We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miniscule fish portions” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fish & Co.

Fish & Co.
501 Orchard Road, Singapore 238880, Singapore (Orchard Road)
65098259
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,345 of 7,254 Restaurants in Singapore
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Miniscule fish portions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Fresh fish is one of my favourite meals,so this looked a good bet. However the battered fish portion was small and must have been 80% batter. The small fish filet species contained within could not be identified by the waiter and it looked like it had been just defrosted. I asked for tap water, initially they had run out of glasses, then the water was from the hot tap! Staff were friendly but where was the local fish?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    31
    33
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Another frequent place to dine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We like the way the fish options. After eating red meat dinners, we need the fish option, and this came as the natural choice.

The location is easy to get to. The fav'd Fish & Chips (with Vineger!) is the de facto choice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average seafood here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We thought we would try a meal here during a visit to Singapore but I came away disappointed. We both ordered Cajun Salmon. You get a choice of sides - I got mixed vegetables and mashed potatoes while mum ordered the vegetables and rice. The salmon was cooked to my liking (not too rare which I prefer) but the spices were a bit disappointing. I expected a bit more flavour. A lemon or lime wedge on the side would've gone down well but we didn't get one. The "mixed" vegetables consisted of huge chunks of carrot and an unidentifiable white vegetable - boiled. Very unappetizing. The mashed potato tasted like that instant just-add-hot-water stuff with a dollop of cheesy sauce on top. Mum's rice was bland when it looked like it should've been tasty. The menu is extensive... overwhelming actually. They need to cut back on their menu and focus on creating a handful of really tasty seafood dishes. Then maybe their reviews would be better!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too much for too little”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Paid quite a lot of money ($50+ for 4 people) for child-like food. I ordered a dish that had a small fried fish plate along with undercooked bland rice. Not Recommended.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Bland bland bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

While I like the idea of a good fish restaurant in Singapore remember this is a chain restaurant so do not expect too much and you wont be disappointed.Service is polite but the food is bland and tasteless which given the options they have at their disposal is disappointing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish & Co. also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Fish & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish & Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.