We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe this place score so highly.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wing Seong Fatty's (Albert) Restaurant

Wing Seong Fatty's (Albert) Restaurant
175 Bencoolen Street, Singapore, Singapore (Rochor)
63381087
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 7,262 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Rochor
Bergen
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Can't believe this place score so highly.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I went here because of the Trip advisor reports. Don't bother its a con. The service was quick but blunt and the food mediocre at best. Yes, prices were reasonable but not a reason to be scoring so highly on TripAdvisor. I get the distinct impression some of the reports are fabricated to bolster its place on the ratings list.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    83
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must visit destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We visited Fatty's after reading the recommendations on Tripadvisor and I'm very pleased that we did! The restaurant is a business that has been looked after by the same family for generations. The food is absolutely delicious and a must try is the black pepper beef and the sweet and sour chicken.
Portions were more than plentiful and the service was attentive - the bonus point to this eaterie is that you can sit outside and watch the crowds bustling past. Finally it is extremely good value for money, we visited twice during our stay.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Brilliant food in street food atmosphere :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I love fattys :) when I'm in Singapore I have to go there otherwise my trip is not complete...
There's nothing I would recommend in particular, coz everything I had on my few visits was superb!!!!
Prices are reasonable, staff is friendly and I love the not so touristic street food atmosphere:)

Try fattys, you won't leave hungry ;)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stumbled upon Fatty's on our first night in Singapore. Best chinese food we have both had and incredibly cheap. Portions are huge so a small is more than enough per person. We returned a few days later and again the food was brilliant. YUM, Will definitely visit if we are ever in that part of the world again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Come for the food, not the ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Plentiful, cheap dishes served within seconds by a no-nonsense staff in a spartan setting. There's a good chance you'll find yourself sitting next to some pilots or a flight crew -- a sure sign that you've come to a popular hangout.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wing Seong Fatty's (Albert) Restaurant also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Wing Seong Fatty's (Albert) Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wing Seong Fatty's (Albert) Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.