We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Hong Kong in Holland Village!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Jade

Crystal Jade
No. 2 & 2A Lorong Mambong, Holland Village, Singapore, Singapore
+65) 6469 0300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,475 of 7,254 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A bit of Hong Kong in Holland Village!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite midnight haunts, Crystal Jade Holland V is the goto place for a bowl of steaming hot noodles & porridge. The beef brisket/tendon rice noodles( ngau lam hor) is outstanding. A bit more exotic is the carp fish skin; they used to serve it cold with sliced root ginger, scallions and peanuts, it's simply delicious!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    47
    20
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice enough Chinese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Popular with locals, reasonably priced, straightforward Chinese food...
Would go there again if I was passing

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Chinese Cuisine - Dim sum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had lunch there with friends. Food was just okay. Many variety sold out by noon on 27th Dec when I was there. Hong Kong style food. Located in few places in Singapore.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exquisite Dim Sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

To make this clear, the dim sum my family and I ate was at Crystal Jade Golden Palace Restaurant at Paragon (shopping centre) in Orchard Road. Today is the third time we've been here and it's never disappointed.

The service is always good - they serve the food fast, clear the empty plates etc fast and your teapot gets refilled regularly. Speaking Mandarin helps since the servers' Mandarin proficiency is way higher than that of their English!

Now...the FOOD:

The Paos - the BBQ Pork Bun and the Custard Bao have very soft flour that melts in your mouth. The pork is tender and not too salty, but the best part is they got the balance of flour and meat just right. Though the custard pao is just as good, I still prefer the ones from The Cathay at Cathay (which is also along Orchard Road) because the filling has more of an egg taste.

Ha Kau - the prawns are fresh and juicy; the flour is not too thick, is smooth and soft.

Pan-fried carrot cake - I don't usually like carrot cake, but the way it's cooked doesn't make it too oily. It's just a little burnt, and you can taste the freshness of the ingredients.

Panda sweet potato paos - well because of Kai Kai and Jia Jia they have this. The buns look cute but my mum felt the sweet potato wasn't sweet enough. (What an irony.) I thought there was too much flour. It was ok overall.

Chee chiong fan - the flour is really smooth and it can glide on your tongue! We've tried the prawn, pork and beef versions and they all taste good. (Plus I really like drinking the soy sauce.) The flour here is awesome!

Mashed taro with pumpkin or more fondly known as Or Nee! - I've saved the best for last. This was the best or nee I've ever eaten because the yam paste was amazingly smooth and creamy (but not too thick) and the pumpkin pieces just collapse in your mouth when you chomp down on them. Yam affectionados, this is for you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Lots of Crystal Jade's around Singapore and can't say I have tried them all but all I have tried have been consistently good. Best to go in a group to try several dishes.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Jade also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Jade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.