We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, give this a miss” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melt ~ The World Cafe at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Melt ~ The World Cafe at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
5 Raffles Avenue | Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
+65 6338 0066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 7,378 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: With creativity and imagination we have transformed the dining experience. Chefs in show kitchens present a multi-cultural cooking theatre. At any time of the day select from cuisine ranging giant baskets of fruits bring bursts of colour; the wine bar itself is a vivid backlit pink. The space is transitionary, designed for changing moods from muted to energetic up to the fresh and airy garden views. You could dine here every night of the week and the only similarity in experience would be the excellent quality of the food.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Disappointing, give this a miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I should have realized when we could get a reservation at short notice - never a good sign - that this was not going to be the five star buffet experience we expect from Singapore hotels. Arrived just after 1 and hot food looked tired and oily. The variety was limited and really it was hard to find anything besides the sushi that looked edible. Service was good and it's a nice outlook on a tropical courtyard. But it's the food that counts and on this basis I would go elsewhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    82
    38
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The food is out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A must visit, fantastic food! I cannot rate this restaurant high enough. The staff are wonderful, and the food is to die for! First class.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service without reproach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The buffet breakfast ranks with the absolute best that I have seen. The range and variety of food was extensive and of high quality.
The serving staff were exceptional in their service and they were all courteous and friendly. The staff greeting guests at checkin to the cafe were outstanding.
The a la carte dinner that we had was faultless and the waiter's suggestions for some courses of the meal were right on the mark.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best Buffet I had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I went there in July with my WIfe and Brother in law. We were mssing our family back in our country and wanted to cheer ourselves. That was my 4th Visit. Every visit makes me come our smiling. We enjoyed the food thoroughly.

It has a an amzing spread, from cold cuts, cold seafood to bbq, cooked food and more from diff cuisine. Their deserts are one of the best i had had.
BBQ is served out, so dont forget to walk out in the adjoining garden ad ask anything on plate their to be bbqed for you.

It is a must visit. It was 70+ per person. UOB had 15% discount on total food. so real value, and their ever smiling attentive really makes my day everytime.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We heard so much about this place and decided to come try and see for ourselves. Unfortunately, there wasn't plenty of seafood during lunch and our friend who was craving for crabs, got a huge disappointment. Also, the seafood that's really available during lunch was limited in choice. The indian section was good though, a sort of compensation. Service was so-so. Feels like they are understaffed. But if you had gone to let say Thailand, then you would agree with me that there's actually very little presence of so-called service in Sg. So if you compare it this way, then I guess the service is a little better than usual. It made the trip and price not worth since there's nothing much to indulge in. Going to take a bit of persuasion to come back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melt ~ The World Cafe at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Melt ~ The World Cafe at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melt ~ The World Cafe at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.