We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shashlik Restaurant turn over a new leaf.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shashlik Restaurant

Shashlik Restaurant
545 Orchard Rd #06-19 Far East Shopping Centre, Singapore 238882, Singapore (Orchard Road)
67326401
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,637 of 7,412 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Russian
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Shashlik Restaurant turn over a new leaf.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

2 weeks ago my family went back to Shashlik Restaurant at Far East SC for dinner. I was really apprehensive about going there because of the bad reviews and the infamous ancient Hainanese waiters from hell. The last time I was there, about 2-3 years ago, my family dined with fear in our hearts. They just snatch the menu from you after you order without a single word.The old waiters were so rude and unfriendly and we could hear smashing of cutlery and shouting from the kitchen. There were no smiles, no thank yous and of course no pleases. It was traumatising to say the least. It seems that we were all there for free food and so had to tolerate the extreme nastiness.

However, this time around, there seem to be a great turnaround. the old plump waiter greeted us as we entered and when we were not ready to order, he said no problem, take your time and even the tall aunty tried her best to force a smile and the old uncle was still shuffling around. I looked around to see whether there was a camera crew filming and was relieved there were none.

I noticed that there were a few younger service staff and they were OK. I guess they may have rubbed some courtesy dust on the older ones or there were some changes in the management. Also, I guessed that the No.1 nasty waiter, a small wiry guy was not around. Either he has retired, sacked or passed on, it was all for the good of the restaurant.

The food portion was small but very good. The lamb and beef were succulent . fragrant and very well marinated. The borsch soup was a bit disappointing, the colour look brownish and lack a bit of punch. The Bomb Alaska dessert was the high point of the evening and never fail to bring smiles all around. Averagely, we spent about $40 per person, which is quite reasonable.

OK, folks, don't be afraid anymore. The big bad wolf has gone and you can now all go to Shashlik. Don't go, for just the good food but also experience the old world charm both of the decor and the players. It was a hilarious evening for me.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    17
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Rustic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Love the ambience and hoow dignified the service staff are. The food is decent enough but for those who have never visited a russian restaurant, this is a good start

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great steak restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Inexpensive.. good quality steak with a colonial touch to it.. I like the food and ambience here. Great baked Alaska as well

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“An all time favorite ... with an attitude!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Shashlik has been around for ages, and has always been at the same spot since I can remember. The food is quite good, particularly the shashlik steaks off the skewers onto a hot plate, the borsch soup with a dollop of cream and the bomb alaska dessert.
The restaurant is Russian by theme, but was and is staffed by Hainanese waiters. Expect some attitude and brusqueness from them. Service level varies, so go prepared to take the 'coolness' and slow service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Ol School surroundings and even the staff are mostly aged 40 and over. Good meats on a stick.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

Ol School surroundings and even the staff are mostly aged 40 and over. Good meats on a stick.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shashlik Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Shashlik Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shashlik Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.