We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually a great hotel. Other than one bad butler experience...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Singapore

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. Regis Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Tanglin Road, Singapore 247911, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy up to 50% off
Ranked #25 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
“Actually a great hotel. Other than one bad butler experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

First off, I am a SPG Platinum. My wife and I stayed at the St Regis twice in May. This is an extremely new and modern hotel. The 1st time we stayed for 3 nights and received a Grand Deluxe room. The 2nd time, we were there for 1 night and received a Suite.

For the location, I gave it 4 stars. It's on the edge of Orchard and you really need a taxi to get anywhere. Granted, the metro system in SIN isn't as extensive as other cities and it's probably the same for other hotels.

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and received help with our bags immediately. We actually found check-in quite pleasant and efficient. We really, really liked the expansive and tasteful lobby.

After arriving in our room, our 1st butler appeared ("A"). He seemed a little tired and I could sense a little boredom in his voice when explaining the room. The control panel is confusing to use and the explanation really helps. Ok, that's fine as everyone can get tired from time-to-time. However, when my wife asked a question regarding the room, the answer received was quite abrupt and rude. I was actually taken aback with his response. Luckily, this was the 1st and last time we saw this butler. The rest of the time, we received superb service from "Z".

The Grand Deluxe room is of a good size. A very large bathroom, good desk space and room for a small sofa and table. While it's not a suite, we found it suited our needs perfectly. Some people have commented on the "odd" use of colour in the furniture but we found it fine. The bed was quite comfortable and there is a pillow menu. The entertainment system was hooked up to a Bose surround system in the room. The HVAC and soundproofing was excellent. In the bathroom, there is a LCD TV embedded into the wall. The mirrors are heated so won't fog up. We really liked the shower system although the stall might be a touch small. There was marble everywhere in the bathroom.

Other points in the hotel include a good number of elevators. However, it still does use key-card access for floors. We did eat in the ground floor restaurant every morning. There was an adequate choice of food and the obligatory omellete station. Service was friendly, elegant, and efficient.

During our 2nd stay, we did receive a Suite. Like most suites, there was a separate sitting room. Interestingly enough, for the sitting room there was a remote in lieu of a control panel. This was extremely convenient. The closet was connected to the bedroom and bathroom and was extremely large. In the bedroom, there is a powder table that has glass panels opening up into the bathroom. For the bathroom, there is the normal bathroom and a powder room just adjacent.

My overall impression is that the St Regis is quite luxurious. Excellent service was received in 99% of cases, other than the poor showing from the 1st butler.

Would I return? Quite likely. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisSingapore1, Manager at The St. Regis Singapore, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Dear Braindrain,

Thank you for selecting the St. Regis during your two stays in Singapore. We would also like to express our heartfelt thanks for your recent review.

We are heartened that you enjoyed your stay with The St. Regis Singapore and felt well taken care of by our staff. We sincerely appreciate your positive reinforcement and we will continue to deliver the personalized and bespoke service that is expected of us.

Additionally, we welcome your feedback on our butler service, and your views will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service standards and increase guest satisfaction.

Thank you once more for staying with us. We certainly look forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit.

Best regards,
Hotel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    718
    233
    96
    56
    29
See reviews for
181
366
113
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We booked St.Regis with a nice pay 3, sleep 4 nights offer, so it was good value for money.

Location is very good, pretty near to Orchard Road and MRT, but far enough from noise and confusion.

While St. Begis in Bejing was absolutely perfect, the one in Singapore is not spotless, although it's an excellent hotel. Our room was really very good and classy, with large, confortable beds and an absolutely amazing marble bathroom. You surely get more than five star sleep.

Butler service is fine, while I wouldn't choose St. Regis just for that.
We didn't have the buffet breakfast in the hotel, just not to eat too much. In Singapore culinary temptations await you at every corner, so better start the day light. There's wonderful Hediard from Paris patisserie 100 metres away or you can have breakfast anywhere in Orchard Rd.

Yes the swimming pool is small, we didn't use it for lack of time. Neither we tried the hotel restaurants, there are so many around!

Service was was good, everyone was polite and courteous, but in some ways it was not on a par with the stellar one of our August stay in St. Regis Beijing. Given an affordable tariff, when in Singapore we would surely come back to St. Regis

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Location – 5 Stars – Tanglin road turns in to Orchard road (Shopping, hotels, nice to walk) and is a nice walk.

Property – 5 Stars – Opulent lobby and rooms. In the rooms: Floor to celing windows with niceview of the green area, high end condos and embassies etc. However, the bottom half of the windows have some white design spoiling the view and I wish they did not have that;

Check-in – 3 Stars – We checked-in at 5 PM on the 7th April. Check-in was okay (the lady who checked us in had an attitude that was not friendly). Walked us to the elevator but did not explain anything about the hotel or features. Contrast this to our other stays at HongKong, Sheraton Grande in Bangkok and Sheraton in Pattaya, they walk you to the room and explain the property and features of the room and facilities.

Butler/Front desk – 3 Stars. Decent overall. However, Capuccino and Cup of Milk was barely luke warm one morning when I requested for hot. They replaced it. The worse was the TV in the bathroom was not working and it took 3 calls to the Butler over 24 hours and one with Front desk manager before it was fixed. For each time, they would come and either switch it on or off without the remote working. There was hardly an apology from the Front desk manager when I said it has already taken 3 calls and 24 hours and it has not been fixed when (a) the problem should not have existed and (b) it should have been properly attended to after the 1st call

Breakfast – 5 stars – High quality and good service

Concierge – 5 Stars – Very polite and helpful

Chinese restaurant for lunch (I think the name was Yan Ting) – 5 Star - Good food and service. We had lunch twice here.

Housekeeping – 3 Stars – Fine overall but did not replenish toiletries even though they were more than half empty.

Pool side – 2 stars – Servers were busy chatting. I had to walk to them so I could order a drink. When she did bring my drink, she put it in a table which was quite far from the lounging chair (which is in a quarter feet of water in the pool) and could not be reached unless you got up and took a few steps. This was very inconvenient but may be they do this to avoid spillage in the pool. I have seen similar set-ups at other hotels but they generally put a table next to you for drink (and do not serve food). Also, they had cold towels but I was not offered one – I had to ask for one.

Check out: 5 stars – Smooth, Polite and Courteous

Overall, I think unless you are on expense account, you can get much better service for lower rates. Like you can see above, the service is not consistent between departments or individuals. Many times it is top-notch and at other times it is disappointing. For how much you pay, I think it ought to be top-notch each time. This hotel is very nice but definitely not value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris france
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

eveything was perfect
room, location: 10 minutes walk to orchard

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

I was in the Regis residences and just had breakfast in the Hotel.
all over service was great, food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I stayed in the Regis for one week and was very disappointed in the overall service/ management, to a point where I just thought its rediculous.
The breakfast had a very poor selection and I must agree with other reviews that
the overall food experience is not good. If you want to indulge in great food and a good selection it is better to go to a different Hotel. If you should have any simple extra requests like soya joghurt you will end up never getting it even after talking to the chef, restaurant manager or restaurant staff- no matter if u get it promised or ask 3 days in a row. So do not expect to be taken seriously- u will simply not get it! The size of the breakfast area is very small compared to the size of the Hotel, so u might have to wait at times to get a table for breakfast which I recall has never happened to me before in Singapore as far as I remember.
The rooms are full of technology but unfortunately not everything works: There is a buttler service but when u press the button for the buttler u get straight to the reception, so I never saw the buttler! The room service never gets it right - even if you call several times in a row and talk to the chef. The electric curtains never worked including the pay TV, the TV in the bathroom and to add the little extra touch : the bed linnens were not of the best quality.
The staff in the gym was not very welcoming or lets say not well trained in how to adress Hotel guests oposed to the lobby staff which were always very friendly.
To my surprise threre was a carpet in the gym which for a modern Hotel is a rare sight and unhygenic in my opinion. It felt a little outdated.
So my conclusion is: if u like to have a bad sleep, poor service and a bad food selection
then the St. Regis should be the Hotel of your choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisSingapore1, Manager at The St. Regis Singapore, responded to this review, May 30, 2010
Dear Airam26,

Thank you for visiting The St. Regis Singapore. We take all reviews seriously and appreciate your feedback and comments on your recent experience.

The St. Regis Singapore prides itself on constantly and consistently delivering an exceptional service to all our guests but regrettably, we seemed to have failed on this occasion.

The issues you raised have been addressed with the Department Heads concerned and corrective measures, as well as the necessary training requirements, have been taken to ensure that there are no repeat occurrences. Rest assured that your review will help us in our continuous efforts to improve our guest satisfaction.

We regret that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. While we cannot turn back the hands of time, what we feel is most important is to regain your confidence.

General Manager Amadeo Zarzosa would like to personally address your concerns, and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel soon.


Best regards,
Hotel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhatrang- vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

the hotel had the location was convinient, room cleaned.staff very helpful.you should gone there to stayed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Singapore

Address: 29 Tanglin Road, Singapore 247911, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#16 Business Hotel in Singapore
#22 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#23 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#28 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Singapore 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the city’s premier shopping district, with the world-class shopping of Orchard Road at your doorstep and the grandeurs of a 5-star hotel within, The St. Regis Singapore is the ideal residence for the discerning luxury traveller. The St. Regis experience begins when you arrive at Changi Airport. A luxurious St. Regis Bentley and chauffeur can be arranged for your journey to the address where timeless elegance resides.From its location at the most coveted address to the legendary St. Regis Butler Service, this is world-class hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The St. Regis Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Singapore Hotel Singapore
St Regis Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.