We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lawry's The Prime Rib

Lawry's The Prime Rib
333A Orchard Road | #04-01/31 Mandarin Gallery, Singapore 238897, Singapore
65 6836 3333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #255 of 7,378 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Lawry's first opened in California in 1938. Their branch in Singapore is at level 4 at the Mandarin Gallery on Orchard road.
The quality of service is excellent from the moment you enter to the time you leave. The menu has a few other dishes but as the name suggests, the main food is Prime Rib. The meat is brought alongside the table in a cooking trolley and the chef carves it for you. You can choose your cut and how you'd like it done. They have a thin cut, slices, or the popular Lawry's cut or an extra thick cut if you're hungry.
The Prime Rib is served with their signature spinning salad, mashed potatoes and gravy, with a portion of Yorkshire pudding.
My meal got better as I ate. The salad was ok, the Prime Rib was good and the dessert was very good (I had the traditional Bread pudding)
The restaurant has 5 private dining rooms one of which seats 18 guests.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrySingapore, Public Relations Manager at Lawry's The Prime Rib, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear percyvakil,

Greetings from Lawry’s Singapore!

Thank you for your review and for pointing out our private dining rooms with different seating capacities and configurations, all perfect for special celebration! We are delighted that you have enjoyed your dining experience and we will share your marvelous compliments on our signature dish and service with the entire team!

We will be looking forward to serve you and your guests in the near future!

Sincerely,
Claudya Putri
Public Relations
Lawry's The Prime Rib Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    63
    31
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Skip lunch beforehand!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

If you have a big appetite, you'll like it! I went here twice during my last business trip to Singapore, both times getting the diamond Joe steak. Great beef, lovely yorkshire pudding and delicious potato! Recommended! I also enjoyed the lobster tails.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrySingapore, Public Relations Manager at Lawry's The Prime Rib, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Largetogo,
Thank you for your review and continuous support! We are delighted to hear that our signature cuisines were up to your expectation. We will keep up the good work and look forward to your future visit to Singapore!

On behalf of the management, here’s wishing you bright and happy days in 2014! Happy holidays!

Sincerely,
Claudya Putri
Public Relations
Lawry's The Prime Rib Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“High steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Super ambience and great food, but the price? The bill came as a mighty shock to our group of 8 after just one course each, brilliant though it was.

Go prepared!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrySingapore, Public Relations Manager at Lawry's The Prime Rib, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear SussexBeak,

Thank you for your review and for selecting Lawry’s The Prime Rib Singapore! We are delighted that you have enjoyed our ambiance and our food. Please be assured that we are constantly reviewing our pricing strategy in order to remain competitive and most importantly, to uphold the quality and freshness of our food.

Looking forward to your continuous support, have a great day ahead!

Sincerely,
Claudya Putri
Public Relations
Lawry's The Prime Rib Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch and excellent celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have never tried Lawry's before as the place seem to be on the fine dining side but decided to give it a try for my boyfriend's birthday. Went there during weekday lunch as we took a day off, turned out to be a great decision. The ambiance was great with xmas decors nicely done, friendly servers greeted us and paid attention throughout the meal. Food was excellent, their power lunch set lunch menu was worth it, it was only $52 before tax for three course meal (compared to the usual ala carte), but the meal itself was accompanied with so many side dishes like yorkshire pudding, mashed, salad, bread. We left the restaurant so full,we can hardly walk! I'm planning to bring my family here for christmas already!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrySingapore, Public Relations Manager at Lawry's The Prime Rib, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, lpdn07!

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed our service and signature items in our power lunch set meal, all in your first visit! For your information, the set meal is available till 3rd January 2014, so do visit us again and remember to follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for more updates on the restaurant’s promotions and highlights.

We look forward to serving you and your esteemed guests again!

Sincerely,
Claudya Putri
Public Relations
Lawry's The Prime Rib Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I miss the food badly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I got experience to taste the delicious Lawry's prime ribs in Singapore during my business trip. Love the food, it was delicious and i hope i can get back to Singapore just for have lunch or dinner at this place. I was looking for the same restaurant in Hong Kong, but it was closed due to renovation. You can taste the other style of steak with delicious salad and bread.. :) Just amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrySingapore, Public Relations Manager at Lawry's The Prime Rib, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi JoyceWibowo, thank you for your review and for your continuous support!

We are glad that you found our signature roasted prime rib and other dishes satisfactory. For your information, Lawry’s Hong Kong has relocated to Shop 201B, 2/F Hutchison House, 10 Harcourt Road. Central, Hong Kong.

Lawry’s team will always be looking forward to serve you and your guests in the near future!

Sincerely,
Claudya Putri
Public Relations
Lawry's The Prime Rib Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lawry's The Prime Rib also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Lawry's The Prime Rib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawry's The Prime Rib, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.