamed 'Black Coffee (sachet)' to prevent further disappointment.

We do appreciate you taking the time to write about us and we are always glad to hear back from our customers as it helps us to continually improve on all aspects of Food For Thought.

Food For Thought
Good Food For A Good Cause
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great place for food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

we went for dinner and the place was not so crowded. take your time to look through the menu as they offer interesting food selection. when you are ready, walk to the counter to order and pay. your food, when ready, will be served to your table. tried the fish burger & pork burger. our friends had the pasta. consider topping up with fries and drinks for a complete meal. plain water is available free of charge and is available at the left hand corner of the restaurant. the food is yummy and delicous. the restaurant seems to cater for big groups so do consider this place if you are in a company of friends. will definitely recommend to others and will come again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFThoughtSg, Corporate Communications Executive at Food For Thought, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi ABeh,

Thank you for writing a review about us and for the recommendations! We are pleased to hear that you've enjoyed your experience with us at our Singapore Botanic Gardens outlet. Definitely hope to see you back here with your friends or family.

Food For Thought
Good Food For A Good Cause
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Food is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The place is packed with the usual Sunday crowds either visiting the botanical garden or just to dine in. The food is not only excellent but nice to share among the table. The service is good however they maybe understaff for the weekend as you need to get them to clear up the table.
Overall, I will go back again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFThoughtSg, Corporate Communications Executive at Food For Thought, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi wanzhung,

Thank you for your lovely and kind words! We are indeed understaffed, thank you for understanding that, we really appreciate it. Our big portions are also made in mind for families and friends to share, which we feel makes eating together even more of a wonderful affair. Glad that you enjoyed it and we hope to see you back here again.

Food For Thought
Good Food For A Good Cause
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food For Thought also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Food For Thought? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Food For Thought, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.