We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayo Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Singapore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayo Inn
Save
You added Mayo Inn to your Saves list
9 Jalan Besar, Singapore, Singapore (Little India)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Antipolo City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Average rooms. Got the very clean Japanese-inspired room, which was basically a mattress on the floor (well, an elevated part of the floor.) It was a small room, just the right size for 2 of us.

Weird semi-opaque bathroom door and walls where you can see the silhouette of anyone using the toilet or shower. Brought our own stuff so we didn't have to use the industrial strength shampoo and shower gels they usually provide in hotels.

TV in room which we barely used. Basic coffee and tea corner replenished daily. Small refrigerator. No compartment for your bags but we only stayed there for a couple of nights, so it was no problem. There were windows, but were bolted from the outside and were covered with heavy drapery. Street can be noisy, but noise dies at night save for the occasional motorcycle.

I don't think there was a restaurant. No space where you can meet other travelers as well. Location was perfect. 24-hour convenience store right in front of the hotel. Short walk to Bugis Station and Little India. It's value for your money in a very expensive city, but don't expect much.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    76
    49
    5
    2
See reviews for
41
50
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I am an Austraian citizen who visited Singapore on 21 jan 2012. I wanted to do my shopping at Mustafa Centre in Little India. Althought the Fortuna Hotel was located just opposite to Mustafa, this is a worst hotel. After intensive research to find a hotel accomodation near Little India, I read the guest reviews about Mayo Inn (located opposite Sim Lim Tower) , and booked a family room for two days. The staff named Ana was very helpful and contacted her my email prior to leaving Sydney. There is no need to pay advance payment for booking as they accept only cash payment. An email confirmation of booking is sufficient.

I reached Singapore at 7 am but the check in was at 2pm. I explained to the staff on duty that we travelled for 8hours by plane and we need a room if it is vacant. At 7:30am on same day the room was given to us. All basic required facilities was available at this hotel but the drawbacks I could see in this hotel was there were plenty of ants on the bed and everywhere. The hotel is located on the main road and close to basic amenities. Although I earlier requested for a quiet room, which the hotel staff confirmed with me by email that it would be given to me, but I got a noisy room(room no. 305) located at the roadside. In the toilet there is no sliding door to seperate the shower screen and the toilet and the whole area gets wet. There is no bathroom mat at the door entry of the toilet. There is no mini micorwave to re-heat food where such facility is provided in all other hotels and also in motels. There is no phone inside the room or intercom to contact the reception for any needs. There is a mini fridge in the family room.

Overall it was a good stay if you wish to stay for two days. But the price for family room per night is SGD $150 which is bit expensive for those facilities provided by the hotel and not worth for the price we pay. I rate as average for the value for money. If you are not concerned about the price, I would recommend this hotel to any travellers especially if you want to go to Mustafa Centre located at Syed Alwi Road. If you love Indian food, you can go to Anjappar restaurant(both veg and non veg) located just opposite to .Mustafa centre or visit Saravanna bhavan or Anand bhavan. I went with my family and amongst these restuarant we liked the food from Anjappar hotel and the food is very cheap that they give us too much food which we cannot eat. So order for few dishes first to save money. The travelling distance by walk from Mayo Inn to Mustafa is 10 to 15 minutes but we took a taxi and cost SGD $4 to $5 depending on the time of travel. But all these shops would be open only from 11am onwards. Only Anandbhavan hotel is open by 9am and Mustafa open 24 hours. This is a genuine feedback from me and am not writing for any promotional offer. This would assist any travellers going to Singapore. Beware of pickpocketing near Mustafa centre.

-L Denny
Sydney, Australia

Room Tip: ask for quiet room when you make a booking but you may be disappointed at the time you actually get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

3 of us shared a family room. The room had enough space for 3 of us girls with all our sports gear and clothes. The bathroom was very clean and comfortable, the room was clean and sheets were clean. I enjoyed the lift - we got stuck on our first day as we weren't following instructions to the T. But we got the hang of it pretty quickly. Even though there were other people on the same floor/storey as us, we didn't hear them.. Sound proofing was quite good! Lobby is small but cute and whoever was at the desk was always helpful. Only 2 negative things - the hallways/corridors are a bit small and narrow so when trying to get into our room with all our luggage, it was a tight squeeze while we were trying to unlock the door. and the last negative thing - one time we went down to the lobby where we were met with an awful stench. The person at the front desk was having her lunch at her desk and it was some really exotic thing that stunk up the entire lobby!!! But the negatives were not enough to counter the positives - i would stay at Mayo Inn again....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I'm a man of simple tastes and all I require of a mid range hotel is a good location, cleanliness, and polite hotel crew. Mayo inn fulfills all those requirements. The price range is perfect for people who don't plan on spending absurd prices for singpore's limited luxury orientated accommodation. The 3 separate shifts of receptionists I talked with were all pleasant. Only con is that my ground floor room had no window. Proximity to mrt is a 15 walk past an interesting food court with exotic local eats.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The best part of the hotel was the location, walking distance to Little India and the train station, etc.The elevator was not functioning correctly. The room is really bare bones, windows dark and covered.Uncomfortable bed. Bring your own soap though bath gel and shampoo was provided. Did not get any sleep as little children were running back and forth through all hours of the night and street noise early in the morning. We only stayed one night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglian in Brunei
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The Mayo Inn was perfect for a weeks stay in Singapore for a family of 4. We had a family room which was very reasonably priced and spotlessly clean. The AC was wickedly efficient and the TV was the usual SE Asia standard. As mentioned by others, there is some traffic noise but it was more of a familiar background rumble and certainly did not keep us awake. The Hotel is located right on the edge of Little India opposite the Sim Lim Tower. Taxi were always available just outside the hotel and most places of interest were a SD$10-15 ride away. Some taxis had not heard of the Mayo Inn or Mayo street on which it is located but this was not a problem as all knew where the Sim Lim Tower was. Two (very minor) points which should be highlighted. The lift is a little strange, having no inner door. My youngest was a little frightened to use it. The bathroom had frosted glass doors/walls which was no problem for me but not private enough for my two teenage daughters... I would definately go back again. Should mention the wonderful (and cheap) street cafes just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: No restaurant in the hotel but cheap and very tasty food outlets located just outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights early January with family of four, 2 adults and 2 children. Paid $180 as we needed an extra bed. A basic hotel, clean and friendly and fine for a short stay in expensive Singapore. We had great difficulty finding a hotel which catered for families of 4 at a reasonable price even though we booked 3 months in advance. The location, though noisy, on the edge of Little India, is great if you like to be in the middle of things. There is a great little Chinese food shop up the road which was reasonably priced for drinks and snacks. Loved Little India Arcade for all your touristy bargain buys, just 5 - 10 mins from the hotel. Our room on the third floor faced the front and had coloured glass windows which we could not open. It was very noisy however after walking around Singapore all day in the heat we slept through it all! The beds though were extremely hard and rather uncomfortable. On a plus point they have free internet and efficient air condition and we felt safe. The lift is a little odd and has no door so if you accidently touch the gap where the door should be it automatically stops. We managed to do this twice! I would definitely recommend it for a short stay of 2 nights, possibly three if you are looking at the cheaper range of hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front are noisy. Don't know about the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayo Inn

Address: 9 Jalan Besar, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An economy Hotel with 23 rooms housed in a 4-storey conservation building on the fringe of the Little India Historical Conservation Area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mayo Hotel Singapore
Mayo Inn Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.