We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Forketta

La Forketta
1 Nassim Road ( opposite Tanglin Shopping Centre) | #01-01/04, Singapore 258458, Singapore (Tanglin)
+65 6836 3373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #640 of 7,094 restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Tanglin
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This restaurant at at Dempsey hill has very good pizza! The pizza is baked in the wood fire oven. My friends had a pasta with fresh mussel, it was very delicious too.
Overall service was excellent and the ambient was cool and the foods was awesome.
I highly recommend this unique restaurant for Italian food lovers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    21
    23
    8
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best authentic Italian restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

At last we tried la forketta! The ambiance is excellent, and we served by polite and attentive staff. The pizza is excellent and truly authentic italian classic! We also tried the veal cooked with white wine sauce and tendered and juicy roast pork served with potato and mushroom. My family enjoyed the food and the experience! We will come again!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Too Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have to travel monthly to Singapore for my business trip. My Italian friend that has leave in Singapore for 15 years invited me to La Forketta at Nassim for dinner.
When I first walk in to the restaurant ,the first impression was the stunning interior, its was CHIC and trendy. The restaurant was very busy and the atmosphere was great.
The foods was excellent,the most memorable one was the Pizza. Is hand make and baked in the stone oven in front of you. Just fantastics!
I must say the services was very impressive, the staffs was very friendly and knowledgeable.
I will recommend this place for Italian food lover. I will be back with my families.
Well Done La Forketta

Ciao

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“expensive, below average food, service is friendly and attentive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

looks a little like a canteen, despite the nicely decorated "show" open kitchen, waiters are very friendly and attentive.

BUT: bread basket: a mountain of pizza, foccacia, grissini - who is supposed to eat that??? Then: carpaccio with bresaola, pesto with beans and potatoes in an oversalty creamy sauce and overcooked linguini ??? PLEASE!

not exactly a steal either.

would I return: NO

btw: the restaurant has moved to Tanglin area, no more at River Valley Road

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food and location, pleasant evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

There are mixed reviews about this place. Perhaps people from different continents have different tastes and liking.Overall I find the place pretty good. As the past reviews say, the pizzas are good. We had an eggplant pizza and it was really very tasty, (smoky flavor, wood fired).It seems menu has more of veg options, followed by seafood and then meet. Wine and pastas are fine. Price is reasonable, for occasional visitors. (Pizza ~$30) The restaurant website done not have a full menu (i could not find it)

If you are looking for a romantic dinner, ask for reservation outside, it might get little noisy inside. Finally, this place is in Dempsey hill, an isolated pocket, just 10 min from orchard / Holland village. Typically on a cool, rainy day, it is quite enjoyable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Forketta also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to La Forketta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Forketta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.