We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Singapore crab,great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of No Signboard Seafood

No Signboard Seafood
414 Geylang, Singapore 389392, Singapore (Geylang)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #543 of 7,254 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Geylang
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Singapore crab,great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is the famous original location for no Signboard.We were AL fresco at a table almost on the street , in this busy neighborhood.My suggestion is arrive early and have a beer at one of the hundreds of Al fresco bars in this busy area.
We had Singapore Crab, drunken prawns, lemon style chicken and a mushroom & asparagus dish.They were all great, the Singapore Crab was very hot and the stock with the drunken prawns was delicious and the pricing was fair, not cheap but good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    149
    48
    22
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Good, Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A little expensive but we enjoyed our chilli crab and shrimp. They are excellent! A messy business, would be wise to bring your own wipes as I didn't get enough. $320 for two of us.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Expensive, not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Mostly tourists. Food court turned outdoor restaurant. Seafood tanks not very clean. Spicy crab has so much sauce that you can't taste crab. Would have preferred a different seafood restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Chilli Crabs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The food had great flavours and quantity. They offer fast service and always attend to you promptly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Like all incredibly popular places - this has probably lost its shine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I bet when this restaurant first opened up it was superb. Best quality seafood, quick service, and amazing flavours. You still get all that to a certain degree, but I just feel that probably No Signboard is a victim of its own success. Don't get me wrong - it's still Very Good, still 100 times better than anything you can get in London or Australia, but I bet there are better places to go in Singapore, as yet undiscovered, and unlikely to be discovered by me as I don't go to Singapore often enough! Unless you know a local who can recommend somewhere better, just stick with No Signboard - you'll love it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No Signboard Seafood also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to No Signboard Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No Signboard Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.