We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The better lot of the love hotel chain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 - Elegance

Save Saved
You added Hotel 81 - Elegance to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Elegance
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Foch Road, Singapore 209276, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“The better lot of the love hotel chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

For long stay, the rooms are really clean.Air vents are really clean as my nose is rather sensitive and I didn't even sneeze.But room comes with bare essentials of a bed,a toilet,TV,phone,and that's it.No fridge.But location is awesome.Abundant choices of local food.Bugis shopping and Little India are within walking of 15-20mins approx.Lavender MRT station is also within walking if you know the way.Reception is not the friendliest lot but everything is mono.Nothing to complain for the price and hotel grade.Good for slightly above budget travel.And if you can bear with the occasional moaning from the rooms when you walk by the corridor.No room service.

Room Tip: No smoking room.But rooms with balcony can smoke in balcony but balcony doors can't be locked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    24
    23
    14
    9
See reviews for
7
26
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This room was one of the worst we have ever stayed in.

A brief description: The room was a tiny box. There were no windows. The bed was rock hard and was covered in thick plastic, the bathroom had no real shower (a shower head next to the toilet with no space, no walls or shower curtain, so you are essentially showering in the toilet).

If we didn't arrive in Singapore so late, we would have definitely looked for another hotel.

Room Tip: We wouldn't stay here again even if it was free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed there for 2 days with my partner and I did not enjoy it at all. We had no window in our room and the air conditioning did not work properly. It was impossible to turn it down. Felt like if I was in the Antarctis Furtermore there was no real showertub so when I took a shower the whole bathroom was flooded. Would pick another hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I chose this particular Hotel 81 as it was reasonably close to where I needed to be in Singapore.

It is around a 10 minute walk to Lavender MRT station and about the same from Little India.

The Hotel is above a food court and there is a convenience store below. Check in was brisk and the receptionist were always pleasant. The free wifi worked without any issues and was very welcome.

It is a step up from the usual Hotel 81 standard that you would find in Geylang. The room I had had a window, was very bright and very clean.

Should the need arise I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The staff were reasonably friendly and the hotel as a whole was clean and seemed to have benefited from a recent upgrade. The room had the basics and appeared clean, but it did not have window and the fan was very loud. The air was very stuffy and the bed was too hard and the springs could be felt. The location is not bad though, near Little India and right across from a good hawker centre.

Room Tip: Phone and ask for one with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in Jun 2011. The hotel was designed such that all the superior rooms will be located along the peripheral of each floor and the space in the middle were used to partition into standard rooms. A small narrow aisle is thus formed between the standard and superior room which will lead you to your room. Because of this layout, those who book standard rooms will have no windows and you can hear people talking, kids running and all kinds of noises getting into your room.

When the lift door opens and walking down the narrow aisle to your room, you can feel the stuffiness which is made worst with the scent of medicated oil that people use for massage !!

In addition the room is pretty small and no carpets. The bed is PVC with a thin layer of cotton bed sheet over it - For the price that you are paying, it is definitely not worth the money.

Room Tip: None - Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Small dirty room, unclean ,hair everywhere ,no window and smelly
forget it when traveling to singapore , take time to find a descent place because this is nt one of them
despite freindly staff the room was horrible , bed was uncomfortable and appaling condition
when i asked why , i was told because i was on a 24 hour vist ! hmm ok , good answer i guess .!

Room Tip: ask first and be prepared to pay to upgrade to room with a window if they have one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 81 - Elegance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Elegance

Address: 30 Foch Road, Singapore 209276, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#190 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#190 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Elegance 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel 81 - Elegance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Elegance Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 - Elegance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.