We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I had hoped” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Samy's Curry

Samy's Curry
Block 25 Dempsey Rd | Orchard Road, Singapore, Singapore (Tanglin)
6472 2080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #784 of 7,382 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Tanglin
NYC
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Not as good as I had hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Samy's Curry was on our list after watching Anthony Bourdain eat there on TV. We literally ordered every single dish he tried on the show. The only dish we liked was the Fish Head curry. The rest was just mediocre. Maybe our expectations were too high. All the dishes other than fish head curry were already prepared and sitting behind the counter. Naan was cold. We had much better experience at Banana Leaf Apolo. We will not be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    104
    45
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“curry of the town !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

we had yummy curries, specialy the fish head curry and rice we all enjoyed till we finished it, the best lime juice i tasted that evevning , we like the spiceness flavor of the curry as i am indian i love the spiceness in the food, its a good place for a change to have spicy curries influenced with singapore spice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
396 reviews 396 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
563 helpful votes 563 helpful votes
“"Irresitible Indian Food".”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

PRO:
~Value for money.
~Wide selection of drinks.
~For non-Asians, having a meal here is a cultural experience.

CON:
~Not airconditioned.
~Limited parking.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Excellent place for some curry (fish head curry) while visiting the Botanic Garden. The restaurant requires a bit of walking, but it sure worth it. The restaurant is authentic and it is definitely a dinning experience. There are bus stops very close by to the restaurant. We walked from the botanic Garden and it was doable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A big let down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The location is great. Hence my expectations were high.
I came here with 3 friends of various local ethnicities who love Indian food. We unanimously agreed that the food was a big let down. Pricey place as its nestled in a very nice area. The variety was not much either.

I came here as it was recommended by a friend. Sigh.... you can't believe everything others say :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samy's Curry also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Samy's Curry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samy's Curry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.