We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only one we found after a long walk in east coast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Cabana

Beach Cabana
1000 East Coast Parkway, Singapore 440000, Singapore
62412822
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,246 of 7,412 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Asian
Good for: Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“The only one we found after a long walk in east coast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

we bumped into this restaurant after our long walk along the east coast park. Since we didn't see any other restaurants/ cafes nearby or open, so we ended up to dine here...

we ordered two dishes of beef sausages (SGD 14.8) and seafood bruschetta (SGD 14.8). The portion of both were incredibly small... I think they're a little bit over-priced for such poor quality of foodies... but it takes an advantage that it's at a good location and not much happening nearby.

not considering to return shortly...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    0
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait for this place to go bust”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I'm not sure how on earth this place is allowed to exist. Simply appalling. My wife and I popped in for a couple of drinks whilst walking along the East Coast. I had a couple of mugs of beer - no issue. My wife was looking for a spicy tomato juice or a Virgin Mary on the menu. No such drinks were listed, although a tomato juice was present at $5.50, which did not appear unreasonable. My wife ordered that. She then asked if they could make it spicy. The server stated this would be fine, my wife could have a Virgin Mary. Ideal.

What came was a VERY small tumbler, not much larger than an espresso cup, filled 50% with ice and 50% with tomato juice with a slice of lemon and a sprinkling of white pepper - certainly not more than 100ml of juice, and that is being generous. While being generally unimpressed and considering this to be the poorest value tomato juice on the island, we ordered a second, as one would certainly not have been sufficient.

When presented with the bill, we found that these "Mocktails" were charged at S$12.80 ++ each, amounting to approximately S$29 for the two.

Do they honestly think that customers will ever be as stupid as to return? Repeat business would be an unlikely trauma for a place like this. We have not seen such shocking prices for a simple juice in Michelin-starred restaurants with the finest service available! Quite astonishing.

The staff wished us well and hoped to see us again soon. Not likely! The sooner this place goes bust, the better for everyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place for some grilled food and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is a place which i frequently dine in whenever i am in the area. The chicken there is fantastic and the atmosphere is relaxing. Hang around there on a weekend night and you will see all the happy faces chilling out there!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This restaurant might look atmospheric but do not be tempted keep walking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011 via mobile

Ordered two cocktails which were very expensive. The food was overly fried in lots of oil. Do not visit the toilets.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“nice chill out place !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

nice chill out place !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Cabana also viewed

 

Been to Beach Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Cabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.