We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent bento boxes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tatsuya

Tatsuya
22 Scotts Road Goodwood Park Hotel, Singapore 228221, Singapore (Orchard Road)
(65)6737 1160
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 7,404 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $0 - $70
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Description: If sashimi is your secret indulgence, then you must know that few restaurants do it better than Tatsuya. Try celebrated Chef Ronnie Chia’s creations while seated along its impressive 23-seat sushi bar, the longest in the country.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
1,206 reviews 1,206 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
606 helpful votes 606 helpful votes
“Decent bento boxes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW

Came here for lunch today to try the sushi. A la carte is quite expensive so we opted for the bento boxes: one sashimi bento and one chirashi bento. Both were very decent and reasonably priced. All up including taxes we paid $96 SGD. I'd visit again at lunchtime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    27
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“disappointing ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

I had rave reviews of the place from an ex colleague so we finally lunched there when we could find someone to take care of our baby. felt like it was a waste of time and money. I can't taste the difference between this and sushi teh. outdoor seating was also way too hot and uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi, Sitting at the Sushi bar was really nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

The sushi prepared at the Sushi bar was excellent. The specialty seemed to be a brief torch on the top of the Sushi (usually on a sauce) which crisped the flavors onto the fish, really excellent taste. The Sapporo Beer on tap goes very well with the meal. The Ume Shisho Maki (shiso leaves, nori, rice and sometimes, cucumber) was great for more vegetables. Finishing the meal with an excellent Miso Shiru. This was an expensive meal but all the pieces were very high quality and taste and presentation was excellent.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just Try and see if you like it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

It was a pleasant dinner. My friend and I enjoyed watching the chefs preparing food for us. You can tell the chef what are your preferences on food. Quite good experience.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

I have heard many great reviews about Tatsuya and so had high expectations before my visit. W had a family lunch and all of us ordered the set menu which was pricey at $250/head.

Considering the price, I obviously had high expectations of the food. While the food was tasty including fresh sashimi and pretty presentation (which is expected from fine Japanese cuisine), I was disappointed as there are many other fine dining Japanese restaurants of similar calibre at more reasonable prices and more generous portions.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatsuya also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Tatsuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tatsuya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.