We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for chicken rice and pork chop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wee Nam Kee Hainanese Chicken Rice

Wee Nam Kee Hainanese Chicken Rice
Marina square | Raffles avenue, Singapore, Singapore
+65-62556396
Improve this listing
Ranked #412 of 7,378 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
498 reviews 498 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
505 helpful votes 505 helpful votes
“Good for chicken rice and pork chop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Visited the branch at Marina Square for lunch yesterday. Ordered 1/2 chicken, fritters filled with prawns, chilli kangkong, wonton soup (L size), hainanese pork chop and hotplate tofu - food was not too bad, though some portions seemed small for M size. Inclusive of drinks and rice for six people, the bill came up to around $100.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    60
    36
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Worst service experienced in Singapore on two occasions since they moved to new premises.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Went to the new shop just after it opened and service was very poor, thought it maybe new openning issues. Went back again last week, waited 10 minutes before getting the menu ourselves and after trying to get their attention for 15 minutes to make our order we gave up and left. We weren't the only ones not getting service. Think they are working on reputation to make up for the very poor service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of My Favs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Wee Nam Kee is the first Chicken Rice stall that I took notice of over 15 years ago. By far, this place offers great value at just $4+, although the portion of chicken seems to be a lot less since they moved to United Square. I rate Wee Nam Kee as one of my top three favorite chicken rice stalls!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
“Order Roasted Chicken Rice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was looking for this place in Thomson Road but it actually already moved to United Square just a walking distance from the previous place. While the new location wasn't exactly easy to find inside a mall but the wait and search will be rewarded with a heavenly Roasted Chicken Rice.

On par with Tian-Tian Chicken rice this one have one advantage for location as it located in a mall with bus stop that's easier to reach for tourists. You should try this place and order the Roasted Chicken Rice while make sure you're belly are hungry enough to have the best eating experience.

My advice is come to this place at least with one friend so that you can order various menu and shared it with your friends. I ordered one half chicken of roasted and one half of the original and roasted pork and shared them to enjoy it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for chicken rice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The address on this trip advisor page needs to be updated- the new address for the restaurant is at United Square, Novena.

The portions of chicken are generous and both the steamed and roast chicken are delicious. The soup is also delicious. But the best part about the place is the roast pork- crispy and roasted to perfection with a hint of smokiness- truly commendable.

This is by far better than tian tian. Or big bird.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wee Nam Kee Hainanese Chicken Rice also viewed

 

Been to Wee Nam Kee Hainanese Chicken Rice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wee Nam Kee Hainanese Chicken Rice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.