We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Buffet I had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melt ~ The World Cafe at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Melt ~ The World Cafe at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
5 Raffles Avenue | Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
+65 6338 0066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 7,412 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: With creativity and imagination we have transformed the dining experience. Chefs in show kitchens present a multi-cultural cooking theatre. At any time of the day select from cuisine ranging giant baskets of fruits bring bursts of colour; the wine bar itself is a vivid backlit pink. The space is transitionary, designed for changing moods from muted to energetic up to the fresh and airy garden views. You could dine here every night of the week and the only similarity in experience would be the excellent quality of the food.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best Buffet I had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I went there in July with my WIfe and Brother in law. We were mssing our family back in our country and wanted to cheer ourselves. That was my 4th Visit. Every visit makes me come our smiling. We enjoyed the food thoroughly.

It has a an amzing spread, from cold cuts, cold seafood to bbq, cooked food and more from diff cuisine. Their deserts are one of the best i had had.
BBQ is served out, so dont forget to walk out in the adjoining garden ad ask anything on plate their to be bbqed for you.

It is a must visit. It was 70+ per person. UOB had 15% discount on total food. so real value, and their ever smiling attentive really makes my day everytime.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    84
    38
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We heard so much about this place and decided to come try and see for ourselves. Unfortunately, there wasn't plenty of seafood during lunch and our friend who was craving for crabs, got a huge disappointment. Also, the seafood that's really available during lunch was limited in choice. The indian section was good though, a sort of compensation. Service was so-so. Feels like they are understaffed. But if you had gone to let say Thailand, then you would agree with me that there's actually very little presence of so-called service in Sg. So if you compare it this way, then I guess the service is a little better than usual. It made the trip and price not worth since there's nothing much to indulge in. Going to take a bit of persuasion to come back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Amazing breakfast buffet, every possible taste catered to, Japanese, Chinese, Indian, Western and much more. Freshly squeezed juices and every type of coffee all with impeccable service. Make sure you book breakfast as part of your room package, its much cheaper this way.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We only were entitled to breakfast in the hotel but what i can say is that the Staff in this part of the hotel very friendly & an excellent choice of food!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“exemplary service but food has gone downhill and prices have rocketed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

As a regular guest of the Mandarin Oriental I was looking forward to dining at Melt on my most recent stay at the hotel.

On arrival late evening I ordered the Nasi Goreng which has always been a favourite at Melt.

What I was served with was a pale shadow of the Nasi Goreng I had previously experienced at Melt - but at almost double the price tag.

There was very little food on my plate with only one or two prawns, and the fried chicken had been completely forgotten. The chicken was shown on the menu but failed to arrive with the dish. The whole meal seemed half hearted and unenthusiastically presented. This would be bad enough but at nearly double the price in place on previous visits it felt like insult was being added to injury.

The whole menu feels like the prices have been vastly inflated from their previous levels. It could be the Formula 1 factor has gone to someone's head at Mandarin Oriental as the sad truth is that food now not as good as it used to be but at twice the price.

This is not good.

Food is far superior and far better value at all the outlets in Grand Hyatt. Never thought I would live to say this but it's now indisputable. My Nasi Goreng at poolside bar at Grand Hyatt was almost half the price and more than twice as good. They even remembered the fried chicken.

I hope Melt can get it's act back together but it has fallen far relatively quickly. Think Formula 1 complacency has done a lot of harm to the Mandarin Oriental generally but to Melt in particular. Am sure it must show in the sales figures but is there anyone listening or giving a toss in Mandarin Oriental management?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melt ~ The World Cafe at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Melt ~ The World Cafe at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melt ~ The World Cafe at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.