We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not that convincing..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Link Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Link Hotel to your Saves list
Link Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Tiong Bahru Rd, Singapore 168733, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“not that convincing..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Spent 4 nights there in early September! The hotel is ok situated for our company, however, the size of the rooms is very small and all rooms seems to be even, so one is lucky if get's all the amnetities.

the AC is pretty noice and situated close to the bed, but with earplugs it is ok to sleep. The bathroom is very tiny, but has everything. The internet connection is included, however, only by wire...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Link H, Manager at Link Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear KBLA,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on your recent stay experience with us. We are concerned to learn of your experience regarding the room Air conditioning and we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. As for the internet connection, we have upgraded our systems and all our rooms are now wifi enabled.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Singapore.

Sincerely,
Karen Teo
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    122
    99
    32
    23
See reviews for
34
77
59
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Coming to Singapore once or twice a month for a short stay, I have chosen Link Hotel as my regular place to stay. First of all, the price is at least 40% lower than hotels in Orchard Road area although it takes just a few minutes by taxi to go to Orchard Road. The hotel is situated on a main road so that getting a taxi is easy most time of the day. Rooms are small but adequate and clean as well as in good condition as this place has been renovated not long ago.. Ok, there is no pool and there was no fitness room until recently -I think there is one now- but there is a nice beer garden on the top (5th) floor that also serves finger food and often offers a beer promotion. If there is any negative issue, it would be the occasional smell from the bathroom drainage. This place was converted from residential link houses to a hotel a few years ago and therefore probably lacks hotel style drainage system. Don't let this fact influence your hotel choice. The staff is more than friendly which compensates for small issues like that. I'll give this hotel 3 1/2 rating points for its room and facilities. Factoring in the friendly staff, the rating becomes a solid 4. This is definitely a place worth to consider staying when you visit Singapore for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Link H, Manager at Link Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Weidewen,

It’s a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed a great experience with us! Thank you for acknowledging our effort in creating a memorable hotel experience for you. We Staff of Link Hotel Singapore look forward to welcoming you again on your next business trip to Singapore.

Sincerely,
Karen Teo
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Good hotel.Hotel have two block opposite the road.
I stay in the block opposite the lobby so I have to walk across the bridge, it a bit far from lobby to my room. This hotel is not a new hotel so every thing look a bit old. Location is good, not far from china town. Have taxi and bus stop near hotel, so I can go anywhere easily.

Room Tip: Room in the same building with lobby is more convenience than in the opposite building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Link H, Manager at Link Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Tor,

Thank you for your valuable feedback & compliment. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are hoping to see you again.

Sincerely,
Karen Teo
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The name depicts the hotel being in 2 blocks, joined by a bridge over a very busy road, hence ‘Link’. The Reception is in the Lotus block and we stayed 2 nights in a twin room at the Orchid block across the bridge. Location wise, it was not as convenient as we would have liked, unless you travel by taxi/public transport to and from the hotel.

There is a scheduled shuttle service (ask Reception) Mon – Fri from the hotel to Outram Park station, Shenton way and Suntec Convention Centre at 08:25. We did not use the service as we are not early risers. The later times are to Concorde Shopping Centre and Clarke Quay MRT station. Suntec Convention Centre is the main hub for the Hop On Hop Off Tours or you can Hop On at various bus stops in the city. There is a scheduled shuttle service back to the hotel at hourly intervals from Concorde shopping centre and Chinatown.

Outram Park is the closest MRT to the hotel. As it was raining when we got to Outram Park MRT, we took a taxi to the hotel, costing SGD 4.96. Just make sure the taxi drops you off at Reception as our taxi driver nearly dropped us off at the other (Orchid) block instead.

We did not walk to and from the MRT as it is quite a walk in the heat and on very busy roads, probably 10-15 minutes. The other option is to take the bus which we used every time we travelled back to the hotel. Buses are numbers 33, 63 and 851. The buses are regular and it is only 1 stop away. It will cost SGD 1.10 per person, only coins accepted on the buses.

Outram Park is a large station, so make sure you are on the right side of the road for the buses, bus stop 6 (opposite the station) and the same side as the Health Science Authority Building to travel back to the hotel. If you use the NE line then you may need to walk through the underpass to get to the bus stop. If you exit from the EW line you will end up closer to the bus stop.

Once on the bus, you will travel pass the Orchid block on the left and under the Link Bridge before it stops at the bus stop opposite the Reception. You then have to walk a couple of hundred yards to cross the busy road at the traffic lights.

To travel from the hotel on the buses, you will need to go round the BACK of the Reception, walking past several local restaurants and cross over the busy main road. I would advise that you walk a bit further down and cross at the traffic lights to double back on yourself to reach the bus stop which will then be directly behind the Reception, across the road. The same busses 33, 63, 851 will take you to Outram Park MRT in 1 stop or to Chinatown MRT in 3 stops.

Staff at Reception were a hit and miss, some more cordial than others, the girl that served us at check in was accommodating as we tried to get a room closer to Reception since we found out on arrival that the WIFI was only available at Reception, or only wired facility in the rooms. However she only managed to get us a twin room in the Orchid block. To get to the Orchid block from Reception in the Lotus block you would need to take the lift to the 3rd floor and onto the bridge.

One of the previous reviewers was unhappy about the Orchid block but we were ok as our room was close to the bridge, so it was not an inconvenience. You can get out of the hotel from the Orchid block but you will need your card key to get back in.

Do not stay on the ground level rooms at the Orchid block as it is next to the busy main road and will be very noisy and dusty. The hotel seemed busy and tended to cater more for tour groups from neighbouring countries, e.g. China, Malaysia and some Japanese.

The lobby only consisted of a couple of sofas next to the lift which were rather shabby. There are large panes of glass throughout the hotel but they were very dirty and dusty which made the hotel look worse than it was. Breakfast was not included in our package so did not eat in the restaurant.

As we didn’t have breakfast included, we walked to Tiong Bahru market where there is a wet market on the ground floor and a food court on the first floor. It is very ‘villagey’ and not like the food courts found in the shopping malls. If you are able to withstand non air conditioning dining and local food, then you will be able to eat a cheap breakfast, e.g. prawn noodles, congee (porridge) etc. Otherwise the best option would be to have breakfast at the hotel or travel to the main shopping areas of Orchard Road etc.

If your decision (as ours was) that WIFI is a priority, this hotel is not worth it as the WIFI was appalling at Reception, even at non-peak periods (peak meaning breakfast time). It can take ages to get connected or you get cut off suddenly. We even had to get Reception to reboot it one time, (and you could only access it from the sofas next to the lift). We did not try the internet cable which was supposed to be available in all rooms.

As with most reviews, the room was small and ours was made worse with a pillar in between the cupboard and dressing table. There was only low hanging space in the cupboard and some shelves (see photo). Plus points were TV, hairdryer, slippers, safe, coffee / tea making facilities. Bed linen was clean. We had a problem with the safe but it was sorted out swiftly by staff. However the telephone cable kept coming off from the phone end.

The room was poorly lit with no central lighting, only one dressing table light and one bedside light shared between the 2 beds which was very low wattage. This made reading in bed at night very difficult. The lamps were very dusty. I made some tea the night before and admittedly was rather lazy and had not washed the mugs out and was then greeted with a couple of ants the morning after.

Shower no bath, mould at low levels (see photo). Windows were also filthy in the bedroom (see photo). The walls were thin and we could hear noises at midnight and early morning.

At the front of the hotel, there is a convenience store next door. Hotel Nostalgia is across the road from Reception and a few restaurants nearby which didn’t look very busy. There are also some restaurants serving local fare towards the back of the hotel Reception.

Taking into consideration the location, size of room, poor WIFI, state of the hotel, no breakfast for the price we paid which was £100.00 per twin room per night, I do not feel it is value for money. And certainly not 4 stars as claimed, at best I would rate it 3 stars as it did have a safe, hairdryer, tea/coffee and limited shuttle service. On balance, this is not a hotel I would be returning to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Link H, Manager at Link Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Chuich,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we have duly noted the areas of concern. In particular the Wifi experience that you’ve encountered was we felt somewhat regrettable. However, we have since upgraded our systems and all our rooms are now wifi enabled.
Despite receiving your comments, we are striving to improve in all the various aspects and areas of concern. Having said so, we would like to welcome and hope to see you again in the near future

Sincerely,
Karen Teo
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My mom and I visited spore on two occasions in 2007 and 2009. They were for 7-10days each time. We were satisfied and tipped accordingly to get things changed. We chose this hotel because our relatives live nearby and all amenities are very accessible. We were natives before moving away 20years ago. Things have changed and are still changing. We want to stay here again in dec/jan 2012/2013, but the dates aren't available. Do you think we have a chance of getting a room of 2beds for us? Please advise. Looking forward to our trip. If not, we will have to look at Chinatown area.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Link H, Manager at Link Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Asianinct,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay with us.

Please kindly contact us via email: karen.teo@linkhotel.com.sg so that we can do our utmost best to accommodate your preferable dates on your booking.

We look forward to hear from you soon!

Sincerely,
Karen Teo
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here twice and it's a very poor hotel and not typical of the excellent standards in Singapore.

Room: not properly cleaned, dusty floor, bed sheets and pillow are low standard and quality and the bed is uncomfortable. The room airco blasts a stinking cooking smell from the kitchen 24 hours. The hallway on the second floor is the same and this points to a major issue with the kitchen ventilation as it appears to feed into the main airco. My clothes smelled of cooking. The phone in the room was very dirty and stained with an insect crawling on it constantly.
Cleanliness: one of the worst hotel I have ever stayed at and I am in hotels 300+ nights a year. Upon arrival the washroom drinking glass was covered in toothpaste and had been used. The sink has the sealant broken away from the wall and has some serious mould growing. The shower has mould on the tiles. After reporting they tried to clean but it points to poor management, poor maintenance and poor training of staff. The next morning I took a glass from the cabinet to drink some water and it was full of mould, yes that's right, the glass was mouldy and had obviously been used and not cleaned. The
second glass was better but still not clean.
Restaurant: had lunch and the food was very poor and tasted like re-warmed leftovers. I had to keep swatting flys from the
table.
This hotel will be reported to the Singapore health authority and tourist board this week. Until they literally clean up their act, avoid at all costs. I should note that the staff are excellent and very courteous.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Link H, Manager at Link Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear OttVan,

We apologise for the experience that you have encountered during your recent stay, and are dedicated to correct any shortcomings that had resulted in any unpleasantness. We are committed to take your constructive feedback seriously in ensuring that we will improve for the better.

We thank you for your valuable contributions and hope that your standards will be met when you return to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Karen Teo
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

i stay this hotel for two nights last year. location is perfect easy acces to everywhere and there is a lot of tasty restaurant near the hotel. breakfast is good, reception also perfect, i request exchange recepict one week later via email and they repond very fast.
the wprst thing is the room itself, room is very small even for asian person like me and the air con is not well operated, maybe because i order smoking room, they put me in the farthest room available with an almost broken aircon. too tired too complaint. hahaha....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Link H, Manager at Link Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Gondel,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback. It is certainly disappointing to learn that we may have failed to live up to your expectation. Nevertheless, we do have bigger rooms for guest like you who prefer bigger rooms. However, such rooms are non-smoking and maybe subjected to rate differences. Your feedback on the air-con system has received our attention.

Moving forward, we hope to welcome you again for your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Karen Teo
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Link Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Link Hotel

Address: 50 Tiong Bahru Rd, Singapore 168733, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Link Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Singapore with Link Hotel. Indulge in the comfort of home in this biggest boutique hotel within the conservation site, with universal amenities. You get to experience the dynamic blend of nostalgia and a touch of modernity in the rich heritage of one of Singapore's oldest heartland, Tiong Bahru.The hotel features an array of accommodation, meeting and dining needs, along with compact hotel facilities and services to offer leisure and business travellers the local living experience and a taste of Singapore.Strategically situated along the heritage conservation site and walking trail of one of Singapore’s oldest heartland, Tiong Bahru estate, Link Hotel is the first hotel to be converted from two conservation pre-war public housing development flats initiated by Singapore Improvement Trust (SIT).The hotel is ideally located near Central Business District and many famous tourist attractions such as the Singapore River, the Merlion, Clarke Quay, Sentosa, Marina Bay, Garden by the Bay, Esplanade Theatres on the Bay. It is also accessible to shopping areas like Bugis Street and Orchard Road within minutes of travel.Within 10-15 minutes walking distance from the hotel to the nearest subway station, Outram MRT, travellers get to seek adventures of a lifetime and venture into the cultural districts of Chinatown.At Link Hotel, guests come first with our welcoming service. Indulge in the comfort of being at home while home away with universal amenities within reach. Get intimate in different ethnic-themed rooms to experience the melting pot of cultures in Singapore.Join in the serenade of bird songs in our annual bird concert at the historic bird corner next to the hotel. Be enthralled by the evening stunning picturesque of Singapore’s skyline at the hotel roof top’s breeze beer garden where you can unwind after a bustling day of activities.New experiences await guests’ discovery as they experience the local living and a taste of Singapore. Take a walk down the memory lane of some of the conservation buildings around the hotel and discover the hidden gems of old Singapore in the blend of modernity. The plethora of food choices will surprise you as you embark on culinary explorations of local and international cuisines within the hotel premises and the neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Link Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Link Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Link Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.